We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it get any better?????”

The New Village Cafe
Ranked #618 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Nob Hill
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can it get any better?????”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Really nice and cheap food. Went for breakfast 3 mornings. I love it!!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“#4 over easy”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a mom and pop place with great value for American food. We always get a warm welcome. Come for the biscuits and gravy.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent little cafe”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

very good cafe serving very reasonalby priced good wholesome food,run by a lovely chinese couple,who make you feel very welcome,treat you like old friends, typical breakfast two eggs,bacon,hash browns,toast and most importantly a good hot english cup of tea, all for $4.95! got to be the best place in town for breakfast,really sets you up for the day. open from 7am to 3.30pm.pity they close in the afternoon,otherwise my wife and I would have gone there for dinner!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CybilSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“My standard order #3: Two eggs, bacon, toast and home fries for $4.95”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

For the last 3 -4 years I have been visiting New Village Cafe and I will keep coming back when in San Francisco.
Family run, friendly service and decent breakfast, plus... it is very affordable.

It must been open for at least 20 years. The walls are covered with photos of customers sitting at their tables. The interior may be nothing special, a bit dated, but in a way, I actually like it just the way it is.

Many locals come here year in year out and more visitors staying at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway (2 mins away) are finding their way to this place.

Great for breakfast or lunch.

Thank you Dave and your wife for being there!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warempage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best cup of tea in the USA”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We were stopping at the Holiday Inn in SF for three nights and The New Village Café was recommended for breakfast.
FANTASTIC! Even though the place has almost no presence on the street, when you step inside you find a basic and clean down-to-Earth American diner.
It offers a terrific range of breakfasts and you are attended by the Chinese owner and probably just one other person. The service was swift and highly efficient. The food was good – you got what you ordered in adequate portions. Whether you want just corn flakes or a full blown American fry-up with pancakes etc you will not be disappointed.
But most important was the tea. Alone at last amongst twenty or more establishments we visited across the US we found someone who could make a PROPER cup of tea. You know, the way we make it in the UK when boiling water and tea bag are bought together immediately.
Don’t waste time anywhere else in SF for breakfast. Take the California Street cable car to Polk Street and walk south about 100 yards. Your journey will be rewarded.

Helpful?
1 Thank BeBeTheCatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Village Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The New Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing