We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,639)
Filter reviews
3,642 results
Traveller rating
1,068
1,302
738
343
191
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
1,302
738
343
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarlight roomscala's bistrounion squareyoga matlobby barhistoric hotelcable carwine hourtop floorrooms are smallstreet noisean older hotelqueen roompowell stvalet parkingfisherman's wharffew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 3,642 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Kimpton SFD and found it certainly 'quirky' just like San Fran.
Rooms were nice, clean and staff & facilities great too. (Especially Caroline on reception) Concierge was very helpful in booking our Bus & Alcatraz tickets (a must! Even more so hire a bike and ride over the Golden Gate!)
Plus they have a wine hour daily which is excellent. Bar is good, modern if a-little pricey - still great! Breakfast was excellent and restaurant is very popular.
Location is right next to Union Square, old trams stop straight outside the doors (takes you to the harbour) & little Italy only a 5 mins cab ride (go to Mona Lisa, authentic Italian with gorgeous food!)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Union Square, Karen D! We see that you were able to take advantage of our centralized location and hit all the hotspots like Fisherman's Wharf and the North Beach neighborhood. (We have a great Italian bistro here at the hotel, Scala's! But our "Little Italy" neighborhood here in SF is one of a kind and definitely has some of the best dining in the city! Glad you were able to experience it).

Thanks again for making us a stop on your Honeymoon adventure! Best wishes and congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We stayed at the Sir Francis Drake over Labor Day Weekend. The hotel is an old San Francisco Classic in the heart of Union Square. Our room, a Grand room with two Queen beds was good and spacious for San Francisco. However the bathroom was very tiny and not sufficient for two people. A negative surprise was that the Lobby Bar did not open on Saturday until after 3:00 and serves no food, not even a bar menu. We had friends coming over and had to go across the street to the Marriott to get drinks with food. The weekend was one of the hottest in San Francisco history, and although the air conditioning worked great in the room, it was not working properly in the Starlight Room lounge on Friday, and we took our drinks back to the room. The Valet was also sporadic as it did not deliver my car prior to a concert on time after I had called 15 minutes in advance. All in all, the stay was not that bad, the location was good, but there are much better hotels in the Vity of San Francisco than the Drake.

Room Tip: Grand rooms are more spacious. Be wary of some of the rooms, as they are very tiny.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Hi John! Thanks for coming to check us out over the holiday weekend.

I have shared your review with the leaders in our Food & Beverage team. Aside from Bar Drake, we also have a full bar in Scala's Bistro, our onsite restaurant that is perfect for bringing friends. We sorry we missed the opportunity to welcome you to Scala's.

There are a few other opportunities of improvement you mentioned and we appreciate you sharing the candid feedback. We will get with our teams (specifically Valet and our Facilities staff) to work on these areas.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel 29th August for 3 nights. We know it is an old hotel but was not impressed with the smell in the corridors and especially our room. It was quite a small room which wasn't really a problem as we only here for a short stay. The bathroom was also small and if you were of a certain size you may have a problem. Also the bath was in urgent need of a replacement. We certainly wouldn't have laid down it. No coffee and tea in room. Although you could have free tea and coffee in lobby in the morning only. Do also think water should be free in rooms. Towels and bed changed everyday. No point looking out of the window, too dirty to see anything. Also window didn't close so heard noise all night from road below. This is a four star hotel. So surely we should expect a better standard for what we paid. We definitely would not stay again. On the plus side all staff were friendly and helpful. Oh forgot about wifi. It was hopeless in the room and only got a better signal in lobby.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Hi Tracy J. Thank you for coming to check us out and sharing your review. We appreciate the kind words and acknowledgement of our staff, but we know that our personnel alone can't make the entire stay!

Based on your dates of stay and handle, we will locate the room assignment and have our facilities team check on the odor of the corridor and the functioning/cleanliness of the windows.

If you're future travels bring you back to SF, please reach out to us directly. We have a few different room types on property so we'd like to help with booking a room more suitable for you (at a discounted rate of course!). It's the least we can do to thank you for giving us a shot and sharing your concerns--- and hopefully gives us another opportunity to "wow" you.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

A small room and old amenities but stylishly remodelled to provide clean contemporary accommodation. Wine hour a bonus and not charged for which was different to the other Kimpton we stayed at. Helpful staff and great location with fabulous views from the top floor bar.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you Rachael D! We're glad you were able to enjoy the great city views up at the Starlight Room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this property for 3 nights. The rooms were very large and spacious (especially for a city centre hotel) the bathroom was quite small but there was still a bathtub in so it was plenty big enough. The room was nice and clean and the lobby of the hotel is beautiful. Staff were okay (not overly friendly but not rude either, we didn't interact with them except for checking in). There is wifi in the room but you have to pay for it, which I think is rubbish nowadays.

The hotel is in a great location for the shops around unions square and a cable car stop is right outside which will take you straight to fishermans wharf. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you for coming to check us out in the heart of the city, Amy B!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews