We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$279
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$287
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Book now, pay at stay
US$395
US$351
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$506
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$299
Hotel Carlton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Francisco Financial District(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$336
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$259
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
39
53
28
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
53
28
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaight ashburyposter roomclose to golden gate parkunique decorstreet noiseneighborhoodsf
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2015

The Red Victorian describes itself as a collaborative living space, requesting you to fill out a form about yourself before they will accept you as a guest. They will then confirm your reservation, take your money and cancel your reservation the day before you are due to arrive, with no explanation, no telephone number to contact anyone. Just an email. For a community purporting to be supportive, interactive and collaborative, this is the total opposite - nobody living within a community would treat a fellow with such disrespect and outward disdain - our experience was nothing short of appalling. As we had to find alternative accommodation at less than 24 hours notice, I can't comment on the style and amenities as we didn't get to step inside and the rating is 1 as you have to give it something....

Room Tip: don't bother
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2015

The Red Victorian room (Flower Child) was a standard room and was very clean. The area (Haight Street) was not the best at night and limited what we did after dark since we did not feel comfortable walking outside to get to anywhere local or to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany F, Manager at Red Victorian LLC, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2016

Hi Katie,
Thanks for this feedback! I can definitely understand how someone who isn't used to a city with a transient/homeless population could think that Haight St might be unsafe at night, but actually this is completely untrue. Our neighborhood is vibrant, with lots of music and gatherings, and friendly people from all over the world and all walks of life. It's one of the last truly 'San Francisco' neighborhoods because of this, and that's something we value having around. Also, with many bus lines within two blocks of our building, getting anywhere in the city is especially easy and safe. We really appreciate this insight, and in response are adding some useful information about the surrounding area in our FAQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Great people, location and atmosphere. If you are not into Hotel chains, this place is for you ! Visited before heading to Burning Man and was great to meet fellow burners. Shared space was great to share stories/experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krishna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

In choosing the Red Vic we were looking for a non-trad experience and we certainly got one. The common space on the first floor is more interesting and welcoming than any chain hotel. You can meet other travelers or the folks who reside here.
The rooms are akin to any nice, clean B&B. And we liked the range in rooms - some with bathrooms some with shared bathrooms and some with bunkbeds - hostel style. It's a big old house so voices travel but we didn't experience any overly loud people.
The staff here is really great. Our flight was cancelled and we were able to easily call and switch our stay to another night. You don't get that level of service at a big chain!!!
Full kitchen with TONS of food you are free to eat! Bike rental place next door gave us a deal for staying at Red Vic.
Lots of great eats within walking distance. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TDOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

If you want to stay in a place that really reflects the atmosphere of the Haight in a good way, this is it. My son and I, who prefer hotels with personality and character, love the Red Vic, wouldn't stay anywhere else to explore this region, but this wonderfully funky hotel definitely isn't for everyone. Checking in on a Sunday evening we were able to get free parking on Haight street right at the hotel's door step since the parking is free after 6 on Sunday until 9 AM on Monday. Single rooms are expensive. I paid $185 (tax included) for one night in a small room (no air conditioning but you're not likely to need it) with a shared bath that looked out on the Haight. Interior rooms are a little cheaper and quieter. Good restaurants, coffee shop and bars just steps from the hotel. We ate at a great Thai restaurant.There are shared rooms for $65 per night. The bed is wonderful, the hotel is clean, the guests are super friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Weybridgewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews