We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich and Delicious Foods are the Mains at this Persian Restaurant”
Review of Alborz

Alborz
Ranked #1,385 of 6,304 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Persian
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 5, 2016

The service is responsive; the menu is extensive and the food is delicious and tasty in this Persian restaurant on the corner of VanNess and Sutter streets in San Francisco. Try the charbroiled kabobs with vegetables, chicken, salmon, filet mignon or ground beef. There are house specialties, like ghorme sabzi or chopped scallions, parsley & chives with kidney beans & lamb shank; fesenjoon, a pomegranate sauce simmered with crushed roasted walnuts with a choice of chicken or mini beef meatballs; and baked chicken and basmati rice mixed with almonds, raisins, orange peels, pistachio & saffron. Or a selection of appetizers that include humus, dolmas and homemade pickled vegetables or torshee may be enough. Several kinds of basmati rice feature dill and fava beans or lentils and golden raisins. Or basmati rice with barberries and saffron. The tastes are rich, unusual and highlighted by homemade yogurt or other sauces that are available. Prices are not high enough to stop you from over ordering, but you can always take food home with you. Parking depends on the time of day, but if you're lucky you can find parking on side streets. The VanNess buses run often.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2016

great Persian wait staff and great yummy food. One of the kind and the great Persian tea. Walkind distance to Calista Hotel

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank aberob001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

As we walked in to the restaurant there was a strange smell, but we did decide to stay. The staff were polite and professional. The kebabs were very greasy, just dripping in oil. The food generally was ok, but nothing special. I won't be returning.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Jaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016

While we found the atmosphere at Alborz to be slightly lacking (there were steady customers for a Thursday but it still felt empty and a bit dated) the food quickly won us over. We had the Shirazi salad (onion, tomato and salad-cucumbers lightly pickled in their dressing) and really loved it. Perfect little appetizer and delightful- very refreshing and light. The hummus was also very good, and went well with the provided bread. We thought it was a fair portion size for an appetizer as well. My husbands Fesenjoon (traditionally made with chicken) was delightful - sweet and rich, slightly tart. You could really taste the pomegranate. If you don't enjoy sweet meals, I'd steer clear however: he ate the entire plate, but I'd have gotten a bit tired of it. The fesenjoon can also be served with meatballs, but was great with the chicken. I had the Joojeh Soltani (one chicken breast and one ground beef kabob) and the chicken was just outstanding. The ground beef was good as well. We upgraded one rice to be Shirin Polo, which is basmati rice with almonds, raisins, orange peel and pistachios. My response was "it tastes like Christmas!" The flavoring was really fantastic, very sweet with the nuts and fruits. Delicious. Next time I might get the shirin polo meal with the chicken kabob. We had fantastic service as well. Our only complaint was a sub-par wine selection and no beer menu to supplement it. Either way we shall return. We heard several patrons remarking about soups/stews and we will enjoy trying.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShazDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2016

We had dinner here and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of food. We ordered koobideh (ground beef) and jouleh (chicken breast) and it was cooked to order. We shared and both agreed that we would come back here.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Geo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alborz also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alborz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing