We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern atmosphere with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a boutique hotel that is very comfortable, & close to all parts of the San Francisco area. Walk across the street to the market & try all kinds of fresh fish & veggies, plus chocolates to die for.The view of the bridge & water from our room was relaxing.They have a great restaurant on site, & many more in walking distance. Stroll to the museums or take a taxi to Fisherman,s Wharf for sightseeing.Go on a tour of Alcatraz & see the sea lions.Book a ticket online before you go to avoid long lines & sell outs. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water, market, & bridge or you will be looking at a building.i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

As a visitor to San Fransisco I relied on the hotel staff and they did not dissapoint. Always helpful with arrangements. Stayed here because of the location and it was wonderful,near the ferry terminal but loved the yoga and all the other amenities offered.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Patricia P:

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Vitale. Our yoga instructors provide a perfect start to the morning, and I am delighted that you were able to partake – it is one of the many things that make Hotel Vitale unique.

We are so fortunate to be centrally located near fine dining and shopping, and our concierge team would be happy to accommodate any of your interests during your next trip to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we enjoyed 5 nights in the hotel vitale. perfect suite (panorama suite), perfect service. the most beautiful suite i've ever been with a wonderful view. just around there are some excellent restauraunts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinkingmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear thinkingmore:

I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Vitale. The next time you stay with us, I encourage you to spend some time on any of our three terraces – all boast impressive views of the Bay Bridge and provide a truly serene experience. Also, be sure to visit Americano where Chef Kory creates soulful, Italian cuisine that feature hand-crafted pastas and local ingredients.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale and appreciate your generous feedback.

Warm Regard,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it said it was pet friendly, and they are! They gave us a doggie package. which included a doggie bed, a toy, and doggie treats! They even give you your own doggie towel. For a pet friendly hotel, I would give this establishment a five star rating! If you want to stay at a beautiful San Francisco hotel I would definitely give this place a try. We loved it and would definitely be back.:)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaligurl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Heartstopper69:

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Vitale. We are proud to be a pet-friendly hotel and are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with your dog. There are several great dog parks in the city, so the next time you stay with us, our concierge would be happy to locate one for you if you are interested.

We look forward to seeing you again soon/

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I had never stayed in the embarkadero area, but loved it. Our room had a very of the bay bridge and the water. The area is not as heck it as union square. The outdoor seating areas on the 5th and 7th floors had fantastic views. I love heavenly beds and free wifi in the room. Besides free tea and coffee in the lobby, the hotel provided a free car service( mercedes hybrid) to union square, even though it is a short ten minute walk. Also we had a large mirror in our room that had a reflection of that fanastic view, I did not want to leave the room!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the bay bridge, our room was 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RawFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I often stay at the Vitale when I'm in San Francisco on business. The property is very nice, clean, modern, and with a great nightlife. You have the option of overlooking the water, bridge or the city.

The only downfall might be the noise, but since you're in a vibrant city it shouldn't be unexpected. The Americano bar is ALWAYS busy, and is always great for people watching or meeting new friends. It's noisy, so it's not the best place for conversations or business meetings. The restaurant section offers good food and great service.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy, so higher floors may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Kevin T:

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoy both, Hotel Vitale and Americano Restaurant. We are thankful to have loyal guests, like you, and appreciate your kind sentiments. Americano is a popular establishment among locals, as well as travelers, and I do apologize if the noise has ever interfered with your stay. However, you are right – we are fortunate to be in a very vibrant city!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was my husband's birthday weekend. The Vitale exceeded expectations on every level. The suite had a 180 degree view of the Bay, the products were from Fresh and smelt divine, it was extremely spacious, the staff made you feel like you were at home. The location is also killer. The ferry building and Saturday farmers market are mere footsteps away.

I cannot say enough about this hotel. Try it for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Caroline H:

We are thrilled to hear that you had an incredible time during your husband’s special birthday celebration. At Hotel Vitale we pride ourselves on making every guest feel comfortable, welcome, and relaxed – I am pleased to hear that our team was able to provide this experience. The Ferry Building and Farmer’s Market are two incredible San Francisco landmarks, and we are so fortunate to be in such close proximity to both.

During your next trip to San Francisco, our concierge team would be happy to assist you in finding any other local attractions or hidden treasures that you may be interested in. Thank you for your generous feedback – we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
840 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
894 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $329 - $1,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing