We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Our 2011 9500 Mile Journey in 2 months!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #139 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our 2011 9500 Mile Journey in 2 months!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We booked this hotel because of the free parking and the price, we loved the location, the room was clean and couldn't ask for anything more. Being right in Chinatown and next to Little Italy was great, we felt very safe, walked to the wharf 2 days in a row. It wasn't a fancy place but they were very helpful at the desk with any questions we had. We stayed here five days and simply loved it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patpet_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    177
    136
    43
    13
See reviews for
100
172
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a weeklong trip of the San Francisco bay area. We were reluctant to stay in the city very much because there didn't seem to be many good choices that were reasonably priced.

This hotel is located on a bustling block at the north end of Chinatown, very close to the border between Chinatown and North Beach. It is definitely convenient to walking to downtown, Chinatown, and North Beach. The City Lights bookship is literally half a block away. There were a number of restaurants along Columbus Ave. However, there were also some "adult" entertainment venues nearby. Nob Hill was also close by, which is where we went in the evening to visit the Tonga Room, but unless you are in good physcial shape I would not recommend walking there, as it is extremely steep.

The staff was very friendly. Parking was very limited in their lot, but we were able to snag a spot as someone was leaving. Fortunately, the hotel has a deal with a nearby parking garage to use them for overflow parking. The room was reasonable, not very big, but with everything we needed. It was in the 70s while we were visiting, so it was a little warm. There did not appear to be any AC, but they provided a small fan in the closet, which we didn't end up needing. I don't recall if the hotel said they had a continental breakfast, but be forewarned that this appeared to be nothing more than packaged danishes that were left in the room.

The walk to and from the Tonga Room was a little unsettling. Aside from being very steep, there were not too many people around, and at that hour of the evening, Chinatown is all closed. We're not sure, but we may have also passed some folks "of the evening" on our way back to the hotel at around midnight. Once we got back to the hotel to turn in, we discovered that the street had quite a lot of noisy activity. Aside from vehicles, there were people yelling and a car alarm going off for what seemed like a long time. I had to leave the TV on to try to drown out the noise. For someone who is not used to the bustle of the city, this was unsettling.

All in all, this was probably my least favorite part of our trip, although the hotel was relatively inexpensive and convenient to several popular parts of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp312trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

U get free parking at this inn and it is at the heart of SFO chinatown! The room is pretty decent. Do try to get a room facing the back of the inn to avoid the traffic noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sor_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-O-T, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in the Royal Pacific Motor Inn for 3 nights during October. Our main reason for booking it was the price and free parking and the decent reviews.

We had a room at the back which seemed to be much quieter than our friends room at the front, and had no problem with street noise. Rooms were clean and although not luxurious, were decent at the price.

The breakfast was a joke as it was just a couple of danish pastries left in the room, even though there was four of us, only 2 pastries and couldn't say how long they had been there. However, it was free so it was no big deal.

Location is great as you are right on the edge of China Town and Little Italy and it's about a 15 minute stroll to Pier 39 etc.

Basically it was cheap and cheerful and great to have free parking.

Room Tip: Get one at the back - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Royal Pacific is a no-frills, 5-story hotel catering to the budget traveler to San Francisco. Its prime location, at the intersection of Broadway and Columbus, sits between bustling Chinatown to the south, and North Beach (Little Italy) to the north. Right around the corner is the venerable City Lights bookstore, of Beat Poetry fame. A cozy little fortune cookie factory nests downstairs off an alley a couple of blocks away. If lurid strip clubs are your thing, the infamous Condor Club and others are close by. Heading north, one passes any number of inviting Italian ristorantes and caffes on both sides of Columbus, marking the way to Fisherman's Wharf. It might take an hour or so to walk the distance . . . unless you can't resist stopping for gelato, an espresso, or a glass of vino rosso. Strolling far enough south through Chinatown gets you to Union Square, where you can spend lots of money in upscale shops. If you'd rather not walk, cabs are cheap in SF. Or take the bus. Or ride a cable car.
The Royal Pacific is not fancy. The lobby is tiny, the elevator a little funky, and amenities are few, though onsite parking is available. It doesn't have interior hallways, and the rooms facing Broadway are noisy, as other reviewers have said. I discovered a large fan in the closet and placed it between my bed and the windows. "White noise" from the fan helped muffle the street sounds. The bed was quite comfortable, however, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The maid leaves a packaged danish on the table each day. Not what I had in mind for breakfast, but it sufficed until I could get to one of those Italian caffes.
What do you expect to pay for a hotel in San Francisco with this sort of location? This is not a flea bag; it's perfectly fine if your expections are modest and you can tolerate some nocturnal street noise. Rooms are priced around $100 -- IMO a great value, for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Location is very good, in Chinatown and close to all the main attraction of San Francisco. Room was clean which was very importante for us. While the area is very busy Chinatown it did seem that there were lots of slightly sleezy clubs at night. Very handy to have the car park because its expensive to park your car arounf San Francisco. Would go back if in the area. We really love San Francisco!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here at the end of our 3 week trip to the US.

The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown but is on a very busy road - Broadway is a major thoroughfare - so it was noisy all night. However this is San Francisco, the hotel is extremely well priced, car parking is included and the beds are very comfortable, so you have to weigh up what your priorities are.

We were happy hearing fire engines at night for such a great price.

The area does get pretty seedy late at night - particularly down towards Columbus - but if you stay in Chinatown its better.

We had a balcony room, but the balcony is shared with the room next door so we were not able to leave the door open as we usually do - however this was not a major issue.

We did ask if we could leave our car after 12pm checkout - just for a couple of hours as we had a late flight, but were told a definitive NO by a number of staff. There is a paid parking lot directly below the hotel as well - we were told we could see if there was space there, but we would have to pay. However parking is at such a premium in San Francisco that we understood the rationale.

Room Tip: For a q uieter room request one facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frothygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#120 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#108 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#119 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing