We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Accomodation near the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Ranked #95 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Standard Accomodation near the City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed here over a year ago, but it was a safe place to stay with just what we needed - a bed, shower, coffee and near town at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    287
    189
    52
    27
See reviews for
153
216
80
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We try to get this motel every time we visit SF, but the rates are pretty variable so when we can get a good deal here we are always happy to come back. It is not fancy, but it is just a nice little place and we always have a great stay.

The best part is the location in Hayes Valley. It is such a nice little neighborhood with great restaurants, coffee shops, and boutique stores. You can walk to the civic center, or take buses from nearby and we always were able to flag a cab. There is free parking and we've always gotten a spot, then we don't move the vehicle all weekend and take public transit. The building is set back from the road to accommodate the parking lot, so that gives a nice buffer from street noise. We like sitting outside the rooms and looking at the city - there are a couple landings that you can hang out on.

The one bed rooms are a little small but they are comfortable. The bathroom is pretty large, and was decent. I have had the 2 bed rooms here, and they are much larger and have a wet bar. The beds are comfortable and firm.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds are a lot larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

There is plenty to see and do in this area, but it is not a pretty part of town and there are homeless people everywhere. The streets are filthy nearby and really not something I would recommend for female travelers.
Otherwise - it was as you would expect - clean and basic. The staff were accomodating and helped with advice.

Love the town and would certainly come back - just somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

After we stayed over a week at a place that wasn't worthy of the name hotel, we were happy to return to this place.
1) They let you leave luggage even before your check-in, at no charge, this was very convenient for us because we had done a huge amount of shopping and we were going to Vegas for a couple of days and we wanted to travel light.
2) At daytimes, the desk people were very friendly. When we arrived on wednesday night, it was already late, around 8pm, the lady behind the night window was a lot more distant and short of words.
3) they tried to help us with printing our boarding tickets for our flights
4) wifi worked, the password worked and there was no problem whatsoever with it (at no extra charge)
The neighbourhood.
After having stayed on 16th and Mission, this neighborhood seemed a lot calmer, quieter, and more convenient as it was closer to downtown. I haven't noticed any more or less homeless people than in the rest of San Francisco. Especially towards the morning it was, due to its closeless to downtown, considerably noisier than 16th and Mission, but not in such a way that you couldn't get a good night rest.
The room.
The room was everything they promised it to be: 2 queensize beds, very spacious, clean, correct. coffeemaker, fridge, etc. The bathroom had a bath, but it wasn't very deep. It was very clean.
This is a nice place to stay, good price/quality and really close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwien_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stay here for 2 nights. We loved the location. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. The parking is free but limited. We parked and took transit everywhere. You could walk 3 blocks to to Van Ness(a main road) and hop on a bus that would take you to anywhere in the city you wanted to get to. If you dont mind walking you could walk to union square. It took us 20-25 mins. I wouldn't recommend walking down Eddy rd though. There is a coffee shop approx 6 blocks up Van Ness called "Philz". I got the best cup of tea I've ever had. My boyfriend loved his coffee. We went there every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccernumber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here on a business trip October of 2009. The location is close to the city center and close to our training class but I will never stay on Grove Street ever again! There were homeless people everywhere and I never felt safe getting in or out of my car at night. Although I was in San Fran for 3 nights I came back early all three nights and ate dinner in my room. The room was typical for a Days Inn but decently clean and even had a tiny elevator so that you won't have to climb stairs. Although the hotel itself is fine, I can't recommend this one because of the location. If you are a single woman on a business trip, do yourself a favor and don't let your company HR book you this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn on Grove St. for a week in late June/ early July while we attended the Ring Cycle at the SFO. The hotel is accessible to public Transportation--about six blocks to the Civic Center BART and well situated for various bus lines. The hotel is a mere two blocks from the Opera House in an area that seems to be a lot better than many other SF downtown areas, surrounded by many, many good restaurants. At night, the street is busy with patrons walking to the various parking lots.

While the exterior of the hotel screams motor inn, the room was comfortable, quiet, spotless and spacious, equipped with a fridge and microwave. The staff was superb: friendly, helpful, courteous and willing to go the extra mile if you asked for assistance.

We're definitely staying here the next time we go to SF.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Property: Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Address: 465 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing