We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOT BITTEN BY BED BUGS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed in room 307 and was bitten by bed bugs, then went online and saw that the hotel had several complaints for the same issue so AVOID THIS PLACE! Walls were dirty, bathrooms need to be redone urgently, carpets are stained, but clearly all these things pale in comparison to the bed bug issue (check bedbugregistry website and you will find a list of complaints for the hotel). So in all honesty go somewehere else

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank isabelavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Only stayed here because there was a convention and every other hotel was booked. As you get off the elevator you see an old soda machine, so that was a clear signal of what was about to come. Rooms have very old furniture and the baths need urgente renovations. Walls are dirty and need to be repainted, decor is awful, have not taken a shower yet but I am dreading the moment. If possible avoid, I am certain there are SO many other better and nicer places to stay

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed at the Pickwick Hotel on business for four nights. It was a pleasant stay because it satisfied the most important things to me. The place is a short walk to the Moscone Center. I found it clean. The staff seemed sincerely friendly and very helpful. My bed was at least as comfortable as any I’ve ever slept in.

That said, it only rates slightly above average for me because of other reasons. The hotel is old and has character. This is not a bad thing, in and of itself, but it is the reason for some challenges. This sink is tiny and hard to access; it made so much as brushing teeth difficult. The electrical outlets are in hard to reach places. I had to pull the plug on the clock, a lamp and the coffeemaker to accommodate my electronics. The bulbs are CFLs and lights were dim. My room had an adjoining door. During the week, I could hear my quiet neighbor’s morning routine. During the weekend, my loud neighbors were watching TV and talking loudly at 5:00. They might as well have been in my room.

I will return to the Pickwick if the price is right, now that I know what I’m getting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keywoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

It's an old hotel, but it's an old, downtown, beautiful hotel in a perfect location.

Yes, the shower is sporadic and the bathroom is small. I don't know why people need a big bathroom anyway. What are you doing in there?

There's in-room coffee with real coffee cups. The wifi was okay; not great. It helped to move to the lobby.

The concierge was outstanding.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If street noise disturbs you, you'll want to ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe4075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed two nights for a girls' weekend MLK weekend. We got a great deal through another website. I felt most of the reviews were pretty spot on. Somewhat clean, very comfortable bed. We did request a room away from the street which was very, very quiet. but the place would be fantastic if they painted the rooms, hallways and recarpeted the hallways. Room carpet was fine and the bathroom fixtures were new. Close to walk to Union Square and Chinatown, but you are on the edge of the Tenderloin area and therefore you have quite a few homeless and panhandlers walking the area. We were not approached or bothered by anyone. Staff was pleasant. Really good Italian restaurant nearby called 54 Mint - a block or two away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelseyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I like the hotel very much, nice room and the best location. But the free internet they offered worked extremely slow, impossible to get any work done. I hope they can improve that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed there for 1 night only to attend the company party in the city and for the price paid I think it was an OK hotel. Not many amenities but the location was definitely very good. There are 2-3 parking lots around the hotel so thats not an issue too. I would not stay here with kids because I think the rooms are too cramped for families. Just as a couple it was fine for 1 night where we came into the room at 12am and checked out at 9am.

Room Tip: Its on a busy street so there will be noise constantly........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goin2cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,869 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,204 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
746 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $158 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing