We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, poor quality, not a great experience.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor quality, not a great experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed at the Surf Motel for two nights with a friend and I thought it was awful. The bathroom was filthy, broken tiles on the wall, mould, cheap poor quality fittings. The room stunk so badly of of years of cigarette smoke we left the door open. The lights didn't work on the first night and we couldn't get hold of anyone in reception to fix the problem. The motel looks like it could do with a complete renovation, and i wouldn't rate it'd chances of standing up in an earthquake. The woman in reception was overly aggressive when checking in and made me wait until 3pm despite a notice on the wall clearly stating check in was from 2pm. The best feature was the location, which is close to the Marina Triangle, although the traffic noise won't be to everyone's liking. Worst of all was the price, $200 per night when booking through hostel world is outrageous when I think it is worth $80 per night absolute max. Overall not a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RappaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    47
    62
    40
    53
See reviews for
50
68
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA BARBARA, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Noisy location, small room, no breakfast, nothing special. Use as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SURFINGWOLF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Well, at first sight, I was weary about staying. It looked rundown and pretty empty.. we got 2 nights without checking out the rooms first and I was honestly expecting to walk into a smelly room, dirty sheets and even dirtier unkempt bathroom.. But I was surprised at how decent the room looked.. fancy by no means, basic stuff.. But everything was functional.. Only thing that bummed me out was the noise, I have insomnia and being close to the road didn't help much but it does quiet down at night. Overall is a safe, economic stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Datlady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel after our first choice was unavailable. No frills but the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Some noise from Lombard St. coming under the 1" gap under the door, but it quiets down late at night. Definately in the budget category, but if you just need a bed for the night and don't want to pay too much then I would recommend it. Wifi was working. There is a very tasty breakfast restaurant right across the street that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reston va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights on Valentine's Day and got a good rate (it was $55/night). The location is great if you don't mind the noise from the road in front of the motel. Other than that it was nice staying there. It's clean and best rate in area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

First of all, we all know San Francisco is known for the horrible parking. Well I actually found that out when I got there. I recently was going to stay at another hotel (Motel Capri) and to my dismay they falsely advertised "Free Parking" and then when I got there, there wasn't any at all. I then proceeded to call the Surf Motel since this was my 2nd option. The people who own it are extremely nice. There was parking.. obviously and the room wasn't that bad either. You get what you pay for. $60 bucks to stay in a nice (not to popular) area in San Francisco. The bed was comfortable. Free internet was a huge plus and a block down was a whole street of fun food places and shops. Mel's Drive in was also right next to it. My boyfriend and I walked to Alamo Square and then back (70 blocks altogether) but it was worth it. I highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadezombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

The location of this motel was good, with Fishermans wharf only a 20min walk away, and it was handy to have free parking. However, the room itself wasn't anything to write home about. Our bathroom door didn't shut as it was half off its hinges, two lights were missing in the bathroom and the curtain rail kept falling off. But as we spent most of our time out exploring the city, the state of our room didn't matter too much, and the bed was comfortable enough. One thing to note is that although it says that breakfast is provided, this is just one small pastry which you go down to reception to collect in the morning, and coffee using the coffee maker in your room. Also, it is located on the main road, and there was not a very good seal around the door, so there was traffic noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hymerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#180 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing