We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy spot, great surf and turf at this historic San Fran spot”
Review of John's Grill

John's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
John's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 6,309 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell Street
Description: John's Grill has been a San Francisco tradition since 1908. This historic restaurant is one of the city's oldest and most famous and is a favorite of celebrities who enjoy great steaks, expertly prepared fresh seafood with excellent service and a one of a kind atmosphere. John's Grill was a setting in author Dashiell Hammetts, The Maltese Falcon. The restaurant has earned many tributes: it has been chosen as one of the 10 best by Esquire and featured in Gourmet Magazine. Live jazz nightly in the upper level dining room. ZAGAT RATED: Food 26 / Decor 24 / Service 25 / Cost $44 "Step back in time" at this circa-1908 Downtown "landmark", where "solid steakhouse fare" and "strong drinks" draw "tourists and locals alike"; "one of the last old-style SF eateries", it's also renowned as a "Dashiell Hammett hangout" (and a setting in The Maltese Falcon.)"
Reviewed January 25, 2017

You get a loaf of homemade sourdough for the table. I ordered the seafood stew-- the bay shrimp are a must-try in the city. We had to wait a little bit after our reservation at 8pm, but they have a small bar. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised and would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 466 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

John's Grill takes a straight forward approach to the dining experience.

A local institution, they keep it simple and the people seem to love it. Drinks were nothing of note but they were well made..which is the point overall.

Entrees range from steaks (our party had good experiences) to fish stew (which I found to be lacking depth of flavor) all served with the same sides.

A bright note was the terrific sour dough bread basket...keep it coming!

Service was efficient on this busy night and they allowed us to linger over our conversation until the restaurant closed.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank M5105JDthomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

Food is great. Delicious. Salad, pasta & steaks. Everything we ordered is good.
No wonder this place has lasted since 1908 !
Truly a must-stop when in San Francisco. It's an institution.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank ChristineB441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2017

Wow. We love SF. We checked in to our hotel and prepared to head to Kuleto's---alas, it is out of business. Plan B was to hit Trip Advisor. John's Grill is 500 ft from our hotel and top--rated.

We sauntered over. It has a total dark wood bar feel;even a little NYC vibe. So, lots of locals, maybe seating for 100 guests at the most and an intimate business meets date-night feel.

We had the fresh crab cocktail and we split the salmon. Perfection.

Service was top-notch. Ambience is terrific. And,for you history buffs, this is one of the settings for the Maltese Falcon book.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

An iconic spot. Great food, excellent service and just eating there we felt like a part of history. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank mrstoynts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to John's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing