We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$269
US$249
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$309
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$395
US$305
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Villa Florence(San Francisco)
US$221
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,003)
Filter reviews
4,003 results
Traveller rating
761
1,812
975
286
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
1,812
975
286
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingdenny's restaurantsecond buildinggreat locationbeach streethollywood cafecable carghirardelli squarefishermans wharfwithin walking distancef lineshort walktwo double bedsstayed here for nightsthe golden gate bridgetwo blocksstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,537 - 2,542 of 4,003 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great location! Walking distance to everything! Rooms were clean though the wallpaper was discolored and peeling in the corner. Parking was great, though costly, like everywhere in SF. Really nice people and fast check in. I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julann71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival. Myself, husband and 12year old son were staying 2 nights. Rooms were good size, clean and comfortable.There was tea and coffee in our room. Location was great for pier 39, trams and alcatraz. we ate at the restaurant and disagree with any negative views that we had read prior to our visit, children ate free, our meal included huge salad bar selection and total cost was very reasonable, think about $40 with wine. We would have eaten there again definately. Wi fi in rooms free of charge which worked well. Hotel has very modern feel about it and is spacious in lobby. We didt have breakfast there but it looked lovely.
Only down side was parking cost which was just over $40 a night, however we found a multistorey carpark in the next street which charged $20 a night tourist rate as we had previously seen mentioned on trip advisor. The car was secure and we had unlimited times to take car in and out.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

BIg 5-0 and 5-5 birthdays for my husband and I this year, so we decided to celebrate in San Francisco. We booked our air and hotel through AAA. Because of the great price, we were slightly apprehensive about the accommodations. However, upon arrival at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf, we were more than pleased!! Our shuttle from the airport dropped us off at the front desk of the main hotel (there are two buildings). Our flight from MN got us into town much earlier than the posted "check-in" time, yet the front desk staff was able to get us a room on the top floor of the second building (just around the block). We were thrilled to find that it faced the bay and we had a good view of Alcatraz. The room was very clean, the TV was brand new, the linens were always fresh (even though we hung them up to be re-used), the bed was comfy, and the free Wifi was fairly fast (just remember that the code changes when the month does). Though we didn't interact with the staff all that often, when we did, they were very pleasant/helpful. There's a Denny's in the second building, but you should really eat out and about, as there are so many excellent places to choose from. The Holiday Inn is within walking distance of oh so many wharf attractions. We stayed for 5 days and only rented a car for one of those (Enterprise is about 5 blocks away). The Hop-on/Hop-off buses are a great way to see (and learn about) SF so are the bay tours. Pier 39, Scoma's (for dinner), Boudin Bakery (sourdough is delicious), Ghiradelli (free chocolate bar every time you walk in), Pier 23 Cafe (a Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives pick), Alcatraz (awesome audio tour), cable car ride, wine country tour, Lombard Street, Painted Ladies, and Muir Woods are all must-sees! Thank you Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf for making our stay in SF carefree and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrizzlyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and I have always been impressed. The rooms are clean and big and service is excellent. The location is awesome, 2-3 blocks away from Ghirardeli Square and Buena vista cafe (IRISH COFFEE!) and 2-3 blocks in the other direction to Pier 39 and Fisherman's wharf. The only minor problem is that its a super touristy area, so somethings are way overpriced (e.g. $3 for a water bottle), but that is typical in all other tourist areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel for first time visitors to SF, as well as families, couples, friends, and business trips because they have excellent customer service and the location is superb. But if you have been to San Francisco before and are kind of sick of the touristy area then it is a safer bet to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We were sent to the Beach St. building which is about 2 blocks away from all the restraints and very close to the piers. Also 1 block away was the major bus stops to take us to the piers further away. We did not want to rent a car because we heard about the price of parking and was very happy we didn't rent a car because everything was in walking distance.

The hotel was kind enough to hold our luggage (since we arrived super early for check in), early check in, changed our room to a king size bed (because I accidental ordered 2 double beds), and late check out for no additional fee.

The room was a good size, compared to other hotels we've been to it is kind of out dated in style, but who cares. The sheets were clean, no bed bugs, plenty of towels and a working A/C, Heater. The bed was also very comfy and we had a flat screen TV with free HBO. As for the noise level being so close to fishermen's wharf. Had no problem sleeping and didn't hear any noise from the outside. Our room was by an exit so we did hear the exit door slam but it didn't really bother me nor my husband.

My one and only complaint would be the 1 rude bell boy, I wish I had his name so I can put him on blast but he was very rude and we were happy we only saw him our first day and never saw him again. The older bell men are very kind and helpful (just the bell boy with long braided hair is very rude and has a very bad attitude).

Overall:
Hotel is in a great location and is clean and has very helpful and kind staff (minus the 1 rude bell boy).

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you are staying in the Columbus building or Beach building, if you don't want to walk 1 block with your luggage.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews