We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great basic clean lodging” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #141 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great basic clean lodging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Country Hearth Inn in San Francisco is a very affordable option to some of the over priced hotels available in the Lombard street area of the city. Although quite small the Country Hearth Inn is more than adequate foran overnight when doing some of the cities attractions. The rooms are small but very clean and the management of the hotel are very attentive and thoughtful with there guests. Close to many of the restaurants on Lombard street (which is made up of mostly hotels and restaurants) you will not be better servwd with a good nighhts lodging ata fair price.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms seem to be less used as there is no elevator and the stairs mean carrying eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    94
    51
    13
    13
See reviews for
47
78
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a week in December 2011. The rooms were always clean, and the hotel is in a convenient location just a walk away from restaurant and shops on chestnut street. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3076060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

There are not many things to do around the hotel. I reserved for three days but we only stayed one, there was no charge as we adviced with 24 hours in advance.

Rooms are OK, and clean.

Management a bit on the rough side, probably they didn't like us to go, but didn't any effort to convince us otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

If you are looking to save and want a basic, no frills hotel in a great location this is the place for you. Only being in San Francisco one night (and knowing we wouldn't be in the room much) we couldn't get past how cheap this place was. We booked our two rooms for $69.99 a night, which is an insanely low price for the area (it's in a safe, nice section of town, not the ghetto like most cheap hotels in major cities!)

It's located on Lombard street (one mile west of the well known, crooked part) and is close to Union Street (which has lots of bars and restaurants). We cabbed to the bars and several of us ended up walking back at the end of night.

The rooms are small, but beds are comfortable and clean and the bathroom had adequate counter space, which was important when you have three girls sharing a room. Rooms face the outside, motel-style, but we didn't feel unsafe. Parking is free and although there are only about 5 parking spots the lot was empty most of the time we were there. For people complaining about the breakfast, what do you expect for a hotel that costs as little as this one? They had coffee, OJ and a box of pastries - perfect for us to grab as we headed off to airport.

Overall, I didn't know what to expect when we booked this place but I would definitely stay here again when I come back to SF. Especially considering other hotels in the city are super expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at this inn in October and we found it to be very good. The rooms were admittedly not large but they were clean and comfortable. The front desk was nice and quite helpful with bus routes. Free internet too. Its located a stone's throw away from the Presidio, Palace of Fine Arts. The major bus routes are just a few minutes away on foot and take you straight pass key areas like North Beach, Chinatown, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf. All in all a pleasant stay and a very good price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RyanChan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberstdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a great stay! It is a nice hotel with clean and quiet rooms, only the door was a little hard to open. It is easy to get to most of San Francisco's sights from here by bus and parking wasn't an issue while we were there. If you are looking for a hotel with a good price in this expensive city, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is awful - its dirty, the staff are unhelpful and breakfast is all gone by 7.30am. We very rarely write bad reviews but seeing as we rely on trip adviser for all of our hotel bookings we thought we ought to write the truth. It is however in a good location and has good parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBennetts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 229 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#167 of 229 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#109 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#135 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing