We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$338
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$287
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$291
US$279
Hotel Carlton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$281
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Francisco Financial District(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$336
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$354
US$333
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveller rating
1,268
420
79
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
420
79
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseunion squarecontinental breakfastother guestsevening cookiesfreshly baked cookieswarm cookiesboutique hotelsmall hotelhard boiled eggsyogurtbrick wallevening winepost streetceiling fansitting areaperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
1,144 - 1,149 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a great find this hotel is! Perfect location one block off union square. Easy access to great public transportation (don't rent a car), great food and shopping. Staff is well informed, unfailingly polite and very attentive, special thanks to Ann and Omar. We were upgraded free of charge to a great room with small sitting room at the end of the hall (207). Very private and quiet. Rooms are clean and comfy. Beds are great! We were concerned about no a/c but didn't need it in May. We appreciated the wine and cheese and enjoyed chatting with other guests and the innkeeper, Wayne. Thanks to all for a great stay in San Francisco!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I sit at the desk in my room at the Inn on the last morning of my visit. It has been a great place. It has an old world charm that can't be beat and the friendly a knowledgeable staff are top notch. The hotel is obviously old, but it is well kept up. The place is in no way dingy.The place has a very European feel to it. For location you can't beat it, right near Union Square.So much is just a short walk and if you are going farther afield, you can catch the Cable Car on Powell not even a half block away or walk, (or take the Cable car) to the Powell Street turnaround and catch the Muni or Bart lines. Yes, some rooms are on the small side, like mine, and yes, my window view was a brick wall, but I was never kept awake by traffic or the sounds of the city and spent most of my time out and about so no real issue for me. No AC in the room, just heat, but there is a ceiling fan and on high, with the typical Bay Area Weather this was sufficient. Two minor things that were lacking. No coffee maker in the room, but coffee and tea are in the sitting area at the end of the hall towards the front of the building. The other minor issue is the ice machine, well, it is really just a small freezer on the 4th floor with an ice maker in it with a big container to catch the ice. Worked fine, but often the ice available was low due to the amount of time it took for the ice to build up in the catcher. I did not partake of the wine and cheese offerings in the evening, but I saw the spread and it is quite nice. All in all a great experience with only a couple of minor issues, but well woth the stay. Highly recommend the Inn At Union Square.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo, a standard room is fine, if a couple, then you might want to opt for the larger suite. If you want a view, be sure to ask the staff when you book if a room with a view can be reserved.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wehcfkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in april 2012. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. The room was great, with flatscreen tv cable and wifi, a large comfortable bed, and a clean well equipped bathroom. There was the added bonus of complimentary cheese wine cookies and coffee every day, and a fresh continental breakfast. This hotel deserves its high trip advisor ranking and is well worth the price.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonnpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel which is loaded with charm and character and is in a great location. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a seperate sitting area; they even provided a complimentary bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in recommending restaurants, attractions and transport advice. Ann on reception is an absolute gem. The manager was also charming, and hosted free drinks and nibbles every evening which is a great opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange ideas. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoscoBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What good is a review unless it gets down to specifics? With this in mind I hope readers find the following information useful.
1) This is a very small, homey hotel (~30 rooms) a half-block from Union square on Post St. A terrific location, and across the street from the Westin St. Francis - the other end of the hotel spectrum (ie very large, very pricey). Location is 5 Stars. Easy walk up the hill from the Bart with immediate access to public transportation.
2) Great staff - very responsive - very personal. 5 star attention
3) Rooms - here's where it gets dicey. It's a 6 story hotel with guest rooms on floors 2-6. XX1 rooms (ie 201, 301, etc) are adjacent to the stairs and next to each floor's small common area. Breakfast and the wine/cheese/fruit evening bonus are served in the common areas on the 3rd and 5th floors, with ice available on the 2nd and 4th floors. That said, I stayed in room 502. Had we not been early risers, the noise from the breakfast area probably would have been problematic. I can't imagine what it would be like in room 301 or 501. In addition, (assuming all XX2 rooms have the same layout as ours), room 502 is tiny. I mean really really small. The bathroom is closet sized and the shower enclosure would be literally too small for anyone larger than ~180 lbs to bathe in comfortably. My daughter stayed in 503 which was almost twice the size of 502, had a full sized bathroom w bathtub, yet cost 10$ less than ours. I would strongly recommend avoiding 301, 302, 501, and 502 when booking at the Inn. Honestly, they shouldn't charge the same amount for the XX2 rooms as they do for the full sized rooms down the hall. My daughter's room was 4 stars, and ours was 3.
4) Views - none. Nonexistent. Didn't bother us however if you want a view, stay elsewhere. 0 stars.
5) Breakfast - typical juice/sweet roll/fruit/cereal/bagel/hard boiled eggs continental fare. Nice to have. You're around the corner from Sears fine foods if you want a big pricey excellent breakfast. For us, what the Inn offered was more than sufficient - and since it's included in the room rate, a nice perk. 5 stars.
6) Wine/cheese in the evening. Again, very nice - social - and included in the room rate. We enjoyed it each nighht. 5 stars.
7) Finally - the rooms don't have air conditioning. This is generally not needed in San Fran - but on the other hand I don't know how comfortable the rooms would be during a heat wave. There are ceiling fans with multiple speed adjustments available.

Would we stay here again. Yes. Would I make sure to avoid the XX1 and XX2 rooms on the 3rd and 5th floors - absolutely!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SanDiegoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews