We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I splurged for our 32nd Anniversary at this hotel so we could get a Suite. Location is great. Fly into SFO or OAK. Take the BART to the Embarcadero Station and you are there. The wonderful San Francisco Ferry Terminal Building is a across the street. What a great selection of foodie vendors and stands. Don't miss the Cowgirl Creamery grilled cheese sandwich. It is an easy walk to the Union Square shopping area and North Beach scene as well.

Our big disappointment was the really lousy service we had in the restaurant for Sunday breakfast. There seemed to be only one waiter on duty and the coffee, juice and water person was pretty scarce and did seem to be very happy. The food was unremarkable, but that is what you get from a buffet anywhere. Breakfast service on Monday morning was exactly the opposite. It was excellent.

The lesser disappointments were no replenishment of the coffee service in the room and having to pay 9.95/day for internet. Give me a break - when paying $262 for a room, they can throw in the internet service.

These were alleviated when we were checking out. We rode down in the elevator with a man in Hyatt polo shirt. He asked how the stay was. My wife answered her usual "fine." I answered with "disappointing." He immediately followed up and then asked if he could check us out. It turns out he was the Executive VP for Housekeeping. He took down the list of concerns and then removed the $5 tip for the lousy breakfast service and another $100 for taking the time to let him know our concerns. THAT MY FRIENDS IS HOW TO RUN A BUSINESS.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomscot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear tomscot2 from Poway, California:

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our Executive Housekeeper was able to turn things around during your stay. It is definitely each staff member's goal to delight every guest with exceptional experience and we apologize for any inconvenience.

We hope to welcome you back soon and please feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you with your travels.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    1,437
    671
    251
    116
See reviews for
769
1,080
180
1,518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a very good hotel that is centrally located within San Francisco. It was easy to get just about anywhere in the city within a few minutes. The hotel is situated such that half of the rooms have a bay view. I highly recommend getting a room with a bay view. My room was on the 16th floor in the Regency Club section, so it had an incredible view of the bay and bridge. The room had sliding doors leading to a small balcony that was big enough for a small seating arrangement. It was pretty cool and windy while I was there so I didn’t use the balcony that much, but during the warmer months the balcony would be a wonderful bonus. My room was spacious, well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and there was ample storage space available. In addition, the bed was positioned so that I could look out through the sliding doors and see the bay. Being able to look out over the bay at night was spectacular. If you stay on the Regency Club floors, you have access to the Regency Club at the top of the hotel. The Club is a circular room with floor to ceiling windows that give you an incredible view of the bay and the city. The breakfast buffet in the Regency Club was more than enough for me, but if you prefer a more filling and traditional breakfast there is a buffet in the lobby which appears to be quite good. I found the staff to be friendly, courteous and they tried to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Obviously, all of this comes at a price, because nothing in San Francisco is cheap. However, I found the Hyatt to be good value for the money. I would certainly stay there again, but I would insist on having a room with a bay view.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a great time in San Fran staying at the Hyatt. The hotel location was awesome...right across from Ferry Building with fun shops and great food, cable car comes right in front of hotel and Bart is right outside too! Friendly staff, clean from, and nice balcony and view from 14th floor. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Natasha H from Wausau, Wisconsin:

We appreciate the time you took to post your wonderful experience while at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. We are extremely happy that you had a great time with our friendly staff, our strategic location and beautiful bayview balcony rooms. Your vote of confidence is one of our biggest compliments! We can't wait to have you back for another delightful stay and please feel free to call on me or any staff member for any of your travel needs.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in March 2012. It was an ideal location, as we could get out into the neighborhood, including all the great shops in the Ferry Building, and hop on the MUNI/BART right across the street to get to other areas of the city and the airport. AT&T park is just down the street. Internet was included in our conference rate and worked well in the room, but wasn't made available in the conference room. My room was on one of the lower floors facing Market street, and as the window wouldn't shut completely it was pretty noisy throughout the evening. Otherwise the room was fine and the bed was comfortable; the room also had a coffee maker and fridge provided. The bar in the hotel is outrageously overpriced and there was no beer on tap (?!); something should be done about that.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference. While there was construction going on outside, the hotel room was quiet. The location of the hotel is good if you need to be near the Financial District and there is a BART station directly outside the hotel, which makes it extremely convenient to get to and from the airport. Great service, overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors provide good views, for example those on the south provide views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear TravelinVC from Chicago, Illinois:

It was such a delight to see your positive review. The entire staff and I are truly glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and guestroom. Its also great to know that you have found our hotel in the perfect spot between the airport and your conference. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times for business over the past couple of years. The staff is consistenly courteous, the rooms are clean, and the furnishings are aethestically appealing and well maintained. No complaints. Beds, pillows, and linens are all comfortable.

Parking is $20/night.

Room Tip: Hotel is huge with only one section of elevators, so if you don't want to spend 10 minutes or m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clementyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Clementyne from Paso Robles, California:

On behalf of the entire team, "thank you very much!" for your repeat business and kind remarks. We absolutely enjoy serving you and we hope can't wait to personally welcome you back. Safe travels and best wishes!

Hyatt Regency San Francisco Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Impressed again and again by attention to detail and genuine friendliness and helpful attitude of hotel staff from start to finish! We stayed 4 nights for business/pleasure--room was spacious with balcony and great view of the city and bridges! Walking distance to amazing restaurants and Fisherman's Wharf, across street from Ferry Bldg. Can't rave enough about hotel staff--overall, one of our best finds!

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeykgrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear smokeykgrd from St. Petersburg, Florida:

It was a pleasure reading your blog from your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback regarding our Bayview Balcony Rooms, our location and most especially we're glad that you enjoyed our warm authentic hospitality.

Thank you so much for your business and we hope to personally welcome you back on your next trip in San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#43 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing