We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a bit old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #39 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The location of this hotel is a winner. It is close to Union Square and Chinatown, and it is located in a nice area of SF. The staff was also extremely friendly, and it is relatively cheap for its value. However, there are a few things you should be aware of:

1. Parking is very, very expensive. Try to get a deal where parking is included. Otherwise, each day is $52 to park at the hotel.

2. The hotel appears to be renovated. You can still feel traces of the old hotel from decor and the not-too-perfect renovation. There was a red stain on the ceiling of our room that looked like blood. We decided that it was lipstick, but the mystery remains how the heck it got up there.

3. The windows are hard to figure out. They are in the corners of the room and it's impossible to close without calling someone to show you. Even with the window slightly open, it can get pretty noisy.

However, for its price (I paid $169/night inc. parking) I think it's a very worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

It's a very nice hotel but not 5 star worthy.The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. Just a few blocks from Chinatown and even closer to Little Italy. We were on the fifth floor, and still managed to have a lovely view. We got a great deal from a bidding site since it was a weekend, the hotel is in the Financial District and not as busy then. They upgraded us to a suite, so it was extremely spacious. The bed was luxurious. The bathroom was very average. The staff were courteous and very prompt. The one unpleasantness I experienced was minor. I ordered a single glass of wine in the bar to take to my room. It went from being $12 on the menu, to $26 because of fees and taxes. (before any tip!)

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any truly bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights at this medium sized hotel in downtown San Francisco. My king room was $269 (pre-taxes), certainly very reasonable for downtown SF. Room was spacious and well appointed and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed. Nice sized bathroom appeared to be brand new with an easy to work and understand shower. This is somewhat of a pet peeve of mine - unlabeled or poorly labeled shower fixtures that cause you to waste time and water trying to figure out how to get hot or cold water and turn the shower on. Another nice touch was the reasonably priced drinks in the minibar; quite a surprise given how pricey San Francisco is. An Anchor Steam was actually cheaper in my room than at the bar downstairs! Service was impeccable from the front door all the way through check-in and check-out. Location is another strong point - very close to the Embarcadero, but less than a mile in any direction to the other neighborhoods. No negatives that I can think of.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor looking east to get a great Bay Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We arrived and asked to be on a higher floor and the front desk happily made that happen. We had great service from the front desk, concierge, bell staff and the lounge server. Our room was nice with plenty of space. It was clean and had nice finishings. Certainly not a five star room, but it was nice, worked well for us in the small amount of time we were in the room. The location is in the financial district. It is a busy area, but not touristy. The good news is that the trolleys, electric buses and the f line are a few short blocks away. I found it to be a good central point between all the things to do in the city. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again we had a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a non-joining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here only 1 night and chose this hotel via Hotwire and it turned out to be a very solid hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful while the room was large, clean and modern - it's pretty much cookie cutter 4 star business hotel (this is a good thing).

For the business traveller with meetings downtown this is an ideal hotel. Even for the tourist it's not bad at all, it's a 15 minute walk to the shopping areas.

At their regular rates this is still a very solid value and worth another stay.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ecbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here for a night in March 2012. I had a superior room with a King size bed, and the view afford me a glimpse of the water. The room was well appointed and spacious with good ammenities and a clean, nice bathroom. The hotel art was cooler than usual, and the design touches were in general modern and stylish. Wireless was extra.

I chose the Meridien because of my fondness for the Le Parker Meridien in New York. This hotel was not as cool, and the lobby is very demure, and not too exciting. But the rooms were newer and very nice.

The staff was very helpful and the consierge was awesome. I reccomend the hotel for a business trip, the location is excellent, near the Bart, 20 min walk to the convention center, and near to the water. The room was clean and stylish and there was no reason to be unhappy. That said, it is a very understated choice.

The only problem I had was that the off-lobby bathroom has some kind of small black fly infestation. They need to deal with that, the fact they haven't is worrying. I could smell it, the nest is probably in the drain. Gross.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I live in the Bay area and spent the weekend of his 40th birthday being tourists in our own city. Le Meridien was perfect for our SF adventure. The room was beautifully designed, very comfortable, and had a beautiful view. The bed was extremely comfortable, with high thread count sheets and lots of pillows. The room was very quiet, with virtually no ambient noise from the hallway or the streets (at least, not from the 16th floor). The room temperature was easily controllable without the whine of a loud heater that you get in some hotels. There was a laptop-size safe, a flat-screen tv, and a nice sound system. We had room service breakfast, which was fantastic. The berry pancakes were great! The location couldn't be better. It was an easy walk to Market Street, Chinatown, and North Beach. We got a great deal on our room, and overall, given a similar deal, I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a good view! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4,646 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $215 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien San Francisco is a newly renovated luxury upscale hotel located in a prime Financial District location and connected via pedestrian bridge to the businesses, shops, entertainment, theaters and cafés of the dynamic Embarcadero Center. Just steps away are San Francisco’s main leisure attractions such as Chinatown, the Ferry Building, and the California Street cable cars. From our location, enjoy convenient access to AT&T Park, Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. Le Méridien offers a professional staff and superior facilities, including Bar 333 with its lively happy hour and street level vibe as well as Park Grill Restaurant, serving local and sustainable fare for breakfast and lunch. Impeccable service is promised at every turn. The trademark of sophistication, our award-winning Les Clefs d’Or Concierge professionals, will treat you to the highest level of service. Discover San Francisco and Unlock our Destination, book your next stay at Le Meridien San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing