We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveller rating
1,316
428
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,316
428
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese union square continental breakfast other guests evening cookies warm cookies freshly baked cookies small hotel boutique hotel hard boiled eggs brick wall yogurt evening wine post street sitting area ceiling fan perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This quaint inn is set in the heart of San Francisco right near Union Square and convenient to so many attractions. The staff was so attentive and helpful, especially Ann at the front desk and Wayne, the Hotel Manager. This added a very personal touch! We felt welcomed from the minute we walked in until we left. The wine and cheese reception each evening was lovely and also gave us a chance to chat with other guests from all over the world. Breakfast each morning was wonderful with some good choices. The fresh baked cookies at the end of the day along with the water bottles and chocolates in your room completed the amazing experience. We will recommend this inn to all our friends! It is a treasure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dhsmile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked on basis of other reviews. When we arrived first thought it was so small we had made a mistake but narrow entrance masks a surprisingly good hotel. We had booked a deluxe room. Room was lovely, plenty of space, flat screen tv and free water and good toiletries. Bed was so comfortable - a king , and we slept well. Window looks onto a wall about a metre away but as walls go , it was a fairly clean outlook and make the room very quiet, virtually no street noise. At the end of each corridor are facilities for making tea, coffee is provided on two floors. Also at end of our corridor (third) breakfast items are available each morning. You can organise a tray of pastries and coffee and take it back to your room. Each day at 5.30 pm wine and cheese is available on 3rd and 5th floors - a welcome treat after a long day walking and a good way to talk to other guests. Around 8.45 in the evening home baked cookies are available. Staff are very helpful and it was nice to meet Wayne, the inn keeper, who is very courteous and keen to ensure guests are catered for. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble at this hotel and service is personal and high level. Made a nice change and really enhanced our trip to San Francisco.

Room Tip: 305 is a good size and a nice quiet room. Breakfast is served on this floor and wine in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed only 1 nite (wish it were more) at this quaint hotel in SF. Really enjoyed the amenities, especially the wonderful Wine & Cheese cocktail hour. Met very interesting people and enjoyed speaking with the Hotel Manger from River Vale, NJ!! Anna @ the front desk was very helpful as was Omar with my computer problem. Conveniently located. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karen-ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square for 5 nights. This is a small boutique hotel, so if you are looking for a big hotel lobby with lots of staff and facilities this is not the place for you.
We LOVED it!
The location was perfect - 10 steps to Union Square and able to get anywhere from there.
The staff were divine - so genuinely friendly and helpful. This includes the reception and housekeeping staff - all were just lovely.
We loved the special touches like the wine and cheese nibbles at 5.30pm each day, and the freshly baked cookies in the evenings.
We felt that all the staff knew us and were looking after us, and that they genuinely cared that their guests had a great time.
The room was very comfortable - if you can, it's worth it to upgrade to the junior suite for the extra space.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite if staying more than 2 nights - the extra space is great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this very euro SF hotel. Great location near lots of shopping and great restaurants. All of the staff was very helpful and we very much enjoyed the happy hour of wine, cheese and sliced meats. I will certainly return and would highly recommend the inn. You do give up on few items. There are no views to speak of from the rooms but you can look out on the surrounding area in the nice sitting rooms at the end of each floor. The breakfast is light but certainly enough to get you going. Almost forgot to mention the very good cookies that are served each evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room and you won't have to deal with the slow elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukoncornelius2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews