We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Upon entering the lobby (which is quite small) we were greeted by a very friendly woman who was helpful throughout the stay. She had several suggestions on parking (which is always a nightmare in SF - especially in Union Square). The hotel itself is pretty cramped which gives it a boutique/B&B feel. The room itself is a bit small but on par w/ rooms I've stayed while in SF. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. No views from our room, but for the location and cleanliness of the hotel for $190 that's a pretty good deal.

Only real complaint was the noise of the staff setting up for breakfast around 6am. I'm assuming that was just our room - directly next to the elevator - and not the same for every guest. I won't know unless I go back and stay in a different room.

The free wine and cheese was an unexpected bonus and the inn keeper Wayne was a fountain of knowledge about the city. He gave us several suggestions about dinner and lunch the following day. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the elevator. It's noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El-Dave-erino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate the 20th anniversary of our love in one of our most favorite cities in the USA. We looked for a boutique style hotel in the heart of the town, ideally located to explore the city by walking or close to public transportation. Although normally more thrilled about a contemporary interior design style, we've opted this time for an updated traditional approach.
With the Inn at Union Square we've found all this criteria matched and enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay, surrounded by the year's end holiday buzz in an oasis of calm and peace. Pleasantly situated in a junior suite, we've enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with almond croissants, Yoghurt, fruit, bagels and juice and/or Peets Coffee or Tea, offered in buffet style on the fifth and third floor. We met other hotel guests enjoying another complimentary feature, picking on some hors d'oeuvres and sipping a little red or white wine from regional wineries, offered daily between 5 and 7PM. Our room was clean and checked twice a day, kept in a classic red and gold ocher color scheme it created a certain coziness. The room was quiet, just the view a bit boring featuring other buildings backsides and air conditions.
The staff was attentive and helpful and friendly. As the location is right of Union Square, we could easily walk to the Museum of Modern Art (15 Min.) and the opposite located park with a great Tea House called Samovar, offering an incredibly wonderful selection of exotic teas and tasty snacks. China Town or Little Italy are 10 respectively 25 Min or to the Ferry Building with its great Blue Bottle Coffee Place at the bay about 20 Min away. Fashionistas have their blast as almost any of the renown brands or department stores are right in the vicinity.
We've also enjoyed a French Bistro with Live Jazz just a short stroll away and a good Guinness Beer in an Irish Pub around the corner. Yes and not to forget the ideal location for a second breakfast or lunch, "La Boulangerie" offering a French orientated menu. By now you should realize, we've truly had a good time and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the Junior Suites on the 4 or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. We are very glad we were a part of your 20th Anniversary and that you had such a great visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central yet peaceful location, our attentive friendly staff, evening wine hour and complimentary breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn this past November. It was lovely, quite charming and cozy. We enjoyed the classic ambiance and decor which was wonderfully reminiscent of historic San Francisco. The staff was warm and welcoming, and the service was great. We particularly enjoyed the common area on our floor where hotel guests could comfortably gather to enjoy the good company of interesting travellers while having a delicious continental breakfast or late afternoon snack. The Inn is located in a fun and vibrant neighborhood, and is walking distance from great shops, restaurants and public parks...which was really convenient for us! Next time we travel to San Francisco, we will really look forward to returning to the Inn at Union Square!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

You can't miss this hotel as it is coloured green on the outside which makes it stand out. The hotel has a gold - red theme to it including the rooms.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by a lovely receptionist. She was very cheerful and polite made me feel very at home. The reception area is wee bit small and the corridor were a bit tight. The lift is also small but then again you don't really go in and out of hotel a lot so negligible.

I feel that the price for that room was a bit too expensive at $270 per night. But I suppose anything at Union Square is expensive. The room was a bit more spacious than some of those I stayed near Union Square. The room and toilet fittings are by normal standard. The beds are big and comfortable though.

There is also free complimentary wi-fi for the room and there is a turn down service in the evening where they provide chocolate for when you come back tired from a whole day of walking. There is no coffee or tea making facilities in the room but they are outside at the sitting area with free fruits all day.

The breakfast provided is normal like any other hotels, cereals, juices etc. But one thing I realised about this hotel that I have never experienced is that it has a complimentary wine and cheese every evening. You are free to mingle with other hotel guests or just get a glass of wine for your own room. It is on every alternate floor I think.

I think the real good thing about this hotel is the Location as it is just at Union Square. Although it is right bang in the city centre it is surprisingly quite quiet in the rooms so you will get a real good night sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badlydrawnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Do you solemnly swear to tell the truth he whole truth etc.? Of course. Did you stay at the Inn at Union square? Yes. Did you or did you not get a great deal? I did, online non refundable for about 167.00 for a junior king suite. May I remind you that you are under oath!!?? Everything I say is true. Was there a car involved? Yes, parking a short walk around the corner on Mason, overnight for 34.00 valet was offered at the hotel for 36.00. What if you got thirsty? I bet you were out of luck. No sir, complementary wine, cheese, and crackers are put out on 2 floors at 5.00pm this was exceptional. Certainly you must have some complaint? NO, everything was perfect and the hosts were beyond polite. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel the morning of checkout to explore and upon returning were offered something to drink and to use a restroom I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Union Square area.
Thank you, you may step down.

Room Tip: the junior king suite was in the back so not much view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Witness,

Thank you for your accurate and detailed account of your stay at the Inn at Union Square. Your honesty is to be commended and is an example for all citizens to admire and follow. We appreciate your testimonial. You may return at anytime for more excellent service and wine and cheese.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Thank you for a fantastic stay at The Inn. We couldn't have found a better place to stay to explore San Francisco. We enjoyed every minute at The Inn; the picturesque and romantic design together with a very friendly and service minded staff. It really added to our over all experience of San Francisco.
We couldn't think of a better place to stay at, just off Union Square.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas_Persson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Not only is the location great, the price is very reasonable. The staff is terrific. Ann couldn't be nicer and Wayne keeps the wine and conversation flowing. He also has wonderful restaurant recommendations. We will definitely stay there the next time we ate in San Francisco!

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Scweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,538 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,519 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,384 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $299 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing