We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you want a massive entrance, hundreds of staff and pretentious service DO NOT come here.

However, if you want to be treated like family, have beautiful surroundings, thoughtful little extras that make your stay perfect and A* service then this is the place for you.

We visited for 10 days for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better place. As all the other reviews suggest the breakfast, cheese and wine evenings, cookies, fruit to help yourself to, chocolates and water are lovely. They are just what you need before and after a heavy day of sightseeing! It is also lovely to be able to choose what you want and then enjoy them in your room.

All the staff are kind, polite and helpful. Whatever you ask them they will help you with! I have never had better service than this!

The room we stayed in was a junior suite and well worth the extra cost. There was a lovely seating area which we enjoyed sitting in, it was just like relaxing at home! The bed was super comfy, the room had a fan for when it got too warm, the windows were easily opened, the wifi quick and easy to use, each evening we were given a weather report for the next day and every morning we got a paper! What more could we ask for?! Well, since you ask..... Champagne! We arrived in our room to find a bottle of champagne and a letter on arrival! A lovely treat! We even got another bottle half way through our stay!

We can't wait to come back! Well done everyone at the Inn!

Room Tip: The suite rooms are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beetle-Babe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Congratulations and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your honeymoon. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the extras we provide such as breakfast, wine and cheese hour and complimentary WiFi. We are happy to hear you found your accommodations to be spacious and comfortable! Our staff prides themselves on providing exceptional service and appreciate the acknowledgements you provided. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hopefully for your anniversary!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

This quaint inn is set in the heart of San Francisco right near Union Square and convenient to so many attractions. The staff was so attentive and helpful, especially Ann at the front desk and Wayne, the Hotel Manager. This added a very personal touch! We felt welcomed from the minute we walked in until we left. The wine and cheese reception each evening was lovely and also gave us a chance to chat with other guests from all over the world. Breakfast each morning was wonderful with some good choices. The fresh baked cookies at the end of the day along with the water bottles and chocolates in your room completed the amazing experience. We will recommend this inn to all our friends! It is a treasure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dhsmile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked on basis of other reviews. When we arrived first thought it was so small we had made a mistake but narrow entrance masks a surprisingly good hotel. We had booked a deluxe room. Room was lovely, plenty of space, flat screen tv and free water and good toiletries. Bed was so comfortable - a king , and we slept well. Window looks onto a wall about a metre away but as walls go , it was a fairly clean outlook and make the room very quiet, virtually no street noise. At the end of each corridor are facilities for making tea, coffee is provided on two floors. Also at end of our corridor (third) breakfast items are available each morning. You can organise a tray of pastries and coffee and take it back to your room. Each day at 5.30 pm wine and cheese is available on 3rd and 5th floors - a welcome treat after a long day walking and a good way to talk to other guests. Around 8.45 in the evening home baked cookies are available. Staff are very helpful and it was nice to meet Wayne, the inn keeper, who is very courteous and keen to ensure guests are catered for. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble at this hotel and service is personal and high level. Made a nice change and really enhanced our trip to San Francisco.

Room Tip: 305 is a good size and a nice quiet room. Breakfast is served on this floor and wine in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed only 1 nite (wish it were more) at this quaint hotel in SF. Really enjoyed the amenities, especially the wonderful Wine & Cheese cocktail hour. Met very interesting people and enjoyed speaking with the Hotel Manger from River Vale, NJ!! Anna @ the front desk was very helpful as was Omar with my computer problem. Conveniently located. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karen-ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square for 5 nights. This is a small boutique hotel, so if you are looking for a big hotel lobby with lots of staff and facilities this is not the place for you.
We LOVED it!
The location was perfect - 10 steps to Union Square and able to get anywhere from there.
The staff were divine - so genuinely friendly and helpful. This includes the reception and housekeeping staff - all were just lovely.
We loved the special touches like the wine and cheese nibbles at 5.30pm each day, and the freshly baked cookies in the evenings.
We felt that all the staff knew us and were looking after us, and that they genuinely cared that their guests had a great time.
The room was very comfortable - if you can, it's worth it to upgrade to the junior suite for the extra space.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite if staying more than 2 nights - the extra space is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We truly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this very euro SF hotel. Great location near lots of shopping and great restaurants. All of the staff was very helpful and we very much enjoyed the happy hour of wine, cheese and sliced meats. I will certainly return and would highly recommend the inn. You do give up on few items. There are no views to speak of from the rooms but you can look out on the surrounding area in the nice sitting rooms at the end of each floor. The breakfast is light but certainly enough to get you going. Almost forgot to mention the very good cookies that are served each evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room and you won't have to deal with the slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukoncornelius2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The perfect place to stay in SF. Centrally located to Muni,BART,cable cars. We stayed 5 nights in queen junior suite. We walked out door,walked a few feet & were transported via cable car to North Beach,Fishermans Wharf.or Chinatown. However I don't recommend cable car for fast& efficient travel, but one has to take at least one trip.Use buses&trolleys you can ride allday& night for$2pp.
The staff are exceptional, they make recommendations for dining,give directions, they make each & everyone feel like family.At breakfast& wine&cheese social we met & socialized with other couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icequeen813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,537 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,519 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,383 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $299 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing