We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecxellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ecxellent place to stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have only good things to say about this hotel. It is so conveniently located right off Union Square, Fabulous choice of restaurants all within walking distance and an array of shops too. We had a military rate of $149 per night which is the members' rate, parking is a very short walk away and is $27 per day if you stay in the hotel. You can take your car in and out for no extra charge. Breakfast is included in the cost as is the 4-6pm happy hour which makes this a very good deal! Both are served on the 12th floor which has stunning views over the city. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a king room which was very spacious with a huge closet which had a full sized fridge and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is on the small side but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The style of the hotel is older but that is part of its charm. There is a lovely library with a fire to relax by. We did not use the gym facilities or the pool so cannot comment on that aspect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    238
    44
    8
    7
See reviews for
169
264
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

March 20-22, 2012. 1st time staying here & not the last. My corner king room facing Mason & Sutter was quite large with lots of natural light. Bed was very comfortable. Construction outside was noisy, but not the hotel's fault. The windows had plantation shutters for a very nice touch. I stayed as a guest of a member. I arrived early and there was no problem holding my luggage til I was ready. The Club has a discount for garaged parking just up the street with in/out privileges. Happy hour at the restaurant/bar on the top floor is NOT to be missed, either is the complimentary breakfast with the best views in this area of the city. The history is spectacular, I stayed on the 5th floor with all of the plaques of fallen marines. The Club Room on the 11th floor is not to be missed either, such tradition!
The hotel is convenient to the trolleys, Chinatown, Japantown - basically everything. The people I met staying at the hotel were very cordial, professional and extremely pleasant to socialize. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a King corner upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeana, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was the second time I ever stayed at the Marine Memorial Club Hotel, and still experienced the same thrill as when I stayed there the first time. The history surrounding this Hotel is amazing and is located in the middle of downtown San Francisco. The reception area is filled with history and great displays. The Library is absolutely amazing and we got to visit a few days before Christmas and got to see the awesome Christmas tree display.
The breakfast the next morning in Leatherneck Steakhouse was absolutely wonderful. It made me laugh because the buffet has gourmet versions of some of the dishes from the military I used to have along with the mini bottles of Tabasco to go with it.
If I ever get a chance to return to San Francisco again, I will always stay here if possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhawk_Marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Week of 3/12/2012. My small room and tiny bathroom were not clean. The windows are old and drafty so there was lots of street noise and a constant chill. There is no surface in the bathroom to place toiletries. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveANiceHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloma, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

DISCLOSURE: I am a member of the Marines Memorial Association the non profit that owns this hotel.

I have never re.greted joining this organization. If you have been honorably discharged from any branch of the U.S military you are elgible to become a member of the Association which is fully tax deductible.

Members can stay at the hotel for a very reasonable rate, especially for San Francisco. Rates for a standard room run about $130 per night. The hotel is located just a few blocks off Union Square. The rooms have been all renovated and are clean and good size for the City. Included is a large buffet breakfast, happy hour every evening with an open bar on the 12th floor with a beatiful view of the bay, and free admission to the full athletic club. A fantastic deal for San Francisco.

The hotel itself is a veritable museum of the Marine Corps with a wonderful military library as well as the Marine Corps exhibits throughout the hotel.

If you are on Active Duty you can get a room for around $70 per night for your family. You do not have to be a Member. Rooms are also open to the public for very competitive rates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great location, free happy hour, good breakfast. Restaurant has amazing city views and the best customer service. Will definitely recommend and return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I absolutely love this place! I have stayed at MMC on many occasions, and each time it just gets better and better. The staff is genuinely friendly and hospitable, always smiling, happy and ready to help. I appreciate seeing the same faces year after year, including the General Manager who is always so attentive and consistently goes above and beyond to make guests feel special and welcome.

The location of the property is fantastic, within close proximity to many of the city's major destinations and attractions. Very convenient, with the ability to walk for shopping, dining, sight seeing or catching a cable car or taxi.

The rooms are spacious and all of the facilities are very well-maintained. I am impressed with the amenities and appointments in each room, and with Housekeeping's attentiveness. There's a great business center and a fantastic gym. I also love the restaurant, which features great views and wonderful food. The included breakfast and happy hour is a great value, and a rare offering in hotels these days.

Most importantly, I always feel very safe at MMC, which is critical as a female who primarily travels alone. I would recommend MMC to anyone-- families, business travelers, leisure travelers... Thanks for another memorable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Suites are huge and extremely comfortable! I could just move in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaChick5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,019 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing