We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,765)
Filter reviews
2,765 results
Traveller rating
1,451
1,041
190
62
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,451
1,041
190
62
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor time share union square tv in the mirror great location mini kitchen club room street noise post street coffee maker sofa bed room was spacious cable car turn down service public transportation sitting area central location
Filter
Updating list...
1,567 - 1,572 of 2,765 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We were totally happy with everything at the hotel and the concierge was extremely helpful in helping us get started in seeing the beautiful city of San Francisco. This was our first visit and we were very limited on time. We only had three full days, bot we even managed to get up to NAPA valley. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhead692041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The staff at the Donatello made my stay in SF great. The beds were unusually comfortable,especially for a hotel. The staff treated me like I was important.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Great location!
Comfortable, hospitable, clean, convenient..
Even a glitch with a hair dryer was fixed immediarely.
We have been to San Francisco many times - it was never better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1957t-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was our first time to San Francisco and we went the week after Thanksgiving. We utilized a time share exchange and it was a bargain. The hotel is one block from Union Square and the Powell St cable car, five blocks to Westfield Shopping Center and the Market St streetcar line, nine blocks to Chinatown. And these are all small blocks, so it is within easy walking distance. We did not "fine dine", but we found plenty of good places to eat on a budget. If you are driving, prepare to pay $32 per day to park. This is just the way it is in San Francisco. If you plan on public transportation while visiting, buy a multi-day or weekly pass . Also, if driving, watch for pedestrians. If you see anyone crossing with the light, it is probably a tourist. The staff was friendly and we had no complaints about our stay. Enjoy your visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary20636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Our room was on 5th floor facing the street. We stayed two nights and probably got a total of about 2-3 hours good-but-interrupted sleep each night. Even though the location is GREAT, so close to Union Square, shopping, theaters, etc, the street noise and almost constant noise day and night (fire/sirens, noisy garbage collectors/trucks, horns, drunken/loud homeless people ALL through the entire night) does not make this a comfortable or restful place to stay. If you pretty much DIE when you sleep, then fine. If you are easily woken by ANY kind of noise, then it will be a battle. I took TWO sleeping pills the second night, and was still woken up by drunken, loud homeless people at 2:30 am. It didnt help that one of our windows had a poor fit, making it impossible to completely close (but we tried our best) I honestly cannot say that a quieter room exists here - but I would definitely ask for the highest possible floor and IN THE BACK of the hotel, NOT street side. And be prepared to stuff cotton in your ears if you are even a slightly-light sleeper like myself. Other than this (!?) clean hotel, nice room amenities, fairly spacious room for SF, great location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews