We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hotel”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Pismo Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

They have great customer service. Fun rooms. Last time we stayed in the Presidentail Suite, I think it is called. It was FABULOUS! The only sad part was leaving my ablaone shells from monterey in a cup in the room. When I remembered, it was too late. They had started to clean the room and the trash was down the schute! Oh well. Yummy breakfast, too!

Room Tip: with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    998
    408
    133
    89
See reviews for
113
862
513
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tesuque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I highly suggest staying at the Mosser for many reasons. This European style, boutique hotel is so ideally located, has a chic comfort and is so well priced that I can't imagine why anyone would choose to pay the typical San Francisco rates at other hotels. Annabel's restaurant & bar, located next door is a local favorite with an excellent menu, the Cioppino... fish stew is incredible. Service at the Mosser is top notch, friendly & efficient, any one of the staff could be mentioned here but just have to say that Nish gets whatever you need taken care of. I am in SF often for business and only stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Right in the middle of everything we wanted to get to. It is well presented, and very clean and great value. Have already returned, and will do so again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Mosser is a great deal and in a great location to everything. Walking distance to the Subway (Very easy to get to from SFO), busses, trolly & shopping
The room is small, me and my husband stayed there for 5 nights in a shared bathroom, after all of my shopping the room did become a little crammed but I don't pick rooms to spend my days in while i am on vacation. The room was always very clean as was the bathrooms, I never encountered anyone while in the bathroom (separate toilet from shower area) except for one day when I went to go shower, no big deal I just used the shower upstairs. The coffee was good and the muffins as well, its not a continental breakfast but there are tons of great restaurants around why fill your self up at the hotel. We did not eat at annabels as there was quite a line up, we walked around the block to Mel's diner, a sushi place and there is tons of convenience stores. There is no AC but a ceiling fan
There is also a computer in the lobby if you need to print off boarding passes or coupons if you are heading towards napa to the outlets.

The bell boy was great, held our bags for us on check out day while we walked to Avis to pick up the rental car, loaded up the car for us. I would definitely stay at the Mosser again, I might choose to upgrade to a private bathroom if the price was reasonable but I would have no problem staying in a shared room

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DandKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Mosser is a great spot in great location with great staff. They have great green fun products, breakfast etc. It is a no brainer if you want to watch your cost and be in the best location in the City. I stay here a lot...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The best thing about the Mosser is the price for the location. Rooms are small and bathrooms and toilets are shared.
The best way to describe it, is as a posh hostel. I did admire their commitment to being a 'green hotel' with enviromentally friendly shampoo and conditioner and a 100 % cotton robe (which is not thick enough to cover nakedness mind you).

I was caught in an earthquake tremor during my stay there. If an earthquake wasn't scary enough, the way the room shook was. I thought the building might collapse, a downside to staying in an old building.
The service at the front counter was okay. There is no restaurant on site, but one next door, which I found to be quiet pricey considering the lack of choices on the menu.

I would recommend to a friend who was on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sayamakan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Clean, fairly modern, helpful staff! Rooms are fairly small and facilities are shared but given the price I was more than fine with that compromise - maybe I'm not as fussy as some but I wish more cities had an option like The Mosser.

I also left my iPad in the room, thankfully cleaning staff had already found and secured it for me to collect the next day - very honest.

As a diabetic, I'd only ask that their breakfast muffins include a sugar-free option in the future. Not really a complaint, so certainly happy with my stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing