We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Red Victorian LLC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Victorian LLC
Ranked #24 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 December 2015

I stayed in a hostel and private room. This place is amazing. If you are looking for a traditional hotel, look elsewhere, but if you read up on who they are via their website redvic.com, and know that you are coming into someone's home, you will be thrilled.

The rooms are clean with the most comfortable beds ever. It is like sleeping on a cloud. The Haight-Ashbury neighborhood is lively but really fun. Tons of great boutiques and cute restaurants. Almost NO CHAIN STORES anywhere and the Red Victorian is such a great part of that vibe.

You have to do your own dishes, but there is always great conversation in the kitchen so it is a pleasure. You may not know what event is happening during you stay but that's the best part of any adventure. You get to stay in a home but have your sheets changed every day!

Come here alone and make friends, it is like airbnb meets the world's most friendly hostel but even better.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quieter as is Earth Charter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2015

The Red Victorian describes itself as a collaborative living space, requesting you to fill out a form about yourself before they will accept you as a guest. They will then confirm your reservation, take your money and cancel your reservation the day before you are due to arrive, with no explanation, no telephone number to contact anyone. Just an email. For a community purporting to be supportive, interactive and collaborative, this is the total opposite - nobody living within a community would treat a fellow with such disrespect and outward disdain - our experience was nothing short of appalling. As we had to find alternative accommodation at less than 24 hours notice, I can't comment on the style and amenities as we didn't get to step inside and the rating is 1 as you have to give it something....

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

The Red Victorian room (Flower Child) was a standard room and was very clean. The area (Haight Street) was not the best at night and limited what we did after dark since we did not feel comfortable walking outside to get to anywhere local or to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany F, Manager at Red Victorian LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Hi Katie,
Thanks for this feedback! I can definitely understand how someone who isn't used to a city with a transient/homeless population could think that Haight St might be unsafe at night, but actually this is completely untrue. Our neighborhood is vibrant, with lots of music and gatherings, and friendly people from all over the world and all walks of life. It's one of the last truly 'San Francisco' neighborhoods because of this, and that's something we value having around. Also, with many bus lines within two blocks of our building, getting anywhere in the city is especially easy and safe. We really appreciate this insight, and in response are adding some useful information about the surrounding area in our FAQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Great people, location and atmosphere. If you are not into Hotel chains, this place is for you ! Visited before heading to Burning Man and was great to meet fellow burners. Shared space was great to share stories/experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krishna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

In choosing the Red Vic we were looking for a non-trad experience and we certainly got one. The common space on the first floor is more interesting and welcoming than any chain hotel. You can meet other travelers or the folks who reside here.
The rooms are akin to any nice, clean B&B. And we liked the range in rooms - some with bathrooms some with shared bathrooms and some with bunkbeds - hostel style. It's a big old house so voices travel but we didn't experience any overly loud people.
The staff here is really great. Our flight was cancelled and we were able to easily call and switch our stay to another night. You don't get that level of service at a big chain!!!
Full kitchen with TONS of food you are free to eat! Bike rental place next door gave us a deal for staying at Red Vic.
Lots of great eats within walking distance. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TDOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

If you want to stay in a place that really reflects the atmosphere of the Haight in a good way, this is it. My son and I, who prefer hotels with personality and character, love the Red Vic, wouldn't stay anywhere else to explore this region, but this wonderfully funky hotel definitely isn't for everyone. Checking in on a Sunday evening we were able to get free parking on Haight street right at the hotel's door step since the parking is free after 6 on Sunday until 9 AM on Monday. Single rooms are expensive. I paid $185 (tax included) for one night in a small room (no air conditioning but you're not likely to need it) with a shared bath that looked out on the Haight. Interior rooms are a little cheaper and quieter. Good restaurants, coffee shop and bars just steps from the hotel. We ate at a great Thai restaurant.There are shared rooms for $65 per night. The bed is wonderful, the hotel is clean, the guests are super friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Weybridgewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The Red Vic served its purpose...an affordable resting spot within an historic neighbourhood, with great eclectic food and shopping options nearby. The self-important profiles of the other residents will make your eyes roll back in your head, and for a place centered on communal living, the fellow residents were incredibly inconsiderate. The 11pm quiet-time curfew was not followed, and there was excessive loud talking and door slamming up and down the stairs (our room was adjacent to the stairs on the 1st floor). The smell of the recycling and garbage wafted up the stairs right into our room - not very pleasant.

The rooms are spartan but clean and comfortable...very nice beds and linens, with a little sink in our room. If we had a mirror in the room it could have saved us from having to use the communal bathroom so much.

I would recommend to anyone who wants to save a few bucks, and who doesn't mind sharing a bathroom with 4-5 other bedrooms, and who doesn't mind sleeping with earplugs firmly implanted.

Room Tip: away from the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wandernotlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
227 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
571 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
987 reviews
Union Square
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 72 in San Francisco
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Victorian LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Victorian LLC

Address: 1665 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2840 (Formerly Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $131 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Victorian LLC 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not your typical hotel! Staying at The Red Vic is more like coming home to family and friends than checking into a hotel. We are a community that values collaboration, participation, and connections. We ask you to fill out a profile so we can share that information about what you're up to with other guests and residents, facilitating interactions and collaborations. This is a participatory space, and we hope it will be a platform for your creative projects and ideas. What do you want to create? The ground floor is a member-supported 3rd space for projects, gatherings, events and activities. There is a communal kitchen that is always fully stocked with food for everyone to use. Guests are also encouraged to attend or host an event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast And Art
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing