We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,878)
Filter reviews
1,878 results
Traveller rating
1,334
430
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,334
430
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese union square continental breakfast evening cookies other guests freshly baked cookies warm cookies boutique hotel small hotel hard boiled eggs brick wall yogurt evening wine post street ceiling fan sitting room perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
1,098 - 1,103 of 1,878 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate the 20th anniversary of our love in one of our most favorite cities in the USA. We looked for a boutique style hotel in the heart of the town, ideally located to explore the city by walking or close to public transportation. Although normally more thrilled about a contemporary interior design style, we've opted this time for an updated traditional approach.
With the Inn at Union Square we've found all this criteria matched and enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay, surrounded by the year's end holiday buzz in an oasis of calm and peace. Pleasantly situated in a junior suite, we've enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with almond croissants, Yoghurt, fruit, bagels and juice and/or Peets Coffee or Tea, offered in buffet style on the fifth and third floor. We met other hotel guests enjoying another complimentary feature, picking on some hors d'oeuvres and sipping a little red or white wine from regional wineries, offered daily between 5 and 7PM. Our room was clean and checked twice a day, kept in a classic red and gold ocher color scheme it created a certain coziness. The room was quiet, just the view a bit boring featuring other buildings backsides and air conditions.
The staff was attentive and helpful and friendly. As the location is right of Union Square, we could easily walk to the Museum of Modern Art (15 Min.) and the opposite located park with a great Tea House called Samovar, offering an incredibly wonderful selection of exotic teas and tasty snacks. China Town or Little Italy are 10 respectively 25 Min or to the Ferry Building with its great Blue Bottle Coffee Place at the bay about 20 Min away. Fashionistas have their blast as almost any of the renown brands or department stores are right in the vicinity.
We've also enjoyed a French Bistro with Live Jazz just a short stroll away and a good Guinness Beer in an Irish Pub around the corner. Yes and not to forget the ideal location for a second breakfast or lunch, "La Boulangerie" offering a French orientated menu. By now you should realize, we've truly had a good time and enjoyed every minute.

Room tip: Try to get one of the Junior Suites on the 4 or 5th floor.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your feedback. We are very glad we were a part of your 20th Anniversary and that you had such a great visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central yet peaceful location, our attentive friendly staff, evening wine hour and complimentary breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn this past November. It was lovely, quite charming and cozy. We enjoyed the classic ambiance and decor which was wonderfully reminiscent of historic San Francisco. The staff was warm and welcoming, and the service was great. We particularly enjoyed the common area on our floor where hotel guests could comfortably gather to enjoy the good company of interesting travellers while having a delicious continental breakfast or late afternoon snack. The Inn is located in a fun and vibrant neighborhood, and is walking distance from great shops, restaurants and public parks...which was really convenient for us! Next time we travel to San Francisco, we will really look forward to returning to the Inn at Union Square!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't miss this hotel as it is coloured green on the outside which makes it stand out. The hotel has a gold - red theme to it including the rooms.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by a lovely receptionist. She was very cheerful and polite made me feel very at home. The reception area is wee bit small and the corridor were a bit tight. The lift is also small but then again you don't really go in and out of hotel a lot so negligible.

I feel that the price for that room was a bit too expensive at $270 per night. But I suppose anything at Union Square is expensive. The room was a bit more spacious than some of those I stayed near Union Square. The room and toilet fittings are by normal standard. The beds are big and comfortable though.

There is also free complimentary wi-fi for the room and there is a turn down service in the evening where they provide chocolate for when you come back tired from a whole day of walking. There is no coffee or tea making facilities in the room but they are outside at the sitting area with free fruits all day.

The breakfast provided is normal like any other hotels, cereals, juices etc. But one thing I realised about this hotel that I have never experienced is that it has a complimentary wine and cheese every evening. You are free to mingle with other hotel guests or just get a glass of wine for your own room. It is on every alternate floor I think.

I think the real good thing about this hotel is the Location as it is just at Union Square. Although it is right bang in the city centre it is surprisingly quite quiet in the rooms so you will get a real good night sleep.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badlydrawnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Do you solemnly swear to tell the truth he whole truth etc.? Of course. Did you stay at the Inn at Union square? Yes. Did you or did you not get a great deal? I did, online non refundable for about 167.00 for a junior king suite. May I remind you that you are under oath!!?? Everything I say is true. Was there a car involved? Yes, parking a short walk around the corner on Mason, overnight for 34.00 valet was offered at the hotel for 36.00. What if you got thirsty? I bet you were out of luck. No sir, complementary wine, cheese, and crackers are put out on 2 floors at 5.00pm this was exceptional. Certainly you must have some complaint? NO, everything was perfect and the hosts were beyond polite. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel the morning of checkout to explore and upon returning were offered something to drink and to use a restroom I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Union Square area.
Thank you, you may step down.

Room tip: the junior king suite was in the back so not much view but quiet.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Witness,

Thank you for your accurate and detailed account of your stay at the Inn at Union Square. Your honesty is to be commended and is an example for all citizens to admire and follow. We appreciate your testimonial. You may return at anytime for more excellent service and wine and cheese.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic stay at The Inn. We couldn't have found a better place to stay to explore San Francisco. We enjoyed every minute at The Inn; the picturesque and romantic design together with a very friendly and service minded staff. It really added to our over all experience of San Francisco.
We couldn't think of a better place to stay at, just off Union Square.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas_Persson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews