We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location for the Price Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Location for the Price Point”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Omni San Francisco for five nights in May. The room (Deluxe King) was spacious and well appointed. The service we received from hotel staff was exceptional. The complementary apples and iced tea was a nice touch. My only gripes would be the cost of wireless ($9.95 per 24hrs) and the cost of food in the restaurant hotel, Bob's Steak and Chop House. We ate at Bob's for breakfast one morning during our stay. The orange juice and coffee, which appeared complementary (they were being served by a waiter), in fact turned out to be $5 each! Adding insult to injury, I ordered granola and fruit, which set me back the princely sum of $16! I know hotel food tends to be on the pricier side but this was obscene. Overall, a great stay for the price point.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,855
    1,054
    190
    59
    22
See reviews for
1,295
2,086
203
969
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I was so excited to stay here with all of the positive reviews. I called a couple of days before I arrived to ensure we were in the upgraded rooms that I booked using Jetsetter and also to request a roll away bed for each room. I was informed that I needed to do that when we arrived at the hotel. The arrival was great. Bellman were friendly and helpful the lobby was beautiful and tastefully decorated and check in was quick. Con's: our upgraded view room was very small (barely held 2 full size beds) no roll away allowed, the view was of an alley and the worst part was the temperature control automatically went back to 73 degrees at night and left the room sweltering while sleeping. Saturday morning I was up early (didn't sleep much due to very warm room) and then asked about places for coffee. We were told that everything close by is closed today because it is Saturday. The hotel is fine if you are traveling alone during the week but I would look elsewhere if you are wanting a nice weekend pleasure stay with friends.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for the upgrades, all rooms are small,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andicarusowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I love this place. Great service, rooms, and food. The food is a bit pricey but I the bar has great onion rings. They remember the small stuff. During one trip, I arrived late at the hotel on my birthday. They had a small cake and card. Quiet. Much better than other near by hotels like the Hilton on Kearny.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ixchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

People aren't lying when they talk about the level of service. Aimee at the front desk has been awesome and helped make this the best hotel visit I've ever had anywhere!! We would definitely make this our permanent hotel in SF!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,666 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

I have been there 4 days, and the hotel is well located, service is excellent, hotel won't disappoint you.
Breakfast taken in hotel a bit too expensive although coffee shops are close by.
I would like to stay there again if going back to SF.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I agonised for weeks over choosing a hotel in San Francisco. Dismissed the Omni originally as the rooms looked a bit dark and old fashioned. Two days before we travelled I finally chose a different hotel, but at the last minute changed my mind and booked the Omni on the basis of the positive vibe you get from all the TA reviews. It was a seriously good decision, and the most enjoyable experience of the five places we stayed on this trip.

Booked a Signature room on a high floor and it was better than I expected - not too dark at all. Felt spacious and bathroom was nice, with very good shower. But as everyone has said, the service really does make a differece - you feel so welcome, everyone is very helpful and every single employee anywhere gives you a friendly smile and hello when you see them. It really does make a difference to the enjoyment of your stay.

Definetley join the loyalty programme before you book - free wi-fi and also complimentary coffee and tea in the morning - always delivered exactly at the time requested and the best tea I had in the USA (it actually had some flavour!).

Oh - and the location is good as well. Nice and quiet over the weekend in the Financial District, but very close to Union Square for shopping, China Town, Little Italy, Embacadero - no shortage of places to eat close by.

Room Tip: High floor very quiet. Signature room very nice. Join the loyalty programme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanbagglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Flew in for a long weekend to meet up with my family from San Diego. Check in was seamless and the room was ready at noon when I arrived. the room was clean and very comfortable - plenty of closet space and drawers. Front Desk very helpful when asking for recommendations on dining, housekeeping staff always had a friendly greeting and was very understanding when we forgot to put the privacy sign on the door - no problem will come back and they did. Check out was sad - didn't want to leave. bill was under the door and just dropped the keys in the bowl on the way out. took the hotel car service back to the airport and the ride was peaceful and relaxing. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuffinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
444 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,910 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing