We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, spare but very welcoming”
Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #19 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This family-owned boutique hotel is centrally located, convenient to bus lines or walking the neighborhoods. Rooms and bathrooms are small (cozy), but clean and well kept. There are no frills here. (Bring your own hairdryer, or request one at the front desk; you must request hand towels daily -- only washcloth and bath towel are supplied.) But the redeeming qualities of this place are the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, and the VERY reasonable rates for center-city accommodations. If you want luxury (and the price that goes with it), stay in one of the big chain hotels. If you want value and ideal location, and are willing to forego the extras, this is the spot.

Room Tip: Avoid street noise by choosing one of the inside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meemah2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Although the rooms are quite small and humble, the warm welcome and great hospitality makes up for it. Shana, the beautiful lady at the desk during the day last Tuesday, was simply amazing. We had a few transportation issues and short of driving us to our destination herself (I think she would have if the other options didn't pan out), she did the rest. She searched the internet, made multiple phone calls, made reservations, cancelled reservations, had our boarding passes printed and waiting for us and pulled some other special tricks out of her hat. We made it safely to our appointments and there is no way we would have without her help. This hotel is within walking distance to some great boutiques, antique shops, lovely restaurants and even late night pizza. It is very close to the University of San Francisco campus, so we were able to walk there in about 15 minutes. The neighborhoods can still be a little sketchy, but with 2 of us, we felt very safe. We will come back and visit here again. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Metro Hotel.

Room Tip: You might choose a room facing the garden if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne_L247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

A recent 3 night stay at the Metro Hotel was a positive experience. While simple and small, my room was clean, the shower was always hot, the bed firm . The big bonus features are the friendly, helpful staff, location and the great value in an expensive city. Despite being asked the same questions over and over by guests, the staff cheerfully provided answers and information on places to eat, public transportation, sites to see. The location was ideal for me; close to my niece ( the main reason for my visit), within walking dstance of other notable sites, close to shops, restaurants, transportation, casual nightlife, the spectacular Golden Gate Park.

If you want luxurious digs, the Metro Hotel is not for you. But if you want a wonderful staff, a value-priced and very nice hotel, try this one! Say hi to Shana, who is a sweetheart!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We felt so comfortable at this hotel. Friendly , helpful staff. Room clean and attractive. Neighborhood setting, very safe. All types of resturants within a block. Why go to an expensive chain hotel, get watered down juice and wrestle with a waffle maker and have the cost added on to you hotel bill. I think I have researched every hotel in SF and I believe this is the best for the least amount of money. Studio apt available with full kitchen- great for longer stay. Will always come back to this hotel when visiting my son. This is one of those places you don't want others to know about so you can always get a room!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our second stay at Metro Hotel was just as charming, just as fine, and just as fun as our first. The staff are still wonderful, Shana and Ellen (the management team) are still warm, still personable and still knowledgeable. I have said it before and I will say it again: they still do the little things for guests at Metro that are simply unimaginable at corporate hospitality franchises. Still genuinely friendly. Still especially helpful. I could go on and on (and will reply to individual requests). However, lots of wonderful anecdotes will abound, retelling of kindnesses and courtesies extended by this great group of folks if you follow the many favorable reviews by the legions of other happy customers.

Shana and Ellen: Here is a promo idea for you:

When in Frisco, it STILL has to be METRO.

Room Tip: Request a rear room as Divisidero Street can be very lively (noisy) at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_Naughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend while doing a road trip on the west coast. A lot cheaper than other place we had looked at staying at in San Francisco.

Location was really good, nice quirky neighbourhood with good places to eat and drink. The actual hotel is more like a guest house, small and basic. The room we stayed in was very clean but quite shabby-stains on the floor, worn bed covers etc. But the bathroom was really nice and the shower really good.
I think the thing I liked most about this place was the friendly receptionists. They were so helpful and unlike any other reception staff I've come across. They seemed to want to help you just because they wanted to and not because they had to.

To sum up The Metro hotel is good value, good location and ideal if you are travelling on a budget. I would not recommend it to people looking for a romantic or luxurious stay as it is just not that kind of place! I would stay here again if I was back in San Francisco again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_Hooded_Neon_Ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is not like any one we have stayed in so far! We were on a whirlwind tour of the west coast (Vegas, Disney, SD, LA, SFO, Napa) and we found this hotel to be very different!

Pros:
1. Sheena at the Reception was fabulous - she was the most friendly person. She made our stay in SFO really special. She was full of advices and friendly tips. She made us a map to go around SF - which was brilliant, gave us nice shopping trivia, helped us with our cab booking as well as advised nice places to eat which we found to be great.
2. The rooms are cozy (read small) but then we never intended to stay in the rooms for long.
3. The cleanliness was good.
4. They have a very nice location - right next to Haight street where you can find really great shopping experience and also find a different SFO culture thriving.

Cons:
Not many apart from the small room size and the windows not having curtains (only blinds)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 107 which is very quiet and we slept very well. The room is a tad smaller than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndranilSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
220 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#196 of 230 in San Francisco
64 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,365 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $153 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing