We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
16
43
136
82
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
43
136
82
100
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 377 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The good news: a block from the BART Central Plaza station, 20 minute walk to Moscone. The average news: the beds are not bad, there's good pressured hot water and they have towels. The bad news is there is no AC or fan (to drown out the Market Street sounds), no desk, table or counter (where do you put you bag, toiletries or work on your laptop?), they have bedspreads (who has bedspreads?), they want you to turn in your room key (it is a key with a room number tag) anytime you leave the premises. This area of San Francisco is a dive. The street people are everywhere, most border on insane. I really do not see any charm to the city. For each good thing, I can find 10 negatives. This hotel is good for very short stays. Don't leave any valuables in your room.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, request a room away from Market Street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hayes_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location is great, the price is lower than on average for San-Francisco. On the other hand the rooms are not very clean and there is a strong smell of dust. Plus one can here everything what happens in the neighboring room ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank alexkartavtsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2014

But everything else is not I'm afraid. The room is small, the shared bathroom is also small. The area of the hotel might not be safe late at night but the tramp stops right in front of the hotel which is extremely convenient.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless you have no choice
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AisyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Looking for a hotel in the area we wished to stay proved to be hard to come by and also very expensive. For the price we paid, we felt this hotel provided value for cost. Upon reading other negative reviews we feel we must add our positive opinion.
There are a few things paid accommodation must supply:
A descent bed, hot water, security, reasonable level of cleanliness and no bedbugs. Aida provides all that, with friendly service and clean towels daily. It is a quiet place and is in an excellent location for sightseeing and both the BART and SamTrans. The hotel smells pleasant, and security was not an issue, though there are a lot of street people in general in the city. This is an old hotel, it's not been redone, nor does it really need to be as everything works, and it's awfully nice for those of us who would like to holiday in San Francisco who are on a budget. It's got a bit of hostel feel, and it's worn in. You don't feel like royalty here, but then again, you probably aren't if you're reading this review in the first place ;) If you are the princess and the pea or feel entitled, this probably isn't the place for you. However if you are on a budget, and just need the basic comforts this hotel is great. I appreciated the fact the window opens, too!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with an adjoining bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elfi Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After reading some of the online reviews of this place, I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed here recently. Yes, it is an older property, and yes, it is on Market Street in the less desirable Tenderloin area of San Francisco, but the hotel is extremely clean, and the staff is very nice. The room was adequate (I had a queen bed room with private bath). I did pass by the shared bathrooms/showers on my floor and they always seemed clean and well taken care of. The wifi worked well throughout, even in my room. There is only one elevator, and it can get crowded at times, with long waits during check in/check out times of the day.
Even though the location can be sketchy due to the homeless people who frequent the area, the hotel is close by and within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. I never felt unsafe coming or going no matter what time of day or night. There is a CVS pharmacy very close by that sells anything and everything you may need, and there are multiple restaurants in the area to choose from. Both the MUNI and BART stops are right outside the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor in the back of the building for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davec936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews