We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great service, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #39 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We loved Le Meridien and San Francisco. The rooms are plush and spacious with super nice linens. The hotel is within walking distance to the wharf, little Italy, Chinatown and all the public transportion buses and trolleys. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and has wonderful service (it is a bit expensive, but well worth it). We bought the city passes at the Aquarium and got discounts to all the best attractions and were able to ride public transportation for free--a terrific value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2009

I got a really good deal via TravelZoo which help make this hotel awesome. We loved being in the financial district instead of the tourist area. We got to be with people that lived in San Fransisco and isn't people watching half the fun of travel. The hotel was very hip, clean and nice. We had restaurants, coffee shops, stores right outside our window. The only negative was the giant water stain on our ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spth005a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I have stayed in many luxury hotels in large cities and none come close to comparing to the experience of LeMeridien San Francisco. The attention to detail is impeccable at LeMeridien from the sheets they use, to the staff they hire, to the decor on the wall.

LeMeridien San Francisco has an understated elegance without being too stuffy that makes it the perfect hotel for business or pleaure. In addition, it is in the perfect location for everyone... it has nightlife, venues for the family and some of the best restaurants within San Francisco all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We knew the LM would be good but it vastly exceeded our expectations in every way. The hotel itself reminds me of higher end, understated properties in Europe. Although we had booked a relatively inexpensive room, we were upgraded (albeit on the basis of Starwood status) to a corner luxury suite on the 24th floor with a view of the Bay, Alcatraz, the Embarcadero, and beyond. The room was splendid! Spacious and comfortable. Not one item (stray hair, tidbit of paper, debris, etc.) left over from the previous guests. While we did hear the sirens (fire station immediately around the block from the LM), the room was in all other respects incredibly quiet. Staff couldn't have been any more helpful, courteous, and accommodating. All other trips to SF have included stays near Union Square. We agreed that we really liked the LM's location as it was w/in a couple of blocks of the Ferry Terminal and the Embarcadero, and was w/in a 10 minute walk of both Union Square, Washington Square/North Beach, and Chinatown. Everything about this visit made for a special anniversary celebration. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The Le Meridien Hotel is located between China Town and the Embarcado around the corner from the Transamerica tower. The lobby is stylist and the staff welcoming. The rooms are also stylish and a reasonable size for a city hotel. Overall a very favourable impression. We had a corner room overlooking the Embarcado Centre and did not experience any unwelcome noise. The housekeeping staff were friendly and provided a good service. There are convenience stores, cafes and bars nearby. It is possible to walk to China Town or Union Square if you are feeling energetic. The cable car on Mason and the Embarcado market are a few blocks away. The only negative is the valet cost for parking - $56/night, ouch!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golden-mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I attended a conference in San Francisco but wanted a less expensive option to the host hotel. I found a great rate on Expedia and booked the Le Meridien. My room was huge with a nice view. Great amenities in the room i.e. robe and linens. I loved the fact that the sliding glass doors opened for fresh air. I was a little disappointed that there was no in room coffee. They do however have coffee in the lobby until 9 am. The restaurants in the hotel are very pricey as is room service. However, the Embarcadero shopping/dining is just across the street with adequete options. I can't say enough good things about the concierge who gave me great directions and made my reservation for the Alcatraz Tour and was very precise about timing and travel to the pier. If I ever had occasion to go back to SFO and could find a good rate, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlagstaffMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Rooms were nice. Hotel is smaller than I thought it would be. Not a great selection of restaurants. I stayed for one night only. I could hear the sirens outside from the street pretty clearly - not the most quiet room. I could also hear the person in the room above me. Valet was a bit slow when we first arrived - we had to ask for someone to come over so we could check our car in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNLVforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,537 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,717 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,058 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
550 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $266 - $1,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien San Francisco is a newly renovated luxury upscale hotel located in a prime Financial District location and connected via pedestrian bridge to the businesses, shops, entertainment, theaters and cafés of the dynamic Embarcadero Center. Just steps away are San Francisco’s main leisure attractions such as Chinatown, the Ferry Building, and the California Street cable cars. From our location, enjoy convenient access to AT&T Park, Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. Le Méridien offers a professional staff and superior facilities, including Bar 333 with its lively happy hour and street level vibe as well as Park Grill Restaurant, serving local and sustainable fare for breakfast and lunch. Impeccable service is promised at every turn. The trademark of sophistication, our award-winning Les Clefs d’Or Concierge professionals, will treat you to the highest level of service. Discover San Francisco and Unlock our Destination, book your next stay at Le Meridien San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing