We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveller rating
879
336
105
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
336
105
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square california king molton brown toiletries boutique hotel turn down service apple store deluxe room complimentary coffee per day small hotel front desk staff four seasons heart of san francisco wonderful hotel the location is perfect grand hyatt corner room
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Have stayed in this hotel numerous times. Have ALWAYS enjoyed it until this past trip. Booked it on Amex Fine Hotels--although upgrades are not guaranteed, "(states "when available" ) upon check in we were told we booked in the "highest category". Not true, went to website after getting into room and saw suites were available. Questioned hotel staff and was told they could move us for $100.00 upcharge the next day. Hotel is going downhill. Did not feel fresh, as well kept or as elegant as it was in years past. Doubt will return. Only good experience was one staff member named Jackson who tried his best. Everyone else was laissez faire.

Room Tip: Be wary of room descriptions saying "sweeping Union Square views"
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna_Luebbe, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Mark A,

I was dismayed to read your review however I do thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. There is just no excuse for a guest to not feel valued and it is not our standard to exhibit a laissez faire attitude towards our guests. I want to thank you again as your review allows me the opportunity to view the guest experience from your eyes and zero in on potential gaps in staff training and improvement.
Should you wish to return to Taj Campton Place, please do reach out once your reservation has been made via your favorite travel agent, as I would like the opportunity to ensure you have a wonderful stay!

Best Regards,
Corinna Luebbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Before you book. think about your priorities.
This hotel is wonderful, if you don’t expect the wow factor. This is not a luxurious hotel, but beautiful and quiet, with great service.
What we pay is what we get.
With the price we paid, it is understandable that we got the view of the next building, a small room, no pool, very thin towels, outdated decor, etc.
WiFi was totally fine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna_Luebbe, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear C C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Taj Campton Place and for taking the time to share your review. Certainly, I would agree our service levels and staff are among our strengths and I am happy to hear you felt welcomed and well taken care of. Safe travels and we hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Best Regards,
Corinna Luebbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We stayed here in March 2018 for a weekend getaway and cannot be more pleased with our overall customer experience! The entire staff from the door men, front desk staff, especially Jackson, the wait staff in the restaurant and Gabriel, our concierge made our entire customer experience exceptional. The location was perfect for our needs and centrally located allowing us to explore the city on our own with easy access to many points of interest. The building is old, but then again, every building in downtown San Francisco is. This hotel was well maintained, clean and updated accordingly. The restaurant had great food, exceptional service again and the overall experience for our 4 night stay will definitely guarantee we stay here again on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqpzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna_Luebbe, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear mqpzg,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Taj Campton Place and for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us! I will certainly share your kind comments with the staff, particularly the staff you have mentioned by name. We certainly will look forward to seeing you again and hopefully sooner rather than later!

Best Regards,
Corinna Luebbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed a four nights in March 2018, the hotel is perfectly located by Union Square and handy for just about anything you want to do in San Francisco.
Check in was painless, the Wi-fi was a pain though as you have to renew it by signing up again every 24 hours!
DONT do what I did and set a password as if you do and forget it you will be trudging down to reception every day to get a new passcode, ridiculous in this day and age! It was reliable once we got online however.
The room was comfortable, lovely cosy bed, there were a couple of issues that were quickly sorted, bedside light not working etc but soon these were soon addressed.
We needed a kettle as we require boiled water for medical issues and a brand new one was delivered to the room so full marks for that!
The food was excellent, we had breakfast every day, not cheap but nothing is in San Fran.
Staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast waiters are quite serious however.
We would stay here again, the location is perfect, staff are helpful, some minor niggles but nothing too detrimental to our visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rooombiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna_Luebbe, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Rooombiter,

Thank you very much for staying with us and mentioning the WIFI login. Please accept my apologies you had to re-sign on each day. There is actually a drop down menu which you can choose when you first sign on which allows the guest to choose the entire length of stay. It appears this may not be standing out to our guests and we will take a look to see if there is a way to make it more user-friendly. This is one of the many reasons we value the guests’ comments, as it allows us the opportunity to see the hotel experience from the guests’ perspective. I am pleased you enjoyed tour overall experience with Taj Campton Place and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,
Corinna Luebbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Stayed at the Taj Campton Place for a girls weekend in March. It is conveniently located in the Union Square neighborhood. The rooms itself are bit dated...think 80s light wood and the amenities leave a lot to be desired include one sad gym. Its a perfectly acceptable hotel option when visiting SF but you will not be wow-ed by anything in this hotel...the Ritz continues to be a favorite in that respect!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYCTripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna_Luebbe, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear NYCTripper_11,

Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place and for taking the time to share your experience. We recognize there are fabulous options in San Francisco and we will continue to strive to become your number one choice when visiting SF!

Best Regards,
Corinna Luebbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews