We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“that hotel realy nice & vew is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #111 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Dhaka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“that hotel realy nice & vew is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

that hotel really nice & view is excellent
we there last year at April
we enjoy a lot in that hotel

Room Tip: corner suits are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    488
    290
    89
    56
See reviews for
306
378
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stay at a lot of Choice Hotels throughout the year and have yet to be disappointed any of them. The Comfort Inn by the Bay is a very nice property in an excellent location convenient to many attractions. We used our Choice Points and were upgraded to a wonderful view of the Golden Gate Bridge. If you're not a member of their hotel loyalty program you're really missing a great deal! Our room was very clean and fresh. We appreciated that this is a smoke-free property. As usual the breakfast was very good, lots of offerings including those yummy waffles. Spacious breakfast room made it easy to move about even when very busy. But what is always a stand-out for us is a warm, friendly staff and the Comfort Inn by the Bay had some of the nicest.

Room Tip: Upgrade to higher room with a view of the San Francisco Bay and enjoy the sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotels location is great. We were in SF to watch the 75th birthday of the Golden Gate Bridge fireworks. We could walk to all the events. We paid extra and got a view of the bridge from our room. The bad part was there was bird poop on our window and it was so dirty you could barely see out. Come on, if you charge extra for a view wash the windows!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mszozobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

complimentary breakfast coffe available reasonable furnishing view not good from 3rd floor reminded me of vertigo looking into stircase adjoining raher unhelpful reception staff porterage needs improvement

Room Tip: ask forrooms in higher floors not overlooking into adjoining property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late May. Booked a room with a view of the bay. The room was nice and clean, the desk people were very nice and helpful. Parking was extra and not guaranteed to have a spot, but we never had an issue. It was very close to Fishermans Wharf and the bus lines. I would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very slow check in, medium rooms and you better be sure you understand the rates you will be charged when you check in. Convenient location but i am not sure i would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We are seaoned travellers worldwide, stayed in 5 star luxery hotels to 2 star basic hotels so we recognise good or poor service standards when we see it, that said the Comfort Inn by the Bay was a very good hotel it was value for money, clean with a breakfast thrown in.

Although were from the U.K it didn't take us long to work out the menu at breakfast, plenty to fill you up for the morning until lunch and plenty of choice. the hotel s in an ideal position for getting aound because when we are on city breaks we walk everywhere so this was perfectly located for all major attractions in San Fransisco.

All in all a good comfortable stay, staff pleasant and helpful, perhaps the staff at the The Pensylvania, opp Madison Sq. Gardens, New York should visit this hotel to see how it's done.
San Fransisco itself loved it, amazing trip, met lot's of helpful locals alcatraz trip will be etched in my memory forever, the walk across the Golden Gate Bridge to Salsillito is well woth the effort.

Den & Angela

Room Tip: Try a walk to Salsalitto, definately don't miss a trip to Alcatraz Island, also don't make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Den G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMF_SFO, Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We look forward to seeing you again -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing