We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It is a good hotel at a fairly good location. Price is slightly on the high side.Easy to catch bus and cable car. Room is comfortable.TV reception was bad and internet was very slow. Overall, i am satisfied with this hotel . ( I chose this hotel based on reviews initially by others )

Intending visitors should also compare the Holiday Inn near the fisherman's wharf.

recommendation for first time visitors to San Francisco:

1.Take the Shared-Van from the airport directly to hotel .it costs only USD 17/=. You dont have to pre book .
2.Buy the 3- day MUNI pass for unlimited travel on buses and cable cars.( i decided to buy this even though i only had 1.5 days and i gave this pass to a stranger in the hotel when i checked out )

Enjoy your stay in SFO .It is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    830
    420
    105
    63
See reviews for
440
605
124
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

End of the Street car line was by the hotel which was handy.
Hotel very basic. Room in need of refurb but quite big and comfortable. The wardrobe was a pole between 2 pillars basically just outside the bathroom door. On our first night, after a long flight, we went to the restaurant and went straight out as food all over the floor and tables. Appeared more to be like a roadside transport cafe.
We were only in San Francisco for 3 nights so spent very little time in the hotel as there was a lot for us to do and see so we were up early and out and back late afternoon and then out again for dinner.
San Francisco is a fantastic city and this hotel was average and ok for our short stay. Glad we only had 3 nights there though as this was enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalkers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego,Ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nice location and the rooms were clean. Only issue was that the windows are a little bit thin and you can hear more than usual outside. Comfortable beds as well!!! Would stay here again when in Frisco...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years and have seen its ups and downs. Currently, the hotel and staff are the best the have ever been. We booked our room early with a promotion from the hotel and received a room rate of $109.00 and free parking (usually $38.00). The cable car stop is steps away--buy a MUNI Passport in the hotel gift shop--and the bus line is one block away. Most restaurants and sightseeing are accessible from the easy-to-use MUNI system saving tired feet in this city on many hills. We enjoyed the in-room coffee and daily newspaper. The staff was friendly, professional, and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible for better views. We like the view from the Chinatown side be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

First off... something I've learned along the way... WAY people will take the time to write a review in the midst of anger. SO... for every bad review, imagine about 10 good ones that never were written.

We just returned from a 5 day stay - a family vacation - at the Golden Gateway Holiday Inn. It was my husband, myself, my 4 year old and 1 year old. We booked on priceline, and the price could not be beat! We were on the 23rd floor, and OMG, the VIEW!!! Gorgeous! We could see the Bay Bridge from our hotel!
The room was small, but fine. We didn't spend much time there anyway.
TIP: City Car Rentals was just around the corner. We rented a car, and returned to the Holiday Inn Parking Garage. We did rent a car for 2 days so we could go to Monterey and Muir woods. Parking was $45 a night at the hotel! Outrageous! My husband found free street parking around the corner.
Starbucks is right next door. I LOVED this! Every morning, I would run down, get my daughters some milk and a healthy breakfast and they ate while we got ready for the day.
The cable car stop is 10 steps away from the door. SO EASY! Just take it all the way to the end at Pier 1, then hop on the F train to get to Fishermans Wharf and Pier 39. You can buy the metro pass right at the gift shop of the hotel. Children 4 and under travel free which was a huge bonus to us! There was nothing that would deter me from this hotel. It was clean, staff was friendly and the location was dynamite! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better view, but ask for a higher floor with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Yes there is noise on Van Ness, but, rooms are nice,staff friendly and cordial,1 block from California Street cable car terminus, and many good local restaurants 1 block away on Polk Street.Buy the three day SF city transportation pass and leave the car off the agenda if u can.One more thing IF you book an airport shuttle BEWARE of Lorries. 1 hour wait at the terminal on arrival and unable to contact them to confirm return. We used BAY SHUTTLE on the airport return..ON TIME with great service.

Room Tip: High floors great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efandb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn SF Golden Gateway for a 49er playoff game. The location is so convenient. We parked the car in the garage and never moved it until we were ready to leave. The ball park express Muni stop is only 1 block away. One of my favorite restaurants, The Woodhouse Fish Co. is less than a mile away and very easy to get to by Muni.
Room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing