We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Hotel in S.F.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I'm a former Marine who is perpetual member of this hotel. I and my wife always try to stay here when we're in S.F. First of all if you check prices in S.F. it's hard to find a decent hotel under $200.00. Secondly very few give you a great buffet breakfast and two hour happy hour with a pianist who plays requests. This hotel also has a wonderful steak restaurant on the 12th floor, along with a pool, access to a gym and a truly educational library. On Father's day several years ago we were at happy hour and met a former WW II vet and a former Ambassador, what an interesting and informative time that was. Parking is close and at $27.00 very reasonable for S.F. We love this hotel and have never had any problems. My only complaint is that it's booked up for our next trip which tells you something. Read some of the average comments and found them to be very nit picky. For those of you who think this hotel is just average, please stay somewhere else as it's leaves room for the rest of us. While in S.F. attend the Beach Blanket Babylon floor show, it's hilarious. Look on line for cheap places to eat and there are a lot of them. Park your car and walk, it's good exercise and use the trolley for the fun and experience.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are fine but if you want more room get a king size room which has more windows. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I arrived into this hotel at first. It received rave reviews but didn't look like a top notch hotel. I checked at 11:30 at night with a reservation and the room I was in was clean but faced a brick wall ten feet away and the carpet and bathroom could use some updates. But beyond that, everything was great. The staff was kind and helpful, the location was great, near Union Square. The breakfast was fantastic with an amazing view of the city. The bed was comfortable. What the hotel might come up short with in perks, it makes up for with its drops of love.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cactusdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Excellent central location, beautiful and well maintained historic building, staff were fantastic and very helpful. Breakfast was brillaint. The Marine's veteran's association adds an interesting extra side to the hotel. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Parking garage three door up. Nice older establishment with a decent restaurant. We enjoyed both a dinner and a breakfast here. Good staff wanting to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing fancy but a good room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Definitely a little bit different than your typical business hotel. This place has photos of marines all over the walls and some uniforms and other Marine memorabilia.
The bedroom was nice and big with a good work desk, flat screen tv, and fridge.
The bed was very comfortable. I was disappointed in the flickery fluorescent light for the vanity area and the shower/toilet room was small and cramped. You have to go in and close the door to access the shower.
The free breakfast was good and the view was great from the restaurant. Staff is very nice. Overall I recommend it.

Room Tip: room 312's window looks at a brick wall and a fire escape. Not so nice if you want a view from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slambiase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Hotel was located only 3 blocks from Union Square and convenient to public transportation. The breakfast each day was awesome. We had a King size room that was spacious and very clean.
We had an amazing view from our room on the 5th floor. Each night they have a complimentary Happy Hour from 4 - 6 PM and they make awesome Martinis.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel in September for a wedding in the hotel. The hotel is not fancy but was comfortable. The staff were nice and accommodating. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The location was perfect. Would recommend if your just looking for a comfortable place to stay without all the fancy bells and whistles. The room we stayed in was a bit noisy in the morning due to consruction and trash pickup

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurserehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $268 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing