We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad and a couple of ugly's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad and a couple of ugly's”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is new, clean and fresh and have the majority of the amenities that you should be looking for like a good restaurant, a gym, a fancy bar and good size rooms with fantastic beds. Service is depending on what person you speak with and is ranging from average to very good. The 3 things that put me down was that first of all the sound from the outside was terrible. I was located on the 9th floor and the cars was constantly honking their horn on the street outside thru the whole day, the man who brought in the taxis was blowing his whistle, but the worst was the fire trucks. I don’t know if the hotel was located next to the fire station, but the extremely loud sirens woke me up several times both nights during my stay. It also was a bit further to walk than what I had expected. I was under the impression that it was located on Union Square, but in order to get to union square it’s about a 10 minute walk. Not that it’s terribly long to walk for 10 minutes, but there is not much to do right outside the hotel so you must walk a good 5-10 minutes to come to decent bars, restaurants and shops (but then you are in the dead center of it) I also find it surprising that they charge me a quite stiff price for using the internet. We are living in 2012 and in the same way as I don’t expected to be charged extra for the TV, using the water and the electricity, I don’t expect to be charged to use the internet. I didn’t try the breakfast, but it was quite expensive, looked fresh with a more “high-end” selection, but not a huge buffet.

All in all an ok stay, but due to the things menstioned above and the fact that I paid a pretty stiff price I’ll pick another hotel next time.

PS: Location I great for close access for the conference center.

Room Tip: Get a room high up due to the noise from the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerfectStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    970
    290
    96
    67
See reviews for
493
882
194
958
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in early March. Room was small but well decorated and comfortable, staff were helpful and eager to help. My complaints are minimal but reflect onareas where the hotel couple improve. The toilet flush handle was broken and hard to operate we informed the front desk but nothing was done to fix the problem. Towels were cheap and certainly not four star quality. I object to paying $15 a day for Wifi when even cheap motels include it in the cost of a $70 room. Agood hotel but it could be better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I was in San Francisco for a business conference and had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds were incredibly comfortable and I did not have one bad nights sleep. A Keurig coffee maker is provided in the room which I really enjoyed. The staff are all very attentive and helpful. The breakfast buffet, while pricey, is good. Location-wise, you're close to everything you could want to be close to. Use the concierge - they are very helpful and gave great recommendations. I enjoyed the city and I enjoyed my stay at The Intercontinental. I would definitely stay here again and am considering it next month when I'm bringing the kids for Spring Break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I came here for the weekend for a working vacation. This is a very nice property with friendly and attentive staff. It's quiet and close to everything. Nice large rooms and great club level facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 19 month old daughter during my husband's recent week long conference at the Muscone Center. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating to our families needs. Beautiful rooms. Lovely pool and spa. Great location for shopping on Market street and taking the trolley to Fisherman's Wharf. We even walked to AT&T stadium for a tour. Great hotel for both business and pleasure travel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

With a location a block from the Moscone Center and a couple of blocks from Union Square, this hotel is ideally located for visiting during a convention or large meeting. The rooms are great and totally functional, the gym is top notch and the service is great. This is my go to place in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the end wrap around rooms. If you can get one the views are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Good hotel in good location. Worth a visit. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,009 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing