We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome!!! My favourite SF experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castro Theatre

Castro Theatre
Book In Advance
US$79.00*
and up
Heart of San Francisco Culture: a unique Bike and Food Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!!! My favourite SF experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a very old cinema/theatre where they still have an organ player at the beginning of each screening! You pay $10 and can stay for as many films as you like. I went to see a black and white Jean Harlow film and the atmosphere was wonderful! lots of interaction with the film and laughing. I would definitely recommend going to the Castro Theatre, my San Francisco trip would not have been the same without it!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Junebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    90
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best popcorn you will ever eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

wonderful old theatre for seeing classic films, they have a balcony and I love the restrooms.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“gorgeous theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

One of the best theaters in California. The shows begin with a wonderful organ recital.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jERRYYOUNG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“San Francisco Landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A great old-time movie palace, with an organ that gets played for some shows. Huge auditorium, great old movies are rotated through, and they have wonderful special events. It is certainly worth a trip to see an old fave.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Art Deco Movie Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I went twice in December: once to see "Meet Me In St. Louis" and the next time to see the gay men's chorus. In addition to classic films, the theatre also runs contemporary films and has film festivals throughout the year. They also bring stars from classic films to appear in person.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LarryGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castro Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Castro Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing