We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 June 2012

a great hotel in a very central location.The breakfast is all you need to start your day off and the evening drink and nibbles is a real treat.
The staff were friendly and helpful and always available if needed.
The room was comfortable and where we were nice and quiet

Room Tip: the rooms 04 to 06 are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

What a great find this hotel is! Perfect location one block off union square. Easy access to great public transportation (don't rent a car), great food and shopping. Staff is well informed, unfailingly polite and very attentive, special thanks to Ann and Omar. We were upgraded free of charge to a great room with small sitting room at the end of the hall (207). Very private and quiet. Rooms are clean and comfy. Beds are great! We were concerned about no a/c but didn't need it in May. We appreciated the wine and cheese and enjoyed chatting with other guests and the innkeeper, Wayne. Thanks to all for a great stay in San Francisco!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I sit at the desk in my room at the Inn on the last morning of my visit. It has been a great place. It has an old world charm that can't be beat and the friendly a knowledgeable staff are top notch. The hotel is obviously old, but it is well kept up. The place is in no way dingy.The place has a very European feel to it. For location you can't beat it, right near Union Square.So much is just a short walk and if you are going farther afield, you can catch the Cable Car on Powell not even a half block away or walk, (or take the Cable car) to the Powell Street turnaround and catch the Muni or Bart lines. Yes, some rooms are on the small side, like mine, and yes, my window view was a brick wall, but I was never kept awake by traffic or the sounds of the city and spent most of my time out and about so no real issue for me. No AC in the room, just heat, but there is a ceiling fan and on high, with the typical Bay Area Weather this was sufficient. Two minor things that were lacking. No coffee maker in the room, but coffee and tea are in the sitting area at the end of the hall towards the front of the building. The other minor issue is the ice machine, well, it is really just a small freezer on the 4th floor with an ice maker in it with a big container to catch the ice. Worked fine, but often the ice available was low due to the amount of time it took for the ice to build up in the catcher. I did not partake of the wine and cheese offerings in the evening, but I saw the spread and it is quite nice. All in all a great experience with only a couple of minor issues, but well woth the stay. Highly recommend the Inn At Union Square.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo, a standard room is fine, if a couple, then you might want to opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wehcfkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in april 2012. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. The room was great, with flatscreen tv cable and wifi, a large comfortable bed, and a clean well equipped bathroom. There was the added bonus of complimentary cheese wine cookies and coffee every day, and a fresh continental breakfast. This hotel deserves its high trip advisor ranking and is well worth the price.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonnpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel which is loaded with charm and character and is in a great location. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a seperate sitting area; they even provided a complimentary bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in recommending restaurants, attractions and transport advice. Ann on reception is an absolute gem. The manager was also charming, and hosted free drinks and nibbles every evening which is a great opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange ideas. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoscoBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

What good is a review unless it gets down to specifics? With this in mind I hope readers find the following information useful.
1) This is a very small, homey hotel (~30 rooms) a half-block from Union square on Post St. A terrific location, and across the street from the Westin St. Francis - the other end of the hotel spectrum (ie very large, very pricey). Location is 5 Stars. Easy walk up the hill from the Bart with immediate access to public transportation.
2) Great staff - very responsive - very personal. 5 star attention
3) Rooms - here's where it gets dicey. It's a 6 story hotel with guest rooms on floors 2-6. XX1 rooms (ie 201, 301, etc) are adjacent to the stairs and next to each floor's small common area. Breakfast and the wine/cheese/fruit evening bonus are served in the common areas on the 3rd and 5th floors, with ice available on the 2nd and 4th floors. That said, I stayed in room 502. Had we not been early risers, the noise from the breakfast area probably would have been problematic. I can't imagine what it would be like in room 301 or 501. In addition, (assuming all XX2 rooms have the same layout as ours), room 502 is tiny. I mean really really small. The bathroom is closet sized and the shower enclosure would be literally too small for anyone larger than ~180 lbs to bathe in comfortably. My daughter stayed in 503 which was almost twice the size of 502, had a full sized bathroom w bathtub, yet cost 10$ less than ours. I would strongly recommend avoiding 301, 302, 501, and 502 when booking at the Inn. Honestly, they shouldn't charge the same amount for the XX2 rooms as they do for the full sized rooms down the hall. My daughter's room was 4 stars, and ours was 3.
4) Views - none. Nonexistent. Didn't bother us however if you want a view, stay elsewhere. 0 stars.
5) Breakfast - typical juice/sweet roll/fruit/cereal/bagel/hard boiled eggs continental fare. Nice to have. You're around the corner from Sears fine foods if you want a big pricey excellent breakfast. For us, what the Inn offered was more than sufficient - and since it's included in the room rate, a nice perk. 5 stars.
6) Wine/cheese in the evening. Again, very nice - social - and included in the room rate. We enjoyed it each nighht. 5 stars.
7) Finally - the rooms don't have air conditioning. This is generally not needed in San Fran - but on the other hand I don't know how comfortable the rooms would be during a heat wave. There are ceiling fans with multiple speed adjustments available.

Would we stay here again. Yes. Would I make sure to avoid the XX1 and XX2 rooms on the 3rd and 5th floors - absolutely!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SanDiegoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We typically stay at Westin St Frances, but decided to try this right across the street on Post. Great romantic spot. Nice breakfast every morning, staff friendly. We were upgraded to a suite which was a plus bc so many rooms in SFO small! I agree with the one elevator issue like others have mentioned, but we were never in a hurry so no biggie.

Do not get this confused with Hotel Union Square BTW. That place is awful!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank denverbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,534 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
669 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,519 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,381 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $287 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing