We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly central hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Staff was incredibly friendly, and even if this is a stage effort, it results in a feeling of being surrounded by positive energy. Kudos to management. Reconstruction sounds start at 8AM, so don't plan on sleeping late, or ask for a room away from morning noise. Top floor has a bright, open lounge with a small exercise room, and wonderful TV/sitting area with a fireplace and free coffee and tea. Bar on mezzanine has a nice atmosphere and OK Happy Hour. Bedroom was clean, comfortable, and nicely refurbished, like much of the hotel. Location is one block from Union Square and felt very safe and surprisingly quiet. Fan was a bit noisy, but was nice "white noise" for sleeping. Great shower with shower-head with hose. Through online booking, average price of $150/day was great midline price. Nightly chocolates on the pillow were lovely, as were apples at the main desk.
Half a block away, great breakfast or lunch place in tiny, friendly Encore Cafe on Post St. We are coffee snobs and they had great stuff, and something new each morning. The decor, food and treats (try the home-made samosas--yum) had a Parisian flare but prices were great.

Room Tip: The newly renovated floors are bright and lovely, but if morning quiet after 8AM is a must, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    919
    155
    53
    20
See reviews for
640
1,176
107
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and i have just left the donatello after a 5 night stay.
We were put into a newly refurbished room which was great. The staff came every night to turn the bed down and put chocolates on your pillow. They even offered to wash the dishes every morning. We washed our own.The hotel is central for everything. Only thing not good was the night club Ruby Skye which kept us awake most of Saturday night as they threw bottles into trash cans outside till early hours of the morning. Luckily it only happened on the Saturday.
We had a lovely meal in the hotel and all the staff in the hotel were most helpful.
We had a lovely lunch at the Cheese Cake Factory which is in Macy's on the top floor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 123doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staff was great, location was great, hotel was nice.

We (1 adult & 2 teenagers) stayed two nights in a room with a King Bed and a pullout. Pullout was surprisingly comfortable, and King Bed was very nice. Room was ok, decent sized and clean. It had a mini fridge, microwave and sink along with glasses and silverware, but we didn't use any of that. Only negative was we were on the "5th" floor, which actually seems like the third floor, and there was a lot of street noise, including a 2am dump truck or something that sounded like it was in our room. There was a problem with the freight elevator so one elevator (of 2) in the lobby was shut down for a while, but the staff handled it so well it was not an issue.

The free wi-fi never really worked well, speeds were so slow I couldn't really use it - it would get hung up whenever I tried to pull up a map.

The good news is the staff was great - very outgoing, friendly & helpful. We had lots of exposure to the staff: making up the pullout bed, turndown service, we needed extra toothpaste, we ordered room service, suggestions from the front desk on restaurants, directions, valet parked our car - even the maintenance guys using the freight elevator were considerate and apologetic...all were great and made the stay wonderful.

The location could not have been better for us.

All-in-all, a very good stay, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chicago_ILJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We arrived at the Donatello for a 6 night stay and were initially put into an accessible room because, we were told, it was the last room available. Given that we had a reservation this explanation didn't make sense. The room was horrible. The TV didn't work, the closets were unsatisfactory for hanging a long formal dress, the room smelled of cigarette smoke, there was not bathtub in the room and construction noise above us started at 7am. The good news was that we were moved to another room and comped for the bad situation the next day. The bad news is someone else is going to get this room.

The new, renovated room was excellent. Spacious, clean, well appointed, comfortable and with everything working - this is what we had expected. The staff did everything they could to make things right and we are grateful.

The jazz in the lounge downstairs was entertaining and the happy hour appetizers were substantial. The location of the hotel is excellent. The outside noise can be loud at times because of a night club down the street, garbage trucks and the protesters outside of another hotel woke us up at 7am on Saturday. This is not something the hotel can control and we understood that.

In the end, we has a wonderful stay at this hotel and really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longwood Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I are Shell Vacation members and always stay at the Donatello. The Staff is friendly, helpful and make us feel at home! The hotel is one block from Union Square with all the shopping, dining and theatre right at hand. The rooms are spacious and comfortable so we always get a good night's sleep! The Donatello is one reason our trip to San Francisco is always wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I had been to SF 20 years ago for the weekend but this was my parents first trip. Enjoyed our stay in the hotel and San Francisco overall despite a few days of rain in the beginning of holiday. Just returned from a 1 week stay at The Donatello. One of the best decisions I made was to booking 2 studios via their website and was surprised that the rooms looked way better than the website. We stayed on the 9th floor, one of the renovated rooms/floors. Rooms were huge with a kitchenette area with microwave and fridge which came in handy for light snacks and also tableware for 2 people and coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee. King size beds were so comfortable and also the sofa (which could be turned into a sofa bed but didn't use). The bathroom had marble sinks and a telephone and also an additional TV in the mirror! Bonus to have whilst showering and brushing your teeth! The Club Lounge was was a bonus with free coffee, tea, hot chocolate all day. We didn't use the fitness centre but did use the co-ed jacuzzi (and there is also a separate men and wmen sauna. The location was excellent, a block from Union Square, walking distance of Macy's, Westfield, cable car, bus stops, etc. Yes there were city street noises at nite but hey we were slap bang in the centre so expected this - we were overlooking the JW Marriott side. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, helpful and assisted us at every opportunity. The Concierge booked our Wine trip to Sonoma/Napa Valley as we requested and also booked our taxi on way back to SFO which turned out to be a limousine - an extra bonus at the end of a fabulous San Francisco trip! Will highly recommend this hotel. Thanks. (I'll be posting some pics soon)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lozlazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Jesus Rodriguez, who works at the front desk, is extremely helpful and friendly. We were very impressed by the service he provided. The room we stayed in was very big. Easily room for a king size bed, a queen sleeper sectional, ottoman, desk, fridge, microwave, etc. Really neat feature - there's a tv in the bathroom mirror. Never seen it before. It's about a 2 minute walk to Union Square, so an excellent location. Finally, it was a superb value, especially for the size of the room and the location in San Francisco. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,949 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing