We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“St. Regis is a safe bet for quality in SF” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“St. Regis is a safe bet for quality in SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here to celebrate wedding anniversary. Booked the Astor Suite, which I recommend. The room was modern, bordering on spartan, but very clean and a pleasant space to spend time in. The lighting is pretty dim (lamp only), but that wasn't a concern for us.

We had a wonderful experience, start to finish. The private butler's English was a little shaky, but the staff throughout the hotel was very pleasant.

Enjoyed wonderful 60 minute messages at Remede Spa, and had an incredible dinner at Ame - which was the highlight of our getaway. Fantastic food and service. Living in the Bay Area, Ame doesn't get much attention, likely because it is viewed as a "hotel restaurant". But it deserves its Michelin star rating.

As others noted, city noise is high around the hotel, which I noticed the most in my spa treatment room (sirens and car horns do take away from the message experience). So ask for a higher floor room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    243
    91
    42
    23
See reviews for
190
413
78
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The first time i stayed here it reminded on the Wynn in Las Vegas and better. Very personalised service. They know how to greet every person walking in. The rooms are fantastic. Remote controlled blinds, etc are some features. Love to stay at this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have only stayed in the suites at this hotel and can say that the rooms are wonderful. Very high-tech with the central control for the lights, drapes and phone.

The location is amazing - walking distance to Union Sqaure and Moscone. The service is excellent. Everyone is helpful and very courteous.

The one thing that I noticed this year is that some of the cabinets in the living room were in need of repair (they were falling off the hinges). And at the price their charging, I feel this small detail shouldn't be overlooked. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

So, I had posted on the forums for "hip, trendy hotel" ideas other than the W near the Moscone Center......everyone pretty much shot down my thoughts of the St Regis fitting the bill, but it DID.

We've stayed at the W before (and did again for a few nights this trip), but the St Regis feels so much more luxurious for the money. The furniture at the St Regis is better quality (the W furniture reminds me of IKEA), the bathroom actually has SPACE you can use, they give you shower caps, cotton balls, etc.....things you would expect for the price.

We were in town for a very large video game developers convention (GDC). This may have led to the younger (most of the guests were 25-40), Silcon Valley vibe at the hotel during our stay, but it worked perfectly for us. We are Starwoods Gold members and even though we were on a conference group rate, we were upgraded to a large, lovely corner room, free WIFI, and given a 4pm checkout.

The room was modern, sun-filled, and spacious. It had a great shower and nice separate soaking tub. On the 7th floor, you could barely hear some outside street noise which might bother a very light sleeper. We didn't really have any views, but that was fine. The hotel itself is right next the Moscone center and an easy walk to many restaurants, coffee places, shopping, and transportation.

The downstairs bar/lounge area was hopping early to late afternoon, but then quieted down later in the evening. It's great little area to have a quick cocktail or meeting and actually be able to hear each other speak. If you need a more rockin' late night crowd, you can walk one block down to the W which carries on much later (and louder) into the night.

The spa was lovely. Had a massage with Dennis Trump (I usually always go to a girl, but none were available. He did not disappoint).....what a nice guy!! At the end of the treatment, I asked him for some restaurant suggestions and he gave us some wonderful choices. The pool at the hotel is outdoor only so that was a bit of a bummer, but would be great in the warmer months.

I would def. recommend this hotel for a romantic get-away or a business trip. I think this will probably be our go-to hotel in San Fran in the future.

Room Tip: Corner suites are FULL of great sunlight and have lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here over new years weekend and had a gret experience. Stayed in a grand deluxe room on the 20th floor over mission. View was nothing special but the room was large and very quiet. The pool and fitness facilities are clean and very nice. Staff is friendly but also leaves you alone, which I like. Overall a gret experience, but they fell short on the "allow me" service prior to our stay. Unfortunately none of my requests were acknowledged and as a gold preferred Starwood member, I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripNLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The St. Regis is everything you'd expect it to be - a wonderful stay in San Francisco. The Bentley house car was a nice perk, and the staff/service was impeccable. Not sure if it's worth the $$ premium, but I'll gladly stay there again on my corporate account.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxevacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
430 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I spent the most amazing 4 nights at this stunning St Regis! From arrival to departure the entire stay was just absolutely flawless. Every employee I encountered was just thrilled to help and cared about how my stay was.

The bar scene is luxurious and vibrant. The cocktails delectable and the service top notch. The rooms are large and stunningly appointed with all the amenities you may need for your trip whether on business or pleasure.

During my stay, I experienced the hotel's spa, Remede Spa. The facilities just like the rest of this San Francisco landmark are gorgeous with fabulous amenities. In addition, my massage was probably the best I have ever had thanks to my therapist Dennis.

If travels take you to San Francisco, look no more. The St Regis will meet and exceed every expectation. You can thank me later!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romazzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing