We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveller rating
510
288
61
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
288
61
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine corpsfree happy houractive dutymilitary historyarmed forcestop floorunion squarebreakfast and happy hourprivate clubcocktail hourbreakfast buffetparking garage isbrick wallhealth clubbusiness centergreat view of the citystreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 876 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Check in was a breeze but they forget to tell you that you need a credit card or they hold $100 a day for incidentals plus the room charge.

The room was nice but dated. Would have liked to have been offered a room with a view instead of a alleyway. The room was nice but was kind of expecting more. A little on the small side but then again this is downtown San Francisco.

Very well located only 3 blocks from Union Square and 2 blocks from trolly line.

The Leatherneck Steakhouse was very nice. The dinner menu was well balanced and had many choices. The included breakfast buffet was great. A wide selection of items that even included SOS.

Will be staying here again next time in town!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of something besides alley!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemaher1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Marine's Memorial and have always found it to be a truly convivial and friendly experience. I suspect that this is due to a great extent on both the behavior of the guests and staff. There is a true and sincere civility and respect shown by both guests and staff. The "happy hour" is always good fun and the breakfast is always up to par. The historical aspect of the hotel gives the guest an impression of truly being in a San Francisco of another time. The rooms are generally all in good condition and spacious and the housekeeping does an excellent job. The location for either business or leisure travelers is superb. In the end however I think a guest will like the hotel for the calm an serene aura it projects. "Semper Fei"

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulfman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is a real gem! Perfect location and great service. We were the only British people in the hotel at the time we stayed, the rest of the guests seemed to be older people and all were lovely and chatty. The staff are fabulous with a special mention to Troy who was the most helpful concierge we have come across. Special place and good to support a worthy cause as they are a non profit making organisation.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I booked this hotel based on the various reviews of the hotel on the internet. Basically, I would describe it as good to average...but for the price it was about what you would expect. The staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was great! Easily a $30-$40/day savings for a couple per day. And parking was about a half block away, and was only $27/day, which is not bad for the city near Union Square. Our only true complaints were that that the bathroom was very small. You have no counter space (at least that was the case in our room), and you can barely fit into the area where the toilet is. Also, our room did not have AC (or at least we could never get it to work), so we slept with the windows open every night. Which was great for night time air....but it did let in a substantial amount of street noise - especially the garbage trucks around 5am. Overall, for the money I rate our experiance a 6/10 - however if we had spent a penny more it would be a 4-5/10. If you want a great place for a few nights....this is probably ok. If you are looking for a place for 5-7 nights, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erock33626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed there when we took our daughter on a special trip. The staff were extremely helpful with everything from restaurant suggestions, directions (they provided us with a map several times), and were pleasant and made sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Our room was comfortable. I do suggest taking ear plugs in case your room faces the street. It was very noisy late in the evening and early in the morning. The bathroom was small but manageable.

Breakfast is included and it was delicious. Buffet style that had different options each morning. Happy hour was also included every afternoon from 4-6pm.

Each floor had lots of military memorabilia to read and enjoy. The library was fantastic.

If you have ever had any association with the military, you will want to stay here. It's a very nice hotel for the price and in a great location to many activities in downtown. The historical artifacts, the wall paying tribute to those who gave their life during the Iraq and Afganistan wars, and superior customer service provided by the hotel staff make this a place we will stay in again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DST1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews