We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must when in San Francisco”

Dottie's True Blue Cafe
Ranked #37 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Description: Now located in a beautiful 1910 building with brick walls and hardwood floors with an open kitchen and very cozy atmosphere. Roof top seating when the weather permits for coffee and pastries or a glass of wine in the afternoon. We have an additional seating capacity of approximately 24 making for a quicker turnaround.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must when in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Note new location near 6th/Market. Wonderful baked goods and pancakes. Friendly service and atmosphere, decorated to with photos of the ladies who sang at the Cotton Club. Highly recommend, worth the wait in line!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightshade08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    330
    94
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good breakfast worth a short wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Inspired by family members who had visited (who were inspired by this show being on Diners Drive-Ins and Dives, naturally), I visited Dottie's last Friday morning for breakfast with my husband & 3 of his male colleagues. There were 5 of us; we walked right in the door and we only had to wait about 10 minutes for a private table (we could have been seated at a communal table immediately). However, by the time we left, the line was way out the door.

The wait staff was friendly (and mostly quick to refill coffees & offer other assistance). The interior was crowded, but had charm. The food was ample & tasty. I had the blueberry cornmeal pancakes which were packed with deliciously ripe blueberries. My husband had a daily special french toast which was delicious and not too rich. Our friends had pancakes & egg scramble dishes which were absolutely massive. We were all satisfied with our food.

We were all a bit apprehensive about walking to Dottie's from our hotel at Union Square, having heard some rough things about this neighbohood. The walk wasn't long, but we did encounter a few odd characters. I don't think that even the men in our group would have wanted to walk here alone, but in a group in the daylight, we felt fine.

Overall, the food at Dottie's was excellent, and worth at least a short wait. Be aware that they have moved locations somewhat recently, so many of the photos & reviews you'll find are of their old location.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long lines but worth it.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Like most of us in line we were trying out the Cafe because we saw it on Food Networks Diners, Drive In's & Dives. My husband & I felt the line was part of our S.F. experience but it was also worth the wait. It was about 45 min wait & when we were done the line was still around the corner. A must try. Oh they have moved locations - 6th & Market.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandeeandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Same great food in a new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited Dottie's new location on Feb 13th. I was happy to find that the food hasn't changed at all. They still have creative breakfast specials and the old standbys like the blueberry cornmeal pancakes and the top notch baked goods.

The restaurant is much larger and is decorated nicely but in my opinion it lacks the warmth and character that the other location had. The location of the restaurant is in a rather rough area. I was not comfortable walking the short distance from Powell and Market to get there and I was with a group. Knowing what the walk is like to get there I'm not in a hurry to return. Even though the food is wonderful I't isn't worth the stress I felt getting to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast at Union Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The trick is to get there early. Well worth it. Please tell Dottie I said hello.

Helpful?
2 Thank Raybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dottie's True Blue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dottie's True Blue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing