We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency San Francisco
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Check in took about 2 minutes - very professionally handled and straight-forward. The lobby is small, has wifi guest access, and a well managed restaurant. Ordered Eggs Benedict one morning and it arrived minutes later with perfectly done eggs - always tricky for a busy team to handle. The rooms start on the 38th floor - if you want a good view, you'll likely want a room on 40 or higher to avoid a railing and balcony outside your window. The view is exquisite, however, and you can easily see Golden Gate as well as Alcatraz and the harbor area. The room itself is comfortable, with a good sized bathroom. The HVAC system is quiet and highly efficient. The bedding is very comfortable and the room is quiet. You may wish to ask for a room without a connecting door to avoid any noise from the adjoining room. My neighbors were quiet but I could hear an occasional sound from time to time. There are two elevators handling the hotel, but they are fast and waiting time was never excessive. Overall, a very pleasant stay at a hotel with a highly professional and accomplished staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank TwinComanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Loews Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you TwinComanche, for such a great detailed review. From the restaurant, to the room temp, to the views, it looks like you truly enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and point out a few great tips! We do hope to see you back to the property soon! If you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to reach out! -Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed at the Loews Regency for a long weekend (25th wedding anniversary). This hotel is amazing! They made us feel "at home". This was our first stay at this hotel and we will certainly return! Great location, outstanding staff and service that is truly remarkable. We stayed to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel sent up champagne and chocolates (so thoughtful)! Everyone called us by first names and it was as if we had been to this hotel many times. So incredible to receive such care from everyone at the hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
6  Thank 0Familytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Loews Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear 0Familytraveler0,

Happy Anniversary once again, we are so happy you choose to stay with us on such a momentous occasion! We appreciate your Highly Recommend as well, I will make sure this review gets to the team so they can all read it and know they make a difference each and every day! We hope to see you back soon! -Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This is an outstanding hotel in the San Francisco area . My wife and I were extremely impressed on the professionalism and expertise of the staff ! They met our every need! The restaurant was absolutely wonderful ! They even offered a hotel car to take us to dinner ! Five stars for this one !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
6  Thank macfairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Loews Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear macfairley,

Thank you for the glowing review, it is so appreciated. We are always so happy to hear from satisfied guests like yourself! We hope to have you back soon, and if there is anything you need next time around, please do not hesitate to let me know! -Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

First experience at this chain and wasn't disappointed. I'd made a request for a room away from the elevator when booking and know this is never a guarantee. Bree at the front desk accommodated this request by upgrading me, which I wasn't expecting. The room was nicely decorated, large and clean. We had great views of the city and the GG Bridge. The only complaint was the slow service at the restaurant for lunch, but the excellent service by the rest of the staff made this easy to overlook. Would definitely stay at this hotel next time in SF.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kansch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Very nice ,clean ,friendly hotel
Great location.
Good food though restaurant atmosphere is little boring.
Nice view.
There are only 2 elevators , unfortunately one was malfunctioning so there was long wait .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
5  Thank dsk25346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Loews Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi dsk253346,

Thank you for your comments, they do mean a lot to us! We are happy you like the restaurant, and please know we have plans for a complete renovation of the Lobby and Restaurant starting this December! We hope to have you back as a guest so you can experience the new atmosphere and ambiance! -Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I was in town for a few days and knowing the back to back schedule I wanted a central location. First time to stay in Loewes and the best thing was the staff and their warm welcome. I felt as if I was a regular and the room was an excellent size and the grand city view was dazzling. Great for a business trip and certainly will go back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
5  Thank Tubalogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed three nights at the hotel and were treated like royalty!! The service was amazing! Everyone bent over backwards to cater to any need you have. We stayed in a room with a view of the Bay Bridge and it was fabulous!
We could also see Alcatraz from our room Beds were very comfortable. Will stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017
5  Thank 273denam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Loews Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear 273denam,

We are thrilled to see your review and so happy to hear that we treated you like royalty! We certainly hope to see you back here at The Loews ASAP! If you ever need anything, please do not hesitate to connect with me! -Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,432 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,501 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,224 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-2703 (Formerly Mandarin Oriental)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $412 - $1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses to a different point of view at Loews Regency San Francisco Hotel-the newest addition to Loews Hotels & Resorts. With breathtaking views over San Francisco Bay and the city, Loews Regency San Francisco Hotel combines natural beauty, timeless design and modern amenities to make your stay an unforgettable one. The hotel's central location in the Financial District places you at the heart of San Francisco, with the city's major attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building, all within easy reach. Our position on the top 11 floors of a 48-story tower means that we offer some of the most breathtaking views in the city-many from our 148 elegant guestrooms and seven spacious suites. Brasserie S&P, our on-site restaurant, serves the freshest tastes of California, along with fine wine and carefully crafted cocktails. Our amenities also include a 24-hour fitness center and a spa with three treatment rooms, one couples' suite, and a relaxation lounge. Loews Regency San Francisco Hotel is the ideal choice for guests who desire modern design and state-of-the-art technology-accompanied by the highest level of warm, personalized service. Meetings and events reach dramatic new heights at Loews Regency San Francisco Hotel, with 5,000 square feet of meeting space spread across five distinctive rooms plus the highest event space in the city, our impressive 40th floor deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing