We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood restaurant”
Review of Angler

Angler
Ranked #924 of 5,824 Restaurants in San Francisco
Neighbourhood: South Beach
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Beach
Reviewed February 18, 2020

Fancy restaurant, very nice place where I like. We tried oysters are very fresh, and tuna, very interesting's way to eat tuna, and cod, mushroom.

Beautiful coffee cup even if only regular coffer offered.

If you are first time come to San Francisco you should go to try, only one time enough haha.

I give 5 Stars.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 20,130,124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

This was my fourth trip since this place opened. We went in for Valentines Day Lunch. Started off with Hofgut Fankelstein Kabinett Reisling. Crispy with great aromas. We the. Shared several appetizers. Antelope Tartar, Big Eyed Tuna, Amberjack, the Parkerhouse rolls ( we have to pay for bread!!!), two salads the Ceaser and a Lettuce and Herb Salad. All of the appetizers were presented tastefully and were of course very tasty. The main entrees we also shared were :Grilled Bass which came with crispy skin and was moist tasty , the whole chicken is roasted in their wood fired oven and can be shared with 3 or 4 , the Quail was fried with the skin, and was crispy and very spicy. We also had some sides: the Potatoes which I would recommend, the Cauliflower, and a Mushroom dish called hen of the woods. For dessert we had the Sunday.. which was a creamy smooth vanilla with a hot caramel sauce poured table side. The caramel is heated over charcoal and then strained to give a smoky flavor. The food was delicious and I can see why they just got a Michelin Star

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Samosababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2020

Very nice dishes, full of creativity and flavor. This is another most on a SF visit. Fresh oysters and delicious sea food with a very creative flavor.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank jldelavega2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2020

The food from the relatively short menu (always a good sign) was truly amazing - the Dungeness Crab Cocktail was one of the best pieces of shell fish which I have eaten in my life!

We ended up sitting at the bar instead waiting for a reserved table (as we were early) which turned out to be a really nice spot.

All the staff were very friendly and "chatty" (in a good way) and we enjoyed almost everything about our dinner.

Two small areas of improvement: We couldn't get an espresso (they don't have a machine for that - really??) and the beer was bottle-only, as there is no tap.

Still a fantastic place to go - worth every penny.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Germaninexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Angler opened in 2018 and is amazing, not only in the quality of the food but also in the décor and ambiance. There are views of San Francisco Bay from the main dining room. One room contains live-fish tanks and another is decorated with live taxidermy. Food is served family-style and all dishes are meant to be shared. We started with the grilled Parker House rolls and butter that were dynamite. Our entrees were the Hot Fried Quail and the Salt and Pepper Bass Fillet. We added the Heirloom Tomato with Honey vinegar and the Angler potatoes and Sauce from Sonoma Cheeses. We were extremely happy with these choices. Delicious! There is a very nice craft cocktail list as well as a fantastic wine list. A special shout out to the sommelier. She was extremely personable and very helpful. My wife and I have very different tastes in wine and the sommelier was very diligent in finding two different half bottles for us. Street parking is very difficult. Take a cab if possible.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angler also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.