We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Donatello Stay”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2017

My wife and two sons stayed in the Donatello for the third time in 10 years. The staff is still friendly and rooms are clean and modern. The hotel is located only a block west of Union Square and my wife enjoyed shopping there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. Streets below can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusserchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

1. Goods: location is excellent and with 2 bus stops and a cable car stop nearby, it is very easy to see the rest of the city with The Donatello as a launching pad. Valet parking is at market rate instead of being gouged ($35 per day I believe), the rooms are fairly clean, and the staff is generally helpful - especially Arthur at the bell desk. The housecleaning ladies on the 11th floor are super friendly - kudos to them. There are apples at the front desk every day for the taking.

2. Bads: Not all the rooms are updated - we used a timeshare here and our room was a bit old. There wasn't enough outlets and the single multi-plug outlet strip they had was unreliable (we were using American style plugs, not foreign ones) as it would literally turn off if it was moved in the slightest position. There are 2 different remotes for the TV / cable system. The air conditioning was hit or miss. We were generally quite hot in our room despite the hallways being cool. We requested a fan, and the first night we were given a heater; so as you can imagine, that went unused. The next day, the staff realized their error and gave us an actual fan, though one that would be appropriate for a desk... but with barely any outlets in the wall, it was on the other side of the room, so we remained hot. Valet service is understaffed. Occasionally, there was only 1 man working and they were a bit slow, so you'd have to wait around a considerable amount of time just to ask to get your car. Our first night's valet was atrocious. He put a bunch of damage marks on the vehicle intake that I immediately disputed, which he then claimed weren't ink marks, but were pre-made on the sheet. His lack of integrity really threw me off and when I questioned him to show me a new, clean sheet, he went back and whited out his ink marks and gave me back the same intake sheet. Wifi is slow and you are limited to a certain number of devices (4, maybe?), and didn't work on apple devices for the first 2 days of our stay. An "update" was performed and it eventually started working on them. It never worked for our android devices. There are no recycling bins in the rooms themselves, so if you desire to recycle, you have to bring it to one of 2 designated spots on either the 9th or 7th floors, which is also the only places to get ice as well.

3. Others: Hot tub was very small. 3 people is comfortable, 4 is do-able, 5 would be cramped. Hot tub water isn't very hot, and is set to dump hot water in below a certain threshold, so suddenly, the jets turn scalding hot for a few minutes, then the tub cools down for a significant period of time. Work out room is similarly small. Saunas are not defaulted on, so you have to turn them on yourself and it takes a solid 40 minutes before they would get warm enough to even break a sweat. Had a 10 minute conversation 2 days after checkout about a mini-bar dispute that has supposedly been resolved.

In short: they are trying to compete with high-end luxury hotels, but aren't up to snuff with them.

Room Tip: Go up high for better sleep away from city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This is always my go-to when staying in SF! I recommend staying on the 5th floor; your room opens up to a large shared balcony with succulents everywhere. It's great to let your little one run around while you have your morning coffee (or champagne) at your personal outdoor table.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Tmariesears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

A lovely hotel for a reasonable rate. And, it is right downtown, convenient to walk, shop, and sightsee. Only one block from Union Square and there are good places to eat nearby. Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant, though very nice, is very pricey. However, other than that it is a great place to stay. The staff was very helpful and the area very safe and urban nice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank johnlC5690AY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

The good things about this hotel are;
- Large Rooms. We were a family of 4 and fit comfortably in the room. There was a fridge but no microwave although we requested one and they happily obliged. The room was an older style but clean. I believe there are renovated rooms so if staying here I would request one of those.
- No Outside Noise. We were on one of the higher levels and the outside noise could not be heard from our room
- Club Level. The club level on the terrace provided all day coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as an outside sitting area. Perfect after a full day of sightseeing.
- We were not approached at all about buying into their time shares as some of the others have mentioned in their reviews.

Negatives
- Location. The location was not that suited to us although that is subjective depending on your needs. It is really close to the Tenderloin district and a bit seedy especially in the evenings. There was nothing of particular interest in the immediate area. The walk to Market Street is about 10 minutes. We used Uber to go everywhere else.
- Wifi. The wifi was temperamental. Wish it had been more stable.
- No laundry on site.
- Really small fitness centre
Overall we got a good deal by booking way in advance and was much better priced than many other hotels of a similar standard.
The hotel is surrounded by some of the high end hotel chains. Next time would book in a location closer to Market Street or right in the heart of Fishermans Wharf. Would still recommend the Donatello though if you get a really good deal.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AussiegirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Our room at the Donatello was spacious and the amenities were modern. Good wifi and air-conditioning. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again. We had no complaints and recommend the hotel.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank fiamma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

When we come to San Francisco, we always stay at Donatello! Nice Itaslian decor, reasonably priced for what you get, and great location (one block from Union Square!) They also have a great bar and happy hour!

Room Tip: Corner rooms high have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cris9505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,340 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,088 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,200 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $204 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing