We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but some staff let it down..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The previous weekend to staying at the Intercontinental San Francisco, I stayed at the sister hotel in SF, the Mark Hopkins on Nob Hill. This kind of spoilt me and made it hard for anything else to follow.

Likes:
The location for a start, it was two blocks away from Market Street, so made it convenient for shopping, eating, public transport.

The hotel was uber modern, room likewise, with big screen HDTV and Keurig coffee maker (albeit faulty), wouldnt make coffee, just hot water for tea, so tea it was.

The view from my corner room was stunning.. 180 degreee city views, with floor to ceiling windows, again, stunning...

Dislikes:
As I look like a remnant from a 70's rock band, I got treated like I shouldnt have been there, staff looked sideways, didnt know whether to speak. Unlike the Mark Hopkins up the road where you are treated like a star.

Lots of stuffy people around, black suits, curly wire ear pieces, looking important, with no interaction. Same with the doormen, a bit indifferent, sometimes you get a greeting, sometimes not, most of the time you have to open the door yourself.

A real noisy afterwork bar at the end of the lobby.

A real big one was you couldnt sleep in after 8am, because the housemaid servicing the rooms around you were in and out of the rooms letting the doors slam closed onto the extended dead bolt bar, to prevent the door shutting, so it was a constant, bang... bang... bang... In the end I just got up.

Same for putting your "do not disturb" on, the staff would still knock on the door, or ring you up, so no getting an afternoon napp.

The checking in/checking out process was uneventful, staff almost mechanical. Dont get me wrong, they werent rude, they were efficient, did their job well, just not particularly welcoming.

Im a Platinum Ambassador member with this chain and see lots of hotels in the Intercontinental group, this is a great hotel, let down by the lack of that personal warm experience, like you get up the road at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Musclebearnz,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,975)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,976 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for three days and everything went to plan. The hotel is well located and it's easy to get to all the main tourist sites. There are some nice small restaurants around a 10-15 minute walk away. Our room was a good size on the 12th floor with a reasonable view. The TV picture was also nice and clear unlike a few places we stayed on this trip. The bathroom was a good size with excellent water pressure. Check in was friendly and pleasant and check out was incredibly efficient. The only downside was the occasional noise from the nearby fire station. We did not eat at the hotel or use any of the facilities. If I could get a room here for the same price again I would definitely stay here again, the only reason for not giving it a 5/5 is a slight lack of wow factor compared to other places we stayed at on this trip for roughly the same price. We were concerned about poor service due to previous reviewers mentioning Expedia guests were not given much love. We did not share this experience during our stay and all our staff interactions were positive.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The staff at this hotel were exceptional, they advised on fantastic restaurants, day trips and even knew where I could get a decent manicure! Nothing was too much trouble and the club lounge was a pleasant spot for a pre-dinner drink, again with helpful and friendly staff who were polite and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and the hotel is centrally located.

Room Tip: Higher is always better, so see if you can get an upper floor... The views are lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms are clean and modern, flat screen tv, great surround view in corner rooms, the higher you go the view gets better. There is a mall Westfield that is about 5 minutes away walking, all kinds of food and really cool escalator.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views, very quite hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental with my 2 children for part of our spring break. The hotel is easy to get to and close to the Moscone center (I may come back next year for a conf!). I didn't use public transportation while at this hotel (I rented, parked, and paid the nutty parking fees!). I'm glad I rented a car since it rained hard for this leg of the trip. We ate breakfast buffet both mornings - very good. Staff were nice and helpful. The room clean. The view was nice - would have been better if it hadn't been raining so much! I enjoyed the hotel. Kids liked it too (and they are picky). I'd say it's really designed more as a conf hotel with its proximity to Moscone. It has a bar that I would have gone to if I had been meeting friends for drinks (instead of shuttling kids to various locations around town). I also stayed at the Westin SF on Market - and the Intercontinental is nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room...although it rained, view was nice!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbm5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location. Not far from the shopping mall and attractions in San Fran. Food was a bit pricey, but it's America - eat out!

Room Tip: Higher floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

nothing new , it is intercontinental standards. no special experience but clean and decent

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank future2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
5,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,292 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $241 - $974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing