We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Francisco
from US$171.00
More Info
from US$67.05
More Info
from US$69.00
More Info
from US$149.00
More Info
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
25
15
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
15
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden gate breathtaking views marin headlands military photos ggb bay wildlife bridge boats
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

An unplanned drive out to this side of the bridge but glad we did. Battery Yates is a neat piece of history you can explore and also provides some amazing perspectives on the bay and bridge. Fort Baker is a well preserved piece of history as well. It was like walking back in time onto an old wartime movie set.

Beautifully Preserved Piece of History. It's like stepping back in time to an old style Resort from the 20s (I guess even further back based on the history). So neat to see this piece of military history so well restored and re-utilized. Beautiful dining halls and lodges with an amazing open space in the middle, all with a breathtaking view of San Francisco, Golden Gate and the bay. We were just driving through and taking it in, but would love to stay here sometime.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank ttmt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Another great location to capture the magnificent view of the iconic Golden Gate Bridge and the skyline of San Francisco from the top of the Marin Headlands to the grounds of Fort Baker. There are also other places to go and enjoy your day.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank alcor1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

I've been to many places to view the Golden Gate Bridge, and this is my favorite. You are right under the bridge, and the natural scenery is great. Even in the height of summer there are very few people. It's peaceful and beautiful, and you can take your time without the crowds.

It is more windy than other places in the area, so be dressed warmly, even in summer. I had on a stocking cap and gloves in August, and they were needed. Afternoons are more likely to be sunny, if that's important to you, but the views even when it's overcast and foggy are still great.

While the views of the Bridge are great, all of the grounds are beautiful. There is a small marina and fishing pier in addition to the old military buidlings. I had a great time visiting with the fishermen, and seeing what they were catching.

I easily filled several hours here. I will definitely be coming back.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank mdw737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We did a cycling tour around San Francisco and over the Golden Gate Bridge and Fort Baker is underneath the bridge and well worth a stop. Interesting history!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

We recently stopped to view the Golden Gate Bridge. I had read about Fort Baker and knew it was close on the North Side. Heading north, you take the second exit (just past the vista exit), follow the signs to the San Francisco Recreational Area, from there you'll either find the Visitors Center (by the way those with National Park Passports can get a stamp here), or signs for Fort Baker. The drive to fort Baker affords several overlooks. While parking was scarce it is not nearly as crowded as the Vista, and the views are better. From these vantage points you get photos with the bridge and San Francisco Skyline in the background. Follow the road to Fort Baker from here you get photos from below the bridge. Here you can also get photos from a small marina that will include boats and the bridge. Where we viewed the bridge there were literally 10 of us on a huge pier, then only.3 of us on a rock outcropping overlooking the bridge.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Purdue_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews