We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful amenities”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2008

The Donatello is great! The location is perfect, just enough off the beaten path to feel relaxed once you walk away from Market Street crowds. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. I love the little kitchenette and the empty fridge. It even had a microwave and toaster in the room, plus plates and glasses. There was a DVD player that was easy to use. The windows had shutters and could be opened. The thermostat worked. I loved the color scheme with the orange wall. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I thought it was an incredible value worth far more than I paid.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travel42work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2008

The location of the hotel was great, the staff was great, housekeeping was phenomenal, loved the convenience of hot beverages throughout the day, & noise was not a factor in our room. Enjoyed our stay immensely. We went to San Fran for my birthday, & per suggestions from other reviewers, I called the hotel to let them know that, & requested a room with a balcony. When I got there, I was pleasantly surprised to hear that they were able to honour my request (since there are only a few select rooms with balconies). Asides from the occassional police sirens, we did not hear any noise, perhaps because of the location of the room, & the fact that the weather was cool enough for us to sleep with the windows closed. I did not get a welcome pkg upon arriving, but they called a few days later for us to pick it up. We were too busy to pick it up, so I don't know what's in it. Also, despite other guest's comments, we were never bothered about attending timeshare. The breakfast was nothing special. I say you're better off buying some cereal & milk from Walgreens & eating that each morning than eating their sugary offerings. I am also puzzled @ how they would offer just orange juice, & not a choice of juices in the morning (my boyfriend & I can't have orange juice).
I have a bad back, & don't usually like hotel beds, but their bed was only second to the sleep-number beds offered @ other hotels.
The location is great, you don't need to rent a car, it is very close to everything.
Housekeeping vacuumed, & very thoroughly cleaned our place every day. Even our dishes were washed!
Turndown service everynight was lovely to come back to after a long & tiring day of sightseeing.
It rained one night, & the hotel lent us an umbrella (just ask front desk)
They even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for my birthday.
My boyfriend & I were also @ another hotel on this trip, but enjoyed the Donatello so much more!
Tip: If you are an AAA member, check the website of the hotel direct before you book because I found booking direct with them using the AAA discount was cheaper than doing it through on-line travel sites.
It was a wonderful hotel, but I guess it best to book with this hotel during low travel season so that you're less likely to get stuck with a bad room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pamsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights on April 23rd. The rooms are quite large and have the advantage of a small refrigerator with a sink and a microwave. Nevertheless, only two pillows were supplied and we had to ask for two more. The A/C was not very good but we were able to sleep with the windows closed. On the 3rd night, which was a Friday, we could not sleep at all, with all the street noise (even though we were on the 9th floor). Another couple traveling with us had an inside room and did not hear the noise. The Continental Breakfast was ok, but there are only 4-5 tables which are very rapidly occupied. The breakfast, although ends at 9:30 am, sometimes runs out of food by 9 am.
Our valet parking was good, you would call 5 minutes prior to leaving and they had the car ready for you. Our "Welcome Package" was never presented to us upon registration, as they are supposed to do - only got a call two days later to have us pick it up - which we did not do. The staff is very friendly and warm. The proximity to Union Square and to Powell Street makes it very convenient for shopping and transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FabiolaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

My wife and I have traveled to numerous locations throughout the US and Mexico. I have to say that The Donatello is the greatest hotel we have been to. The staff was excellent, especially the front desk and the concierge. I have read numerous reviews and want to dispel the rumor that it was "noisy". Yes there is a club across the street and maybe room location has something to do with it but we slept every night with the windows open and were not bothered one bit by the noise.
We are returning to the Donatello in two weeks and would never think of staying any where else in San Fran!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stoutmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Despite reading a previous review about noise we took a chance. The hotel is very well located- a block from Union Square. The rooms are clean and freshly decorated. Everyone on staff was friendly and competent.

Just one significant problem- the noise. We were on the 9th floor (too high to hear anything we thought?) About 10PM to midnight on both Friday and Saturday nights the noise below from the nighclub Ruby Skye sounded like a riot going on. The commotion in front of the club caused traffic problems. (Shouting, screaming, etc)

And by the wee hours the clean-up crew would dump a load of empty bottles in the recycle bin about every 15 minutes. (CRASH)-I'd guess about 15 times.

The real shame is other than the noise I would strongly recomment this hotel.

If I were them I'd call the police to make a "disturbing the peace" complaint.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank fireandrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We are Shell Vacation Club members and the Donatello is part of SVC's network. It was really a pleasant surprise, as I've always heard how small the rooms are in SFO. Our room/suite was incredibly spacious with the best bed ever! I also like the stereo and DVD player in the room.

Location is really key. The Donatello is just a couple of blocks from Union Square and less than a mile walk to Chinatown. It was very easy to get around on buses and trolleys (bus is definitely the way to go, and you don't need to buy the $18 week pass...it's only $1.50 for the bus with a 2 hour transfer for free).

My only complaint about the hotel was that the jacuzzi tub was broken (and apparently has been since November 2007...are there no repairmen in this town?), and there is no pool. But we were so busy sightseeing everyday that it didn't impact us in the least.

Staff were incredibly friendly and they've got a pretty darn good happy hour everyday in the lounge. We absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dm713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at the Donatello during the week of St. Patricks Day,2008. The weather was sunny and of course a little chilly but we are from the NH so we thought it was great.
We were very impressed with the Donatello. The staff was very friendly at all times. The food at the Restaurant on the 2nd floor was great and we very much enjoyed the delicious pastries, coffee and juice served upstairs in the Donatello Club level.
Our room was clean, large, and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was marble tiles and the decor, reminicent of Italian style.
The location was near to the shopping district at Union Sq and in a good area, not too hilly right there. They have a parking garage which we did not need, we used the public transportation,streetcars and the cable cars. Do the cable cars and ride on the outside standing up. It's fabulous!
The Hertz rental car shop is right next door,very convienent!!
We highly recommend The Donatello and would go back in a second!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,198 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $217 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing