We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$259
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$494
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$291
US$279
Hotel Carlton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$296
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton San Francisco Financial District(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$259
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$354
US$333
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveller rating
1,268
420
79
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
420
79
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseunion squarecontinental breakfastother guestsevening cookiesfreshly baked cookieswarm cookiesboutique hotelsmall hotelhard boiled eggsyogurtbrick wallevening winepost streetceiling fansitting areaperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
1,193 - 1,198 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed there for two nights. Cozy, well-furnished rooms and well-equipped bathrooms. in a traditional hotel style that I like. Rooms have no view, except over the street. Omar and Ann at reception were helpful and cordial. The housekeeping staff was friendly and eager to please. No in-room fridge, but I understand they are available on request. A convenience store is right around the corner, and take-out is a short walk down Powell.

Our 5th-floor room was quiet. Because most rooms are off the street, I expect even the lower floors to be quiet. I've read about noise from other rooms, but we experienced none on our Sunday-Tuesday stay.

It may be customary for SF, but we did appreciate the umbrella in the closet during our rainy stay. While we were there our floor lobby was closed due to a water emergency, so had to visit other floors for ice. No biggie. The ice machines are ancient (the cubes tend to melt together) and need updating. All-in-all a pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For more quiet, get a room farther back: 04, 05, etc. A higher floor well get more sunlight.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas and New Year on the recommendation of some friends, and we couldn't have made a better choice. We arrived in San Francisco and spent two nights in the inn, then took off for a short trip along the coast, then came back and spent another few nights at the inn before heading off again, this time to Russian River. We ended our trip in San Francisco and again stayed at the Inn on Union Square. Each time we came to the inn (3 times in total) we had a different room, and each time the room was clean, relatively quiet (just the sound of air conditioning or generators from other buildings in some rooms) and comfortable. Most of the rooms are at the back of the hotel with a view over the backs of other buildings, but we didn't mind, because we realised that if we'd had a view over Union Square it would have been too noisy. We paid for a regular Queen Room, but were upgraded to a Junior Suite at no extra charge without even asking for it. The staff were always friendly and helpful and made us feel most welcome. Omar at reception was particularly helpful, and it was he we saw most, as he was on duty over Christmas and New Year. He even sent a bottle of sparkling wine to our room when we returned from one of our trips to welcome us back. Wayne, the innkeeper, was also very friendly and helpful, and between them he and Omar provided us with lots of good tips on which restaurants and bars to visit. Anne, also on reception, went out of her way to be helpful too. The breakfast was served in the dining area on each floor, and there was a lot to choose from - bagels, pastries, cereals, fruit, etc, and although there was no minibar or fridge in the room, we were able to use the fridge in the dining area and make ourselves coffee or tea at any time of night or day. There was even a bowl of fruit there and a jar of home made cookies you could help yourself to any time. The cheese and wine reception every evening was also great fun. If we felt like socialising we could stay and mingle with Wayne and other guests, if not we could take some cheese and wine to our room. We were even encouraged to invite our friends along too, which was very generous. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and come back next time we visit San Francisco. The Inn at Union Square is a little gem!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square. It was truly our pleasure to have you as our guests over the holidays and thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback of your experience. The Inn’s staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests to ensure the their visit is memorable for all the right reasons. We have passed on the mentions to Ann, Omar and Wayne who are delighted to be recognized for their contribution to making your stay a “5” Star experience. We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Inn at Union Square Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here the week between Christmas & New Years. Everything was perfect. The inn keeper and the front desk people couldn't have been more freindly and helpfully.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHARON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Excellent boutique hotel 1/2 block from Union Square. The Good: 1st - Wayne the innkeeper is excellent at making every guest feel welcome & cared for! Every night 5:30 - 7pm, Wayne hosts a wine & cheese reception; this time, a winery came & poured their wines; a masseuse from local spa was on hand at the tasting for comp. 5 min. massages for guests -amazing!; every a.m. continental bfst in lounge area at end of each floor; top notch coffee/tea (complimentary) - better than any other hotel; Hop-on/off tour bus has a stop right at front door; 4 stops to the wharf. The Not As Good: 1) common in SF, must valet park; but unlimited in/out; get the parking package up front; 2) a bit older/more historic hotel so carpet in room a tiny bit warn/rooms smaller (i'm extremely picky); however spent most time out touring; std rooms don't have views.

Room Tip: front suites have Post Street view; only 30 rooms so book early;
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sssssfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I went solo to Union Square for the Christmas Holiday. I reviewed alot of hotels on trip advisor to find one that would suit me since I was by myself. This little boutique hotel offered the amenities I was looking for. I reserved a queen room (although I knew that the room is very small), but the price fit what I wanted to spend. When I arrived at the hotel, I was offered an upgrade to junior queen suite that also had a little sitting area. The room was nice appointed, although it was a little worn, but clean. View from room was not good (walls of other buildings and heating/air ventilation system or something in the middle of the buildings). Not a problem though...I was there for the Union Square Holiday lights! Wine reception offered at 5:30 was very pleasant with cheeses, fruits and crackers right at the end of my hallway in a sitting area. Breakfast was also served there with coffee, juices, scones, muffins, hard boiled eggs, fruits, yogurt and other little danishes. Very nice! They also had trays there so you can bring it all back to your room to enjoy. I felt very comfortable there and people were friendly also. If you are looking for something grand, this is not....it's a small, cozy hotel with a few nice perks to also include bottled water, newspaper and chocolates with turndown service!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelerlpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews