We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service, clean rooms”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a nice stay at the InterContinental on two different occasions this month. I'm surprised to read that others were disappointed with the service, because that was clearly the best part of our stay. Staff was very accommodating, giving us an upgrade on our room and the view we requested. We rented a car through the hotel and the concierge staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but clearly for us great service made our stay a pleasant one. The fitness center is great, particularly the lap pool and the jacuzzi. The restaurant is very good, with friendly service. It's a good hotel for business travelers who want no fuss, comfortable accomodations, in particular those attending conferences at the Moscone Center next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    977
    292
    98
    70
See reviews for
502
888
198
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great bar, fitness center was sweet - rooms were clean and modern. Location was great - right off union square. Perfect spot for business travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I am staying here as the home base for a meeting at the Moscone convention center. The meeting sponsors are paying for my stay so my comments are unbiased on that score. However, the ICON has clearly undergone some changes since I stayed here last year. The check in process was slow and the front desk staff was rude [all three of them] to those being checked in- very obviously they aren't feelin' the love for their customers. Then there is te room- the towels in the bathroom are thin and scratchy, the room service is slow, with no water provided with any meal. As for trying to order food, I tried to call room service 10 times over the space of an hour and a half and no one EVER picked up the line- I even left a message and no one called back. I never did get breakfast. This is a disappoinment since the last time I stayed here I thought this was a great hotel, but it's been downgraded. Over the past 18 months I have come to San Francisco once a month and stayed at multiple other hotels so this is a direct comparison with hotels like the Fairmont, Omni, Huntington, Ritz etc. and it isn't a good thing. Even the Hyatt Embarcadero was better than this stay at the ICON.

Room Tip: aks for an uppper floor and a room with 2 beds, otherwise the rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockscience1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hate this hotel. Off the beaten path. Once you do get there nothing spectacular. But the ringer is the inept service. One day into a weekend stay after a long day on the prowl, returned to discover our key card locked out. My husband went to the desk for new keys but as the reservation wasn't under his name they wouldn't help him without me. Front desk calls the room...which I am outside of in the hall locked out...to confirm the situation. Long story short, I went to the desk, 2 new keys...neither work. Now security involved. More 'identity confirmation'. Ridiculous. Will not ever stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Lovely modern hotel, excellent leisure and business facilities. Rooms large with all luxuries.
A little bit saucy charging $15 per day for wireless (although fast speeds) in view of cost per room. Otherwise would recommend again, staff always friendly and relaxed atmosphere, food excellent, breakfast sumptuous and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Wasn't crazy about area/location at 1st. Turned out great. Loved the bed and bathroom. They have a bar @ 1st floor, no soccer games :-( The chieftains restaurant across the street made the difference for me.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very friendly, upgraded our room and got us a great view of the city. The room was very clean also. The bed was quite comfortable too.

The location can't be beat. Easy to get to with lots of restaurants nearby. I would highly recommend staying here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,107 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,090 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,554 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing