We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Central Location - but not a place to walk at night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Ranked #104 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Central Location - but not a place to walk at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

There is plenty to see and do in this area, but it is not a pretty part of town and there are homeless people everywhere. The streets are filthy nearby and really not something I would recommend for female travelers.
Otherwise - it was as you would expect - clean and basic. The staff were accomodating and helped with advice.

Love the town and would certainly come back - just somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    263
    177
    52
    26
See reviews for
132
200
75
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

After we stayed over a week at a place that wasn't worthy of the name hotel, we were happy to return to this place.
1) They let you leave luggage even before your check-in, at no charge, this was very convenient for us because we had done a huge amount of shopping and we were going to Vegas for a couple of days and we wanted to travel light.
2) At daytimes, the desk people were very friendly. When we arrived on wednesday night, it was already late, around 8pm, the lady behind the night window was a lot more distant and short of words.
3) they tried to help us with printing our boarding tickets for our flights
4) wifi worked, the password worked and there was no problem whatsoever with it (at no extra charge)
The neighbourhood.
After having stayed on 16th and Mission, this neighborhood seemed a lot calmer, quieter, and more convenient as it was closer to downtown. I haven't noticed any more or less homeless people than in the rest of San Francisco. Especially towards the morning it was, due to its closeless to downtown, considerably noisier than 16th and Mission, but not in such a way that you couldn't get a good night rest.
The room.
The room was everything they promised it to be: 2 queensize beds, very spacious, clean, correct. coffeemaker, fridge, etc. The bathroom had a bath, but it wasn't very deep. It was very clean.
This is a nice place to stay, good price/quality and really close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwien_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stay here for 2 nights. We loved the location. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. The parking is free but limited. We parked and took transit everywhere. You could walk 3 blocks to to Van Ness(a main road) and hop on a bus that would take you to anywhere in the city you wanted to get to. If you dont mind walking you could walk to union square. It took us 20-25 mins. I wouldn't recommend walking down Eddy rd though. There is a coffee shop approx 6 blocks up Van Ness called "Philz". I got the best cup of tea I've ever had. My boyfriend loved his coffee. We went there every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccernumber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here on a business trip October of 2009. The location is close to the city center and close to our training class but I will never stay on Grove Street ever again! There were homeless people everywhere and I never felt safe getting in or out of my car at night. Although I was in San Fran for 3 nights I came back early all three nights and ate dinner in my room. The room was typical for a Days Inn but decently clean and even had a tiny elevator so that you won't have to climb stairs. Although the hotel itself is fine, I can't recommend this one because of the location. If you are a single woman on a business trip, do yourself a favor and don't let your company HR book you this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VALovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn on Grove St. for a week in late June/ early July while we attended the Ring Cycle at the SFO. The hotel is accessible to public Transportation--about six blocks to the Civic Center BART and well situated for various bus lines. The hotel is a mere two blocks from the Opera House in an area that seems to be a lot better than many other SF downtown areas, surrounded by many, many good restaurants. At night, the street is busy with patrons walking to the various parking lots.

While the exterior of the hotel screams motor inn, the room was comfortable, quiet, spotless and spacious, equipped with a fridge and microwave. The staff was superb: friendly, helpful, courteous and willing to go the extra mile if you asked for assistance.

We're definitely staying here the next time we go to SF.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ringnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Generally, a good stay here. We stayed for 2 nights.

The service at reception was quick and friendly. The guy who was on the desk when we checked in was really helpful and gave us loads of maps etc. The car park was a bit on the small size but once we were there everything was within walking distance or we used public transport so it was fine. There are frequent busses from just outside to Downtown and its also under a 5 min walk to VanNess MUNI. I reccomend getting a MUNI passport to get around San Francisco, especially if going on the cable cars. I reccomend walking back at night via Van Ness Avenue rather than via the Civic Center as a lot of degenerates seem to hang around the Civic Center after dark.

Back to the room, it was clean, there was a large bathroom, the bed was comfy and it was quiet at night. There was aircon. I had no complaints with the room at all.

Breakfast was generous, there were plenty of things to choose from.

Room Tip: I have put
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuao, cagayan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Days Inn at the Civic Center is nothing special. It is just like any other Days Inn with dated furniture and funny-smelling room. However, the location is very convenient and the parking is big enough to accomodate the guests' vehicles. The bus/train stop is within walking distance. The neighborhood "seems" safe even late in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannyandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#37 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#166 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#114 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Hayes Valley
Hayes Valley Inn
Hayes Valley Inn
#13 of 76 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Property: Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Address: 465 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing