We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$338
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,012)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveller rating
456
920
453
111
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
920
453
111
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan nesscable carpolk streetaround the cornercalifornia stoutdoor poolfisherman's wharfcorner roompublic transportmuni passhigh floorday passunion squaregolden gatestayed here for nightsroom keycity view
Filter
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

End of the Street car line was by the hotel which was handy.
Hotel very basic. Room in need of refurb but quite big and comfortable. The wardrobe was a pole between 2 pillars basically just outside the bathroom door. On our first night, after a long flight, we went to the restaurant and went straight out as food all over the floor and tables. Appeared more to be like a roadside transport cafe.
We were only in San Francisco for 3 nights so spent very little time in the hotel as there was a lot for us to do and see so we were up early and out and back late afternoon and then out again for dinner.
San Francisco is a fantastic city and this hotel was average and ok for our short stay. Glad we only had 3 nights there though as this was enough at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalkers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice location and the rooms were clean. Only issue was that the windows are a little bit thin and you can hear more than usual outside. Comfortable beds as well!!! Would stay here again when in Frisco...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years and have seen its ups and downs. Currently, the hotel and staff are the best the have ever been. We booked our room early with a promotion from the hotel and received a room rate of $109.00 and free parking (usually $38.00). The cable car stop is steps away--buy a MUNI Passport in the hotel gift shop--and the bus line is one block away. Most restaurants and sightseeing are accessible from the easy-to-use MUNI system saving tired feet in this city on many hills. We enjoyed the in-room coffee and daily newspaper. The staff was friendly, professional, and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible for better views. We like the view from the Chinatown side best. Some corner rooms (a little more expensive) also have views of the Golden Gate Bridge, but they are smaller rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2012

First off... something I've learned along the way... WAY people will take the time to write a review in the midst of anger. SO... for every bad review, imagine about 10 good ones that never were written.

We just returned from a 5 day stay - a family vacation - at the Golden Gateway Holiday Inn. It was my husband, myself, my 4 year old and 1 year old. We booked on priceline, and the price could not be beat! We were on the 23rd floor, and OMG, the VIEW!!! Gorgeous! We could see the Bay Bridge from our hotel!
The room was small, but fine. We didn't spend much time there anyway.
TIP: City Car Rentals was just around the corner. We rented a car, and returned to the Holiday Inn Parking Garage. We did rent a car for 2 days so we could go to Monterey and Muir woods. Parking was $45 a night at the hotel! Outrageous! My husband found free street parking around the corner.
Starbucks is right next door. I LOVED this! Every morning, I would run down, get my daughters some milk and a healthy breakfast and they ate while we got ready for the day.
The cable car stop is 10 steps away from the door. SO EASY! Just take it all the way to the end at Pier 1, then hop on the F train to get to Fishermans Wharf and Pier 39. You can buy the metro pass right at the gift shop of the hotel. Children 4 and under travel free which was a huge bonus to us! There was nothing that would deter me from this hotel. It was clean, staff was friendly and the location was dynamite! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better view, but ask for a higher floor with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Yes there is noise on Van Ness, but, rooms are nice,staff friendly and cordial,1 block from California Street cable car terminus, and many good local restaurants 1 block away on Polk Street.Buy the three day SF city transportation pass and leave the car off the agenda if u can.One more thing IF you book an airport shuttle BEWARE of Lorries. 1 hour wait at the terminal on arrival and unable to contact them to confirm return. We used BAY SHUTTLE on the airport return..ON TIME with great service.

Room Tip: High floors great views
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efandb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews