We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French bistro!”
Review of Cafe Claude

Cafe Claude
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Claude is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 5,925 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cross street: Bush & Kearny
Description: Affectionately known as the "Paris of the West," Cafe Claude is a San Francisco institution. Situated on one of the city's hidden alleys, Claude Lane, Cafe Claude offers a taste of France, with classic bistro dishes at lunch and dinner, a full bar, and an affordable wine list. On warm days, linger on the patio and enjoy a rare dose of sunshine, or a warming bowl of onion soup or coq au vin inside. On weekends, the restaurant comes alive with live jazz from 7 to 10pm, Thursday through Saturdays.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Truly enjoyed meal with my daughter here! Felt as if we were in Paris. Food was great, nice atmosphere. Located down a lane off main streets. Daughter had the escargot topped with puff pastry - she enjoyed them. I got the salade Maison - excellent - fresh bib lettuce, great champagne dressing, finally diced Onions and herbs. Main courses - coq au vin and poulet routi - each wonderful, great sauces. We shared pomme frites. Authentic and delicious. For dessert - daughter had the apple tarts Tatin - warm and worth getting. I had the mousse - really good, but that tarte....

Thank herewegoDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Cafe Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review! We're so glad it was a great night out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Being in San Francisco for a few days and looking for a good french restaurant, this place hit the spot for me!!!! Originally from Europe and missing a good french restaurant in Hawaii, have no words of appreciation for this restaurant, the waiters, food and the management. It really felt like I was back to France for a moment...delicious, delicious food, dessert and drinks!!!!

Thank Simina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Cafe Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thanks Simina! We appreciate the great review! Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The place is hidden in a small alley, you wont regret going there. Nice french restaurant with an European ambience. The best confit de canard I had in a long time.

Thank PaoloBoscolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Cafe Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you Paolo! Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This was our second visit to this restaurant after trying it last year we were hoping for a wonderful lunch. While the lunch was not bad, it was disappointing. First, it was a cold day and we opted to eat inside. That didn't help since they kept the front door open and with the wind outside we froze the entire meal. The sourdough bread is fabulous. They got one of our starters wrong as well as the drink order and it was not very busy. Our main course was the roast chicken which was tasty and I also has the house salad which was also very good. Overall I would recommend they just need to be more aware of their diners comfort.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Cafe Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Scott, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry you didn't have a great experience this time. We hope to see you again so we have a chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We had the onion soup that was really good and the scargot was very good as well. The restaurant was full so i would say reservation is a must. Inside dinning room small outside seating available as well.

1  Thank Panama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck L, Owner at Cafe Claude, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for coming to Cafe Claude, we appreciate the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Claude also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing