We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #158 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Best price we found within reasonable walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. Staff were all extremely nice and helpful. Internet would not connect. Clean, basic room, small frig and coffee maker in room. Good donuts in office in AM. A little noisy from traffic, but when you're tired......

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights during a trip through the Bay Area to look at colleges for my daughter. I picked it for the good reviews and its proximity to the Wharf, where we enjoy walking at nighttime. It's an easy 6-block walk from the hotel to Ghirardelli Square. Also just up the road (literally) is the top of Lombard Street, the world's windiest road. We stayed in room 38, which is on the 3rd floor directly facing Lombard. There are exterior stairs and an elevator close by.

The room was clean enough and had adequate facilities, including a shower/toilet separate from the vanity area; a refrigerator; and a TV. You pay a deposit for room keys and the TV remote. The staff is friendly and always available. When our toilet stopped up they had a guy up to fix it within 5 minutes. They also offer donuts and pastries there at the front desk in the morning, which was nice and unexpected. They have free Wi-fi, not even a password, though it is extremely slow.

The fridge makes a loud-ish rattling sound so I unplugged it at night and propped open its door. Also due to its location on Lombard, there is traffic all night long outside and this is fairly noisy. Walls are thin, as expected for a lower-end motel. The morning we checked out, there was no hot water at all, so no showers for us. They said the hot water heater had stopped working for everyone, for some reason.

Many places charge for parking but Redwood's is free, and they guarantee you a space; if you come back from somewhere and there are no spaces they say they will take your keys and double-park you in the lot until a space opens up. They are also close to bus lines in case you like using transit to get around.

Our stay was okay, and for $110 in that location we felt it was a good deal, outside of the hot water problem.

Room Tip: Might be quieter if your door/window are not facing Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Free parking, WiFi, nice staff, good location. We stayed there three nights in march. The room was a little bit smelly, there was a whole kitschen in the room, but we didn't use it, didn't seem really clean to me. The refrigerator was very loud so I unplugged it during our stay. The location ist nice, easy walk to fisherman warf - there is also a bus stop around the corner. No booking over the internet was a little bit strange first, since I didn't get an answer of me e-mail request, i phoned to book the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here last weekend and it was a pretty clean and good hotel. Only thing they don't mention until you get there is about the $50 dollar deposit. But other than that the hotel is a pretty good deal compared to the other hotels in San Fran. We walked around everywhere, Chinatown is pretty close by as well. I recommend :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supervetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wow, the staff was great, and this place gets a 4/5 rating from me just because it had NO BEDBUGS! :D Also, there is an exhaust fan in the bathroom, which is completely necessary in my opinion, when you are sharing a small room with other people. The beds are a bit hard, and the rooms are a little dated, but they make up for it in cleanliness and friendliness. In-room coffee, refrigerators, too, good location, yummy doughnuts in the morning and free parking! Really, what more could you need? We asked for an upper level room, away from the street, and we got it. We set up our reservation the old-fashioned way, via telephone, with confirmations on email. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: go for an upper room, near the back, to have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kady_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Can't beat the price for this location. The room are a bit dated, but otherwise fine. Free parking and wireless Internet. The staff was very helpful, too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights. The location is good although we took a car to see most of the places in SF anyways.
The room was just ok, old furniture and bad smell when we walked in. We kept the window open all the time to get some fresh air.
They serve doughnuts for breakfast but honestly skip it and go to some other place for breakfast. SF has awesome food, try it.
The hotel was really nothing special, it is more like a motel or even a hostel. It is definitely for people who are in SF because they want to tour the city and don't care so much about place to stay.
One night there were drunk people outside and we could not sleep, they were so loud. But I guess it can happen anywhere.
The price is very good. We got $80/night and we spend extra money that we saved by not picking more expensive place on great food. Do the same, it is wort it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morning_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
562 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#137 of 230 in San Francisco
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1530 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $125 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing