We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
511
289
62
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
289
62
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine corpsfree happy houractive dutymilitary historyarmed forcestop floorunion squarebreakfast and happy hourprivate clubcocktail hourbreakfast buffetparking garage isbrick wallhealth clubbusiness centergreat view of the citystreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 879 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our daughter had her wedding at the hotel. Many quests stayed at the hotel. All where happy with the accommodations as well as the delicious breakfast buffet and happy hour to meet everyone. The wedding was excellent. Everything was done very professionally. Our daughter lives in San Francisico. The wedding planner was very efficient and made everything easy for her. The staff was helpful to all our quests since we are from the East coast. They got cabs for us, gave his directions to restaurants, and shuttles to the airport.The hotel is centrally located to many attractions. If you went on Greyline Tours, they picked you up and back after the tour. We all enjoyed the Red and Line tour to see the Blue Angels and other planes. We had a buffet with sandwiches, salad desserts. There was plenty of food for everyone to enjoy. The movie tour of the movies filmed in San Francisco was also enjoyable. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: corner room and looked out on the city. Could open windows and let warm breeze in.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in September 2011. We had a great stay and can't really fault this place. From arrival, everything went smoothly. We had room 612 which was a double room, very comfortable. All mod cons, including: hairdryer, toiletries provided, plenty of towels, small fridge, safe, coffee maker, free wifi, lots of pillows and a very comfortable bed, pay movies, air conditioning and fan. Water and ice available down the hall.

Breakfast was great - all the food you could wish for. One morning there were lots of men in uniform (what with this being a place with military links), so nice eye-candy for the ladies! All the staff are very courteous. They don't mind you taking away anything you can't eat or getting a take away breakfast or extra cup of coffee before you go. In fact, there are paper cups and carry-out boxes especially for this purpose.

In the afternoon there is a free 2 hour happy hour which we indulged in every day! This is a brilliant perk and we found out some great tips of places to go from the bar staff.

The business centre is good. It has 4 computers and a couple of printers. This was useful for us as we managed to book hotels for the rest of our trip using this facility. There is also a little garden terrace off the business centre which is a nice place to sit on a sunny afternoon.

We didn't use the sports facilities but they are extensive - pool with 3 lanes, lots of gym equipment. It seemed quite busy around tea time as the gym is also open to non-residents.

We didn't use the restaurant either but I heard good things about it from other people who we chatted to at happy hour.

The concierge is also really helpful.

The hotel is well placed for all the sites. We took the cable car one block away up to Fisherman's Whart to get the Alcatraz and it's a short walk from the hotel to Union Square. We also walked to Chinatown on a couple of evenings and this is a relatively easy walk (not uphill!). We also walked from the Powell St BART when we first arrived. A very friendly local gave us directions. I think it is 5 or 6 blocks from the BART station up Powell.

I really like this place and would recommend it to anyone visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by traffic noise, ask a room that doesn't look over the street. Get a suite if you can!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicat_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a very nice and quiet hotel. It is close to Union Square and the Hyde./Powell Streets trolley and in walking distance to Chinatown. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The complimentary breakfast buffet was excellent and they had free cocktails and snacks from 4PM to 6PM. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We've been members of the Club for many years and have had many wonderful vacations while staying there. The Staff are all exceptional, from top to bottom! The rooms are always comfortable and nicely appointed. We always have everything we need while staying there. The complementary breakfast each morning is always so very good and dinners in the restaurant are terrific, including the views from the top of this grand hotel! This place is the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyBeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I read the many positive reviews before booking and wasn’t disappointed. Our 2 rooms were clean and well equipped. We missed the happy hour on our first day but didn’t make that mistake again; great company with a fantastic view, and live music! Breakfast was substantial. Our tours during the day, and trips out for dinner were made easy by the central location. And after check out we picked up our Avis car from just around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddingtonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews