We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself- Dungeness crab roll”

Woodhouse Fish Company
Ranked #148 of 6,307 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: The Castro
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Omg- 6 oz roll was heavenly. All crab, no filler. Was recommended by a local who said, “Don’t go to the Pier- overpriced. The locals love Woodhouse.” No joke!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank zaichek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

The New England style clam chowder was creamy, delicious and filling. We shared the soup and then had a crab roll and stuffed artichoke for mains. Both were generously portioned and well prepared using high quality ingredients.

The decor is very casual, kind of like a fish diner (if such a thing exists) so you might think this is a cheap eats place. It is, rather, a good eats place without pretension.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 67carolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We had a dinner we'll long remember. This is a local favorite, well out of the tourist areas. They don’t take reservations. The host signed us up on the list, and we only had to wait 10 minutes (at 7:30 on a Friday night) for our table for two. The server was cheerful and helpful, advising us to try the Tomales Bay oysters (was she ever right!) and for dessert advising us to share a bread pudding (it was enough for two). We loved the Cioppino at $31 and Iceberg Louie Salad (Crab Louie) at $21. (I’ve been enjoying Crab Louie for 60 years.) In the wine department, they have an excellent Oyster Bay sauvignon blanc, tart enough to go well with our seafoods. For beer lovers: Anchor Steam on tap.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The food is really top notch however the service is so bad that I wont be back. The place isn't that big and was a third full when we sat down and ordered, 45 minutes later our entrees came - crab cakes and a lobster roll. Now unless you were catching the seafood there was no reason for this. I asked our waitress about 30 minutes in and she said the wait is usual yet I saw someone come in and order take out and get their order before ours. When the hostess brought our plates I asked her and she said there wasn't a problem and that we didn't wait long. No one wanted to take any responsibility. A simple "sorry it took so long" would have gone a long way but now I wont go back and will let others know what to expect. You aren't the only fish in town Woodhouse....

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank screwme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We came based on recommendations from others. If you go on looks both outside and inside you would probably walk away but don't as you will be missing out. We had the crab cocktail and prawns cocktail to start with. Amazing amount of crab and very big prawns. For mains we had crab cakes which were superb and the Cioppini which was delicious.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodhouse Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Woodhouse Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing