We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #153 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Free parking, WiFi, nice staff, good location. We stayed there three nights in march. The room was a little bit smelly, there was a whole kitschen in the room, but we didn't use it, didn't seem really clean to me. The refrigerator was very loud so I unplugged it during our stay. The location ist nice, easy walk to fisherman warf - there is also a bus stop around the corner. No booking over the internet was a little bit strange first, since I didn't get an answer of me e-mail request, i phoned to book the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    197
    92
    26
    14
See reviews for
100
185
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here last weekend and it was a pretty clean and good hotel. Only thing they don't mention until you get there is about the $50 dollar deposit. But other than that the hotel is a pretty good deal compared to the other hotels in San Fran. We walked around everywhere, Chinatown is pretty close by as well. I recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supervetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wow, the staff was great, and this place gets a 4/5 rating from me just because it had NO BEDBUGS! :D Also, there is an exhaust fan in the bathroom, which is completely necessary in my opinion, when you are sharing a small room with other people. The beds are a bit hard, and the rooms are a little dated, but they make up for it in cleanliness and friendliness. In-room coffee, refrigerators, too, good location, yummy doughnuts in the morning and free parking! Really, what more could you need? We asked for an upper level room, away from the street, and we got it. We set up our reservation the old-fashioned way, via telephone, with confirmations on email. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: go for an upper room, near the back, to have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kady_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Can't beat the price for this location. The room are a bit dated, but otherwise fine. Free parking and wireless Internet. The staff was very helpful, too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights. The location is good although we took a car to see most of the places in SF anyways.
The room was just ok, old furniture and bad smell when we walked in. We kept the window open all the time to get some fresh air.
They serve doughnuts for breakfast but honestly skip it and go to some other place for breakfast. SF has awesome food, try it.
The hotel was really nothing special, it is more like a motel or even a hostel. It is definitely for people who are in SF because they want to tour the city and don't care so much about place to stay.
One night there were drunk people outside and we could not sleep, they were so loud. But I guess it can happen anywhere.
The price is very good. We got $80/night and we spend extra money that we saved by not picking more expensive place on great food. Do the same, it is wort it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morning_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My title pretty much sums it up. My partner and I stayed here a total of 5 nights on our recent US holiday. The rooms are an older style, very 80's feel with green carpet. But if you're sightseeing all day anyway it's a decent place to rest. My only issue would be the hot water. We traveled in winter so a nice hot shower was pretty important to us. Unfortunately it was a bit lacking. We were on the 4th floor so can't speak for other floors. But the water would take ages to warm up, but while showering it would go slightly cold. Apart from this, well cleaned, decent value and great location. Must visit Mel's Diner which is down the road about a 5-10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are less noisy as the hotel is located on busy Lombard street. Some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangforbucktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It's just a motel on a very busy street, but it's well tended by cheerful staff and the location, reasonable room rate, and free parking combine to make it a worthy option. Our room was clean and included a fridge and microwave, which we really appreciated. It's an easy walk to Chestnut Street, Union Street, and Polk Street -- three lively neighborhoods with lots of coffee houses & good restaurants frequented by locals & visitors. And, of course, it's also just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the crooked street block of Lombard, if you want to take in some prime tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Lombard is very busy (it's CA 101 -- the main thoroughfare to the Golden Gate Bridge), so ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OceanAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Property: Redwood Inn
Address: 1530 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing