We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #6 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Very nice hotel for a large hotel in a big city....room was small but bathroom was very nice! Concierge was very helpful and excited to share great places to eat. Very nice rooftop gym. Great housekeeping service. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LI77a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Beth06,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in San Francisco. We are glad our Concierge was able to share with you great places to eat and hopefully you enjoyed all of your dining experiences! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Taj Campton Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lovely hotel. Rooms are small but were beautifully designed to accomodate all amenities. Staff was pleasant and super helpful. Room was quiet though I was only on the 8th floor. Nice location, easy to get around including convention center, bart, shopping. Pricey for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanofthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Fan of the Beach,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your thoughtful feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with your room and amenities. We want each of our guests to experience the legendary Taj hospitality, and your positive feedback is one of the reasons why we strive to give great experiences to our guests. Our location is definitely unrivalled in San Francisco and it says as though you took full advantage! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After staying at overpriced, pretentious and mediocre St. Regis on a previous stay, this was a welcome relief and unexpected surprise. Very clean, well-kept rooms with impeccable service. Only criticism I can come up with was poor water pressure, but this was remedied by first-class service, cleanliness and toiletries. Food was impressive with all the culinary flair of India with quick, prompt and courteous attention. Do not ever miss Bombay breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask the reception staff. They will guide you honestly to your best option, we requested an upgrade b...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyedidag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude for taking the time to share your experience and to highlight all the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay. In case you were unaware, our Campton Place Restaurant was recently awarded One Michelin Star. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the Indian flair of our cuisine, something we pride ourselves in here at Taj Campton Place. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and hope Taj Campton Place becomes your home away from home while traveling in San Francisco!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Had a great 5 night stay here in early December. Got a decent rate (for the time of year), and as a Leaders Club member we had $50 breakfast credit each morning as well as free Wi-Fi. WIth these benefits we had a great stay, and the hotel is in a fantastic location. The rooms aren't very large and the bathroom is the typical bath-shower, but very clean and comfortable - and very friendly and attentive service.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BessAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your five night stay with us. The Leaders Club amenities are definitely a plus and we hope you enjoyed your daily breakfast! It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our ideal location and proximity to Union Square. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I really like dthis hotel - stayed in room 1503, great big room with a very comfortable bed.

Room had teh shower in eth tub - not my favorite and teh oversized shower made it a big step up to get in but teh water flowed aplenty and it was a great shower. The wswinging glas door made it feel open and not as confining as most tub showers.

I checked in at 11 am and left a 7:30 am so there is not a lot I can say. The shoe shine service was perfectly timely. I tried to order a tv show and the system asked me for a credit card which I thought was strange - maybe they did not set my account up properly but I was too tired to either go get a card or call downstairs to ask why.

Checkin was great, they even asked when I needed breakfast so we could arrange something if I was leaving before service started!

LHW amenity was a plate of fruit that looked very inviting - a huge pear, a perfect orange and a very yellow banana, witha nice note a glass plate and a small knife.

I stayed at this property 25 years ago and it is just in great shape. There are a lot of choices in SF but if you like smaller boutique hotes with an exceptinally high level of service I would very much recommend this property

Room Tip: Hotel has different tub/shower combination - ask you they will try hard an dget what you want
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us; we truly appreciate your kind words! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our service. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place and hopefully your next visit will not have to be so short!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I've stayed here quite a few times. I guess the reason I've never written a review is that the hotel is just not that impressive; the deluxe rooms are extremely simple, not that clean, and a bit old and outdated. I think the hotel needs a redo-
My upgrade was honored, and not much to complain about, but the hotel is not special or extraordinary, except the location is perfect. My room smelled a bit like it hadn't been cleaned perfectly, and five star hotels smell like five star hotels. The decor is simple and good enough-nice fitness center, friendly staff. I got a good deal, but sometimes this hotel is priced way above its value!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms very similar to standard rooms-both very average!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keentraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here the weekend of my son's wedding in January. The hotel could not have been more perfect. The service was impeccable in every respect. We felt that the entire staff bent over backwards to make everything special for us. There was chilled champagne in the bridal suite and the concierge even wrapped and refrigerated the leftover wedding cake until the couple returned from their honeymoon in Napa! The room was lovely. The location was terrific. Most importantly, this is a hotel that really extends the personal touch and how often can you say that these days! We cannot rave enough about every aspect of our experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara J, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on this milestone event! We are so delighted to know that we were a part of this special time and memory in your life. We appreciate your kind feedback and are so happy to hear our staff made this event extra special. I hope your son enjoyed his honeymoon in Napa as well!

We wish your son and daughter-in-law a happy and healthy life together! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and that we can continue to make fond memories together. Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,314 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,139 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $397 - $1,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing