We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC location....but beware if you have a vehicle...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Ranked #91 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC location....but beware if you have a vehicle...”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Positives....the LOCATION....this hotel is literally one block up from the wharf and all there is to do and see there. Restaurants, tours, trolley and public bus stops, a drugstore, grocery mart...it's all right there. If you do not have a vehicle this is a great, great spot.

Overall, the staff was friendly and the check in/out process took but a minute each.

The Negatives....$40 plus tax to park a vehicle per night....made the "deal" we'd gotten on price-line not such a "deal" afterall....(there are some hotels in the city that don't charge at all to park, and then many that advertise the price ahead of time). It was a surprise for us, and an unwelcome one at that since we never even used the car our entire stay and would not have even rented one had we known about this crazy charge. A taxi fare would have been far far less from the airport. Live and learn....

The rooms are a bit outdated. There are actually two buildings, we were put in the remote one, (away from our parked car meaning you had to load and unload your stuff and have someone wait with it while you parked since only eight spots were located at the second building and they were never vacant the entire stay) Our room needed some upkeep. Examples: Our drain wouldn't close in the restroom sink. (which made putting drinks on ice impossible as there wasn't a fridge) and in fact the whole piece came out in my hand when I pulled it up. Our tub didn't drain well at all. (yuck!) The light on the nightstand flickered off and on when you bumped the nightstand at all. And worst for me was the outlet in the bathroom sparked and zapped my hair dryer (a relatively new $150 model!) the first time I plugged it in so I had to throw it away. Something must have been up with the wiring in our room.

Overall the room was clean, though things like grates above the shower were filthy with dust and sludge...(little things that anal people notice). In terms of the cleaning staff, the lotions/shampoo etc. used were never replenished and they were super loud with the banging of doors as they cleaned each day. (We have an infant so quiet was a necessity.)

Lastly, the holiday inn express next door has a free breakfast buffet...for around the same price, and our hotel offered none. I know this is standard for this line, and knew this when checking in. I was excited when I saw there was a Denny's in the building HOWEVER they jacked up the prices to almost double a typical Denny's so we chose to eat elsewhere. It was nearly vacant each time we passed, so it seemed others felt the same way.

The location saved this hotel for us. But next time we'll probably choose the Holiday Inn Express or another location nearby. :)

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildcatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear wildcatsu,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and are glad to hear you were happy with the convenient hotel location and our friendly staff. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    1,669
    900
    259
    151
See reviews for
1,155
1,320
108
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location! Walking distance to everything! Rooms were clean though the wallpaper was discolored and peeling in the corner. Parking was great, though costly, like everywhere in SF. Really nice people and fast check in. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julann71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival. Myself, husband and 12year old son were staying 2 nights. Rooms were good size, clean and comfortable.There was tea and coffee in our room. Location was great for pier 39, trams and alcatraz. we ate at the restaurant and disagree with any negative views that we had read prior to our visit, children ate free, our meal included huge salad bar selection and total cost was very reasonable, think about $40 with wine. We would have eaten there again definately. Wi fi in rooms free of charge which worked well. Hotel has very modern feel about it and is spacious in lobby. We didt have breakfast there but it looked lovely.
Only down side was parking cost which was just over $40 a night, however we found a multistorey carpark in the next street which charged $20 a night tourist rate as we had previously seen mentioned on trip advisor. The car was secure and we had unlimited times to take car in and out.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

BIg 5-0 and 5-5 birthdays for my husband and I this year, so we decided to celebrate in San Francisco. We booked our air and hotel through AAA. Because of the great price, we were slightly apprehensive about the accommodations. However, upon arrival at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf, we were more than pleased!! Our shuttle from the airport dropped us off at the front desk of the main hotel (there are two buildings). Our flight from MN got us into town much earlier than the posted "check-in" time, yet the front desk staff was able to get us a room on the top floor of the second building (just around the block). We were thrilled to find that it faced the bay and we had a good view of Alcatraz. The room was very clean, the TV was brand new, the linens were always fresh (even though we hung them up to be re-used), the bed was comfy, and the free Wifi was fairly fast (just remember that the code changes when the month does). Though we didn't interact with the staff all that often, when we did, they were very pleasant/helpful. There's a Denny's in the second building, but you should really eat out and about, as there are so many excellent places to choose from. The Holiday Inn is within walking distance of oh so many wharf attractions. We stayed for 5 days and only rented a car for one of those (Enterprise is about 5 blocks away). The Hop-on/Hop-off buses are a great way to see (and learn about) SF so are the bay tours. Pier 39, Scoma's (for dinner), Boudin Bakery (sourdough is delicious), Ghiradelli (free chocolate bar every time you walk in), Pier 23 Cafe (a Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives pick), Alcatraz (awesome audio tour), cable car ride, wine country tour, Lombard Street, Painted Ladies, and Muir Woods are all must-sees! Thank you Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf for making our stay in SF carefree and enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrizzlyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and I have always been impressed. The rooms are clean and big and service is excellent. The location is awesome, 2-3 blocks away from Ghirardeli Square and Buena vista cafe (IRISH COFFEE!) and 2-3 blocks in the other direction to Pier 39 and Fisherman's wharf. The only minor problem is that its a super touristy area, so somethings are way overpriced (e.g. $3 for a water bottle), but that is typical in all other tourist areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel for first time visitors to SF, as well as families, couples, friends, and business trips because they have excellent customer service and the location is superb. But if you have been to San Francisco before and are kind of sick of the touristy area then it is a safer bet to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We were sent to the Beach St. building which is about 2 blocks away from all the restraints and very close to the piers. Also 1 block away was the major bus stops to take us to the piers further away. We did not want to rent a car because we heard about the price of parking and was very happy we didn't rent a car because everything was in walking distance.

The hotel was kind enough to hold our luggage (since we arrived super early for check in), early check in, changed our room to a king size bed (because I accidental ordered 2 double beds), and late check out for no additional fee.

The room was a good size, compared to other hotels we've been to it is kind of out dated in style, but who cares. The sheets were clean, no bed bugs, plenty of towels and a working A/C, Heater. The bed was also very comfy and we had a flat screen TV with free HBO. As for the noise level being so close to fishermen's wharf. Had no problem sleeping and didn't hear any noise from the outside. Our room was by an exit so we did hear the exit door slam but it didn't really bother me nor my husband.

My one and only complaint would be the 1 rude bell boy, I wish I had his name so I can put him on blast but he was very rude and we were happy we only saw him our first day and never saw him again. The older bell men are very kind and helpful (just the bell boy with long braided hair is very rude and has a very bad attitude).

Overall:
Hotel is in a great location and is clean and has very helpful and kind staff (minus the 1 rude bell boy).

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you are staying in the Columbus building or Beach building, if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel very good location near Fisherman Wharf. Behind the hotel there is Walgreen which is very convenient if you need something to buy. Fisherman wharf is only a block away, and couples block away from Pier 39, the main attraction in harbour. The tram stop is at the back of hotel, in front of walgreen. easy to reach downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing