We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
401
306
88
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
306
88
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japan town fillmore street shabu shabu yoga mat quiet area pacific heights balcony room wine hour great neighborhood fire pit front desk staff restaurants and shops rooms are large very pleasant stay complimentary wine boutique hotel bathroom door
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 829 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Our stay was booked thru a travel agent. There were no issues upon our arrival. The front desk agent saw in our reservation that we were celebrating mile stone birthdays and they sent a bottle of wine of our choosing up to our room.

We were able to check in early and leave our bags after checking out as we had a late flight out of the city. The room had a yoga mat for guests to use. We had the best sleep! Iced water available all day in the lobby along with good coffee in the morning and iced teas in the afternoon.

Once we returned home I called the hotel and asked them to mail me copies of the street maps. Even though I offered to pay, the front office manager took care of everything and promptly mailed the maps to me in a tube to ensure that they didn't get bent or wrinkled.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmschmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

What a lovely review to read! Thank you, cmschmitty. I have just emailed the manager to congratulate her on getting caught doing the right thing and taking great care of your map request. I'm happy but not surprised to hear that she handled it as she would have for a friend :). We will also thank the hardworking team members who manage the morning coffee and summertime iced tea. I'm glad those did the trick for you during your stay. Happy birthday once again and hope to see you for the next one, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Great hotel at the heart of Japantown and within a short walk from bars and restaurants on Fillmore. The restaurant specialises in shabu-shabu and offers a Japanese breakfast alongside more traditional fare. Complimentary glass of wine in the evening with other guests is a nice touch! Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TPS_Rissanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Well, thank you very much, TPS_Rissanen! I like the image of you relaxing at our nightly manager-hosted reception with a nice glass of wine, mingling with other guests. For just one more month, we are also featuring two summertime additions: rose wine and a vodka spritzer, with a portion of proceeds from that spirit going to the Trevor Project. So let us welcome you back again some time between now and Labor Day :)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Had a very comfortable stay and the management there are so accommodating - enjoyed the free wine and the food in their restaurant was really fresh and tasty.
I would recommend this boutique hotel to stay in for everyone with and without family a great experience
Very well located in Japan town where sushi is also around the corner and the supermarket and great breakfast place called Sweet Maple

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nitin_grandstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Yum, Sweet Maple is so good! The Fillmore Bakeshop is also amazing for a pastry or quiche and coffee on the go. For sushi, I like to recommend Kippu, which is less than a block away between the Hotel and the Peace Plaza Pagoda. I'm glad you enjoyed exploring the neighborhood and also visiting Mums restaurant right here under our roof. Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking to avoid the busy touristic accommodation spots, get the feel of the SF vibe and still be to the hot spots and destinations, then Kimpton Buchanan is the place to be. We loved the location, the atmosphere, the restaurants around, the great welcoming staff that shared all the great places to visit and be. Big thanks to Rey, who gave us great ideas for dinning which we all checked and loved.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank VenetaLora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thanks so much, VenetaLora! I have just sent a big thank you over to Rey and congratulated him in front of his peers. I know he'll be happy to see your comments and know that he made a difference in your visit to lovely San Francisco.
We do indeed pride ourselves on being out of the hustle and bustle while also very convenient. Thanks for noticing that, and appreciating the Buchanan as a home base!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We have used Kimpton hotels previously in Philadelphia, Boston and NYC. We selected Kimpton initially because their web site says they are pet friendly. We have found in each Kimpton including the Buchanan that they are pet friendly to the superlative degree. We travel with our two cats. The Kimpton In Boston actually had a litter box set up in our room upon our arrival. In comparison other hotels are merely pet tolerant. Kimptons are truly pet friendly. The Buchanan is a little less formal than the Kimpton’s on the East coast, but that was perfect for SFC. Their self- parking garage allowed us to unload and load our own car at our own pace without feeling pressured at the front door with a valet who is helping the best he can while guests are stacking up behind him. The front desk personnel and house keeping at the Buchanan are fantastic. Everyone was always extremely pleasant, friendly and ready to help. Located in Japan Town the restaurant at the Buchanan offered on Saturday night a Shabu Shabu meal that was one of the highlights of our 5 days in SFC. We will definitely return to the Kimpton Buchanan anytime we are in SFC.

Room Tip: Room 416 was excellent. It is a corner room with views on two sides. King size.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Speed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Thanks, Speed C! I'm so glad that you're a big fan now and eager to return. I'll be sure to share this feedback with the team as well. They'll be happy to read that the hotel felt welcoming to all two- and four-legged folks (with the alternative of a non-pet floor for those who are allergic :) ). See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews